We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in tranquil location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe El Manglar

Cafe El Manglar
2-3 Blocks North of Town Center, Brasilito, Costa Rica
2654-6070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Brasilito
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in tranquil location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a fabulous meal in this wonderful, out of the way, restaurant. The setting is beautiful and the decor very natural. It was clean and the service was wonderful. Jorge, the owner, made our evening very special and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend this place for good food and service

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service in this hidden spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were staying in Matapalo and decided to head out for dinner. I checked tripadvisor and, based on reviews, we decided to try Cafe El Manglar. We were so glad we did! When we arrived, all the tables looked full. We found one table, but it had no chairs. There was a table full of what looked to be local teens and young men nearby who promptly got up and brought us their chairs and then went and got more chairs that were stacked in the corner. That was the treatment we received everywhere-people are incredibly friendly and generous. We started with drinks, which were loaded with fresh fruit and simply delicious. In our party we had a shrimp dish, a fish dish, and an order of nachos. All were good. I had the fish, which had been caught that morning and was absolutely fabulous! Service was great! Our server and the other staff were all very friendly and prompt. We will definitely return in our next trip to Costa Rica. Drive past the big flashy restaurants in town and find this gem. I highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, great service and atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Mediocre food, very friendly service and great atmosphere (by the beach with palm trees but not overrun by tourists)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORDOVA
1 review
“ANA MARIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This restaurant has the best, friendliest and welcoming envirnoment for all their guests. The cook (Victor) and helper (Carlitos) and owner (Jorge) have great food, coffee and natural fruit drinks at very reasonable prices. The restaurant is not far from Don Brasilito's restaurant and is just across from the beach, where you can enjoy the sea air and watch the sunset. While I was there the owners treated me like part of their family and I enjoyed my time at the Cafe Manglar. This was the only place where you could use their Internet services at no charge, if you did not bring any computers or ipads. You should all make the time to visit the Cafe Manglar if you do visit Brasilito, you will not regret it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The food and friendliness made our day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thanks to fellow reviewer Pattie, we made our way to this cafe in the little fishing town of Brasilito and we were glad we did. In an easy-going country of generally helpful people, Jorge managed to out-friendly everybody else, he was so funny, kind, and helpful! We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere and will definitely return if we ever get the chance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe El Manglar also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe El Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe El Manglar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.