We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papaya

Papaya
200 Metros Sur Del Puente | Conchal Hotel, Brasilito 50308, Costa Rica
+506 2654 9125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Brasilito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Healthy, Asian fusion, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Informal dining in a beautiful relaxed environment. Serving fresh seafood, steaks and vegetarian options.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We found Papaya on our next to last night in Playa Conchal and regret that we did not find it sooner. We had dinner there 2 nights and breakfast one morning. Everything was fresh and fabulous. The filet mignon (Nicaraguan beef) is not to be missed. It was cooked perfectly and had fantastic flavor. Our 12 year old son had the coconut mahi mahi and ate very bite, and he usually doesn't even like fish! Our 7 year old daughter had the coconut shrimp app, which she said was amazing. I also had one of the dinner specials, a lobster tail with homemade mango salsa, which was superb. The couple that owns the restaurant and the hotel were thee at every meal and were very friendly and hospitable. If you are in the Brasilito area, you must try this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    16
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Coconut mahi mahi - awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband had the lobster 5 spice which was very good. But the coconut mahi mahi is not to be missed! Very, very good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing guac!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Prices not cheap, but very good, simple, local cuisine. Amazing guac. Intimate but casual ambiance. Loved it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley
2 reviews
“Really Great !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We ate dinner here almost every night of our stay - everything on the menu from the fish to the beef to the pasta was excellent - it was a perfect way to end each day - the owners and the staff make you feel at home - we will return with others..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a dinner and a Guacamole snack there. Everything was delicious, and fresh made.

It is on the pricey side I find considering the location.

Also, I did not approve of 10% service charge on the bills when the food is being served by the restaurant owners. The gratuity is reserved for servers who make minimum wage in my mind and not for owners who already make money on the food and drinks. In this case the tip should be optional.

Good quality meals nevertheless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon P, Owner at Papaya, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
So glad you enjoyed our food at Papaya and thanks for your review! I would just like to clarify the situation regarding the 10% service charge. Costa Rican law states that restaurants must charge 10% service charge. This goes directly to staff and owners are not entitled to a share. Hilda and I work very hard at Papaya, not only waiting tables but including every aspect of cleaning and preparation to washing up. We do this for 3 main reasons, because we love what we do, to ensure a great dining experience for our guests, and also because staff costs are relatively expensive here and we cannot afford more employees! So just to be clear, the 10% service charge does go directly to our staff (even on their day off when Hilda and I work alone), and we are very happy that it does so. We think they also work very hard and deserve it!
Regarding the price, I'm not sure why you would consider the location as a factor? Our fruits and vegetables are bought in daily from the central valley to ensure freshness, we import the best meats we can, we choose the best pieces of fish from the local fishermen. Our kitchen staff are highly trained (we do not pay minimum wages as you suggest) and utilities are expensive. There are also many other factors including social security and insurance costs, but overall we have chosen to offer a quality dining experience, and from most comments that we receive I believe we are able to achieve this.
Thank you again for dining with us at Papaya, we appreciate your business very much. Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.