We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian hospitality: a pleasant stay and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Esencia B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Quinta Esencia B&B to your Saves list
Quinta Esencia B&B
Playa Brasilito | 400 mts Flamingo road, Brasilito, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Brasilito B&B and Inns
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian hospitality: a pleasant stay and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in Quinta Esencia only 2 nights because we were on the last segment of our trip and got tempted to see other places. But we would have stayed longer. The hotel is small and quiet; the rooms are very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The room is equipped with a small table, refrigerator and a coffee maker, so we bought some fruits and bread nearby and had our breakfast there. Walter makes you feel really comfortable and it is evident that he enjoys what he does and makes every effort to provide a great service, at a very reasonable price. His restaurant next door, Septimo Cielo, is absolutely great. It has a charming setting, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and genuine Italian hospitality. We missed his cooking for the rest of our trip. The quality and variety of the menu makes it a super fine restaurant. He serves wood oven pizzas that with no exaggeration are the best I’ve ever eaten. Same opinion has my husband –and me- about the tiramisu. A remark for the lady serving the tables: very professional and efficient. The main attraction of the area is the beautiful beach Conchal, about 20 minutes walk from the hotel, crossing the Brasilito beach (you can also drive to the beach, preferable with a 4 wheel). But eating at Septimo Cielo would alone justify the trip down there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Falls,NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After arriving in Flamingo our expensive accommodation was not prepared for our arrival. We asked around and got a recommendation to try Quinta Esencia. It is behind a restaurant and has about six rooms. The room looked very clean, was reasonably priced and had a mini fridge and a small table and chair set. Fatima was so pleasant and helpful that we decided to stay here. The bed was totally comfortable, took up most of the room. The bathroom was immaculate. Sweet touches made this place a pleasant stay. Tight parking but everyone was cooperative about sharing the space. The hidden gem is the restaurant. Fatima's husband is the chef and he puts out great Italian food. Oven baked pizzas and lots more. Our favorite restaurant in town had disappeared but once we had a meal there we didn't bother with anywhere else. We got over our disappointment with the Flamingo place real quickly since we had a secure, clean, reasonable place to stay with a great restaurant!!! Only downside: walls are easy to hear through! Spent our days exploring and at the beach. This reminded us of traveling in Costa Rica thirty years ago when clean and reasonable accommodations were the rule rather than the exceptions they are now! Great touring base for the peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived here on a rainy evening after a long drive and were cheerfully recepted by Fatima. We initially planned to stay only one night but this lovely place made us change our mind and we extended our stay.
It is just a few minutes away from the centre of Brasilito and this is good.
The restaurant next to it (7 cielo) provides excellent original italian food.
There are just two minor cons (no safety box in the room and the hot water was not constantly hot). But the lovely owners and the whole place made more than up for this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My colleagues and I stayed at the Quinta Esencia B&B in Brasilito while on a work trip. I was hesitant at first because I didn't know the area and one of our local contacts made the reservation for us ahead of time. Quinta Esencia is a cute little bed and breakfast tucked away about 5 minutes down the road from Brasilito. I was bummed at first that we weren't staying right on the beach but the walk is only about 10 minutes into town and you're right to the beach. The rooms were nice/simple/clean and, really, for the price of $38/night you can't beat it. The beds are king size and everything is very CLEAN! One inside tip I learned while visiting Brasilito is that all beach fronts are public property - so if you want to walk to the beach front in front of the Westin, Playa Conchal 20 minutes away, you can enjoy the same beach as the guests at the Westin. My favorite thing about Quinta Esencia was by far, the FOOD. The owners are a sweet Italian family and I had the BEST pizza of my life one night for dinner at the restaurant. We only stayed 3 nights but it was a great little place, I will definitely go back someday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had the good fortune to accidentally stumble upon Quinta Esencia late one night after the hotel where we were supposed to stay didn't pan out. I woke the owner up and he had one room left. The plan originally had been to stay in Brasilito one night and then move on, but we decided to stay for two additional nights.

The rooms, grounds and everything else were immaculately maintained and the price was quite reasonable. Quinta Esencia is located within a short drive of the beaches, restaurants and a small grocery and was quiet and peaceful. There were four of us and we absolutely loved it. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were good. My tip to travelers is to make it a point to stay at this little paradis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Me and boyfriend found this paradise by random in the begging of our trip. We was supposed to stay just 2 nights but we stayed 4 nights because of the beautiful and quiet place and because of the owner who is so nice and amazing cooker! We was nicely surprise by all the details and the decoration in the room and the whole place. The owner Walter and the staff is very welcoming and we have been impressed by the quality of his italian dishes. Personally I have traveled a lot and taste a lot of restaurant and definitely He Is AMAZING! Taste his tartare and the real italian pizza mammamia! I give my five star for evrything ah I forget to tell that you have a huge outdoor jacuzzi, you have access to BBQ , you have wifi in the whole place. I will definitely return to this little paradise if it s still the same!:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were so lucky to have found this place. The owner is italian and knows a thing or two about good service. Rooms perfect, everything clean and beautiful and price affordable for budget travellers. Owner is an amazing cook and makes real italian pizza and amazing sea food cuisine as well. My best recommendations, best BB since now.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Esencia B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Esencia B&B

Address: Playa Brasilito | 400 mts Flamingo road, Brasilito, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brasilito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel close to the nature, 200m of playa BRASILITO and 15 min in feet of playa CONCHAL. Rooms with any conveniences, king size bed, tv, mini bar, air-conditioning, bathroom with shower.On-the-spot restaurant.We are French and impatient to make you discover this little piece of heaven ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta Esencia B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Esencia B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.