We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's Dining Room And Bar

George's Dining Room And Bar
17-21 Barton Road, Worsley, Salford M28 2PD, England
0161 794 5444
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George's Dining Room And Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Worsley
Cuisines: Bar, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

Visited Friday evening. We had a lovely meal. My steak was cooked to perfection. A lovely young lady called Katie served us. She went over the menu with us and definitely recommended the right choice. It’s a long time since I had such good service. Thank you for the lovely food and evening.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    65
    40
    56
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We booked a table for 10 to celebrate an 84th BIrthday celebration, this fact was made clear at the time of the booking and also when we delivered the birthday day cake the day before the meal ( it had 84 in big letters )

We arrived on Saturday evening 6.45 for a 7pm table ordered drinks and sat in the lounge / bar area awaiting our table. We were disappointed then to be told that we would be accommodated in the private dining are upstairs this was not ideal due to mobility issues and started the evening on a negative footing.
We all ordered starters and mains from the menu with main options being selected, the main complaint of the evening is about the food and indeed the waiting staff trying to talk down to us as customers.
The starters were average, though the salmon and the ham were poor mainly due to seasoning and in the case of the salmon the food temperature.
The main course was the biggest failure with 5 steaks arriving at what can only be described as cold. Another dish came with an element missing and not hot !

When we challenged the waiter he proceded to give us a science lesson on food temperatures and insinuated that we didn't know how food should be served, this is the same member of staff who some months ago when I complained about a steak went on to inform me that it was served butterfly cut to ensure that the chef could ensure that the meT was cooked to the customers liking !!!

On a positive not the manager came to deal with the issues and she tried her best to apologise and to put a sticking plaster on what should have been a family celebration..
On the whole a disappointing night.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester (uk)
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ok, but limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Bar
The bar is good and has a large range of wine and cocktails
The bar servers are very good and attentive.

Food
The menu is limited and dosnt seem to change that often.
I ordered the steak and they cut it into two pieces! This suggests to me that they are not confident in cooking steak as why would you do this, and it was still over cooked. I suggest. Not ordering steak but on the limited menu this doesn't leave you much choice.

Overall
This could be a great restraunt with a little thought and a new menu and creativity.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

The venue is quaint to look at, fitting well within the Village. It's extensive interior and different Seating Areas are beautifully presented, and well thought out.

We visited on a stunningly beautiful afternoon, and sat upstairs on the Balcony Area. We were directed there by helpful staff, who gave us Menus, and said they'd be with us soon thereafter.

Our intention had been to go for Afternoon Tea, so we did. However, both of us said we'd return for what looks like an incredible 2 or 3 Course Set Menu.

The table was set after we'd ordered. Food arrived in good time, and was beautifully presented. They held off on the Fancies and Scones given the heat. As soon as our sandwiches were cleared, the Tea Stand arrived. All elements of the Tea were delicious, and all were homemade.

A lovely afternoon visit. One I hope to replicate soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Ribeye steak, excellent.

Great service even in busy times.

Would go again

TYPED TO MEET REQUIREMENT OF 100 CHARACTERS

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Dining Room And Bar also viewed

Worsley, Salford
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to George's Dining Room And Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Dining Room And Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.