We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and friendliness made our day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe El Manglar - CLOSED

Cafe El Manglar
2-3 Blocks North of Town Center, Brasilito, Costa Rica
2654-6070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Huntley, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The food and friendliness made our day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thanks to fellow reviewer Pattie, we made our way to this cafe in the little fishing town of Brasilito and we were glad we did. In an easy-going country of generally helpful people, Jorge managed to out-friendly everybody else, he was so funny, kind, and helpful! We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere and will definitely return if we ever get the chance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Airy and Super Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We enjoy every meal we have had here. It's simple fare and tasty! They have computers, books and a parakeet for entertainment but you really do not need them as Jorge is entertainment himself!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We took the road less traveled, and found the best place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Sometimes you need to get off the main road (not that there are a lot of them in this area of Costa Rica)... The place was down a dirt road along the beach. We saw a couple signs, but drove past it twice before we realized we were right in front of it. We walked into a charming and cozy dining area, and were greeted warmly by our waiter. We were mesmerized by the parrot, Nemesis, and the wonderful opera music playing in the background. We ordered a traditional costa rican lunch and the food was great! Highly recommend getting out of your resort and explore this wonderful place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We decided to try Cafe el Manglar after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor & we were not disappointed! In fact, this was one of the highlights of our first trip to Costa Rica.
El manglar is on a dusty road we typically would not have ventured on, but so happy we did.
The setting is pretty- plants, flowers, masks, the sound of the ocean a short distance away. The service is awesome! Jorge is a gracious and kind host who treated us so well, and Victor's cooking is just like eating a homecooked gourmet meal: delicious and generous in size. We went for a couple of lunches & dinners and each time we enjoyed the food. The pork dishes we delish and the pescado dish was great too. Oh and the banana cake & banana flambe- yummy!
Take the time to try something a little different, you will not only discover a beautiful little place, but also great food & the hospitality of Costa Rica all in one spot. Pura vida!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite cafe in Brasilito (and Costa Rica, so far!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'll keep it short, but clear:
If you're in Brasilito, or nearby Portrero, Conchal, or Playa Flamingo you MUST stop by el Cafe Manglar.

Brasilito is such a small place that we were really surprised to find something as special as Cafe Manglar on that little dirt road.

The food was great (even the Nachos had a delicious gourmet touch!). Jorge and Victor were extremely friendly. They have great coffee (iced coffee was best I've had), free internet, books, and an overall great atmosphere with a definite (and genuine) green vibe. And we're from Montreal, so we're no strangers to small quaint cafes!

The sunset view from the ocean bench is spectacular. My wife is not a crier, but she teared up as we sat there (with our cappuccino!)

Again, if you're anywhere nearby, stop by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe El Manglar also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe El Manglar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.