We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Downton Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Downton Lodge to your Saves list
Old Downton Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Downton on the Rock | Ludlow, Shropshire, Downton on the Rock SY8 2HU , England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Brilliant, have just had an overnight stay following my son's wedding. The access is down a small country road so it is quite remote, but well worth the effort. The room was large and extremely comfortable with flagstone floor and fourposter bed. The buffet breakfast was without a doubt the best I have ever had (in fact I went up for seconds). If you want something a little different but very good give this place a try. In fact we are contemplating coming back with the family for our Ruby Wedding later this year.

Room Tip: Whichever one you choose it wil be of an extremely high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Owner at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Mike, thank you for your kind words and we would love you to come back for your Ruby Wedding anniversary. Just give us a call and let us know what you require. Kind Regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    11
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Firstly a huge thank you to Fergus, Willem, Pippa and all the staff at ODL. My wife and I recently got married in the area and used ODL as our base for the "wedding party". The food on Friday evening was an absolute delight, and the rooms were all equally unique in one way or another. Every one of the 20 guests did not have a single bad word to say about the location, the venue, the service - every bit of our stay at ODL created the perfect wedding weekend we could have ever dreamed of. Thank you so much all, and we cant wait to come back to see you again soon!

Room Tip: All incredibly unique so try them all.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Owner at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
You are all so welcome and it was no trouble looking after you all. To be honest it was a pleasure. We do hope you are able to come and stay in the near future. Kind Regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a lovely place to stay!

The 5* guest house is remotely located down a single track road but well worth the effort of getting there. Management & staff are so friendly and helpful. We have just returned from an overnight stay following a wedding at a nearby location. The rooms are comfortably furnished in a traditional country house style, some with four poster beds. Breakfast was superb.

It could not have been better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Owner at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review it is always appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived late evening and were welcomed by Fergus in the Car Park with the snow just starting to fall.It was not to hard to find down the twisty bends but a relief when we got there. We were shown the public lounge with an honesty bar and comfy seating around a log burner.We checked in and shown to our room which is set around the courtyard with 2 rooms per block 1x Up and 1x Down. The room was tastefully decorated with the usual facilities. The en-suite with a bath was a little impracticle as the shower head had nowhere to be fixed to during showering. As to the toilet, the pan was clean but the seat had dried urine from the last guest which was a little off putting. I cleaned it myself but something for housekeeping to check on when rooms are to be realeased for sale. Breakfast was nicely prepared and served by pleasant staff in a charming Dining room. Overall it was a good stay but a little overpriced at £125.00 per night for B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I have spoken to our house keeping team who were genuinely upset they had missed something so I am confident this would not happen again. I am sorry you didn't mention the problem during your stay, we would have been more than happy to have resolved any issue you had. Our highest priority here at the Lodge is to ensure all of our guests enjoy the highest possible standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived to the "big white" and were warmly welcomed by Willem. Though it was not a night dinner is usuallyserved they offered us dinner due to the weather. We had a superb dinner both nights we stayed there. Pippa is a fantastic chef! It was the sort of place you feel you dont need to lock your room (rare these days). The buildings are of great historical significance and modernised to an exacting standard without losing the integrity of the buildings. The guest lounge lends itself to wonderful group bookings as there is plenty of room and very cosy. The bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable. Being down a country lane it is quiet and peaceful, perfect for a relaxing sojourn in the country but close enough to all the star attractions of Shropshire. We will recommend this to our travelling friends, it was the highlight of our trip to the U.K.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was our pleasure to look after you on your stay with us. We are very proud of the Lodge and always go out of our way to ensure everyone enjoys their stay no matter what the weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

just stayed here for a couple of nights and found the lodge and the surrounding area to be quite beautiful. everything was of a very high standard. the staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful (including digging our car out of 2 ft of snow). i would also recommend the evening meal as it was excellent (as was the breakfast). All of these thing together made for a really enjoyable relaxing time. Will recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the weather. We look forward to you coming back when the weather improves so you can see more of what Shropshire and Herefordshire have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in February & thought the welcome, standard of accommodation, food & service were all utterly brilliant. The building & interior decor is absolutely stunning, contemporary, but in complete fitting with the age & style of the building.
This place is a real find & we'd have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to everyone we know.
D Lane

Room Tip: I couldn't recommend which bedroom is best as they are all incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus d, Manager at Old Downton Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We really enjoyed having you stay and are over the moon you enjoyed it so much. We hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Downton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Downton Lodge

Address: Downton on the Rock | Ludlow, Shropshire, Downton on the Rock SY8 2HU , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Downton on the Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Downton on the Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Downton Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fascinating. Intriguing. Mesmeric. Pure escapism just seven miles from Ludlow, in some respects, Old Downton Lodge defies description: It is not a hotel, nor is it really a bed and breakfast or a restaurant with rooms. Each of the nine bedrooms are unforgettable – stylishly converted from historic farm buildings surrounding a flower bedecked courtyard, each is quirky, luxurious, packed with history and designed to make you smile. The hospitality is relaxed and genuine. The food – served in a dramatic dining hall - is exceptional and the wine list inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Downton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Downton Hotel Downton On The Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Downton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.