We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory - good access to the motorway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Manchester West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Manchester West to your Saves list
Novotel Manchester West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worsley Brow, Worsley, Salford M28 2YA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Satisfactory - good access to the motorway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is a satisfactory hotel, by Novotel standards, but not outstanding. On the plus side, the hotel is very well located with excellent access to the motorway , and the city centre is accessible by car in around 25 minutes. Rooms are standard Novotel design, well maintained and clean . On the negative side, the rooms have no functioning air-conditioning, and the acoustics are poor so expect noise both from outside the room, and from next door’s bathroom and wc. As the hotel is not easily accessible by public transport, it is best suited to those with a car; also to be noted, for those unfamiliar with the area,is that Manchester is a large conurbation and that the hotel is in the west of the conurbation, and not central Manchester city itself.

Also worth pointing out , for anyone planning to stop over the weekend, is that this hotel has a number of function rooms, and appears to specialise in wedding parties ( I think there was one each night I stopped) ; as well as expected late night noise from guests stopping over, this did put severe pressure on parking spaces in the car park ( on the Saturday night, the car park was pretty much full, with no other local alternatives – a number of cars just parked on the access road) . I guess the character of the hotel is somewhat different during the week.

I stopped over the (Bank Holiday) weekend on a promotional offer ( around £35 night ) which was really good value for what I was getting – I’d happily stop again for that price as the hotel is satisfactory and the convenience for the motorway network can't be beaten , but wouldn’t rush back otherwise preferring to pay for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak-Mouafik, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for leaving your detailed feedback. I have reviewed it and may respond as follows.
I am pleased to see you found us easily from the Motorway however surprised disappointed that you found it difficult to park on Saturday night. We did have a wedding on that evening however this does not usually cause any issues with parking spaces. We currently have over 90 spaces which are free to use for all of our bonified guests. I will monitor this over the coming weeks to make sure that any non residents are not using our parking facility.
I was pleased to see you found our promotional package value for money.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are visiting the area.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    181
    89
    15
    13
See reviews for
127
129
33
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We arrived at 1 am to be told that we did not have a reservation, it took the clerk nearly 45 minutes to find it. The room we were given was so noisy ( lift shaft next door?) that we asked to be moved. In the morning we were given a complimentary breakfast for our trouble which was excellent. The problems aside this is a fine hotel with an excellent pool and gym and we will stay here again on our next visit to Manchester.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak-Mouafik, Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for leaving your feedback. My sincere apologies over the time taken to find your reservation however I was pleased you were happy with our response at the time.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the area.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here at the beginning of August for 1 night as a family of four 2 adults & 2 children. Were going to Man Utd for a Football Match on the friday & returning to football ground Saturaday Morning to watch the players in a open training session. This hotel was perfect for us, as it was only a 10 minute drive from Old Trafford.
The rooms were lovely very clean & very modern. Overall I got a good impression from the hotel although we didnt spend much time in it & didnt use the bar, gym or pool. The Gym did look well equiped & there was children in the outdoor pool.
Breakfast was lovely & was self service buffet, my only moan would be was that there was a large group of chinese teenagers? staying & breakfast was over run with them they didnt wait to be seated & just walked into the restaurant & didnt seem to know how to que just pushed in to the buffet que to get what they wanted & it was as though they had never been fed! We did have to wait for bits to be replenished on the cooked breakfast section but this isnt the hotels fault.
We will definatly stay at this hotel when we return to Manchester again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak-Mouafik, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for leaving your comments, I was pleased to see you found us ideally located for your trip to Old Trafford football ground. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your breakfast however I am sorry to hear some other residents pushed in the queue in front of you.
We hope to welcome you back next time you are coming to watch Manchester United at Old Trafford.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Novetel hotel for a weekend in August 2011. We were attending a family Wedding in the nearby Marriot hotel.
The Novetel is a nice clean, modern hotel with friendly staff. Decent, tasty buffet breakfast (English and continential) and bar food. Gym available and heated outdoor swimming pool. Animal accommodation also available as plenty of leafy, wooded surroundings.
Comfortable, spacious double ensuite plus t.v and tea/coffee making facilities.
The only things I would knock points off for is that there was no mini fridge, you also need a car to get to a shop for little bits and pieces. In addition the air conditioning during the Summer could be improved as quite clamy/stuffy.

Room Tip: Car needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak-Mouafik, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Corsas,
Thank you for leaving your review of you recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast and found the Hotel clean and modern.
We do not currently have air-conditioning however we do have fans available on request should you require one.
We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nice friendly staff, English a little limited when discussing restaurant recommendations so they went and sought help, which was fine. Nice and modern - stayed here twice now and a good night's sleep both times. Only thing I'd say is - pub next door is recommended a lot and I'm not keen, food not great. If you go into Manchester, taxis are expensive and the parking cost is £13 for the length of time to eat a plate of risotto, so make sure you allow for that. Car park can be a bit of a pain as our ticket didn't work twice and if there aren't staff at reception you have to wait - but all fine in the morning, just when we tried to go out for a meal - staff lovely however, just barrier is a pain.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak-Mouafik, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Newfalt2,
Thank you for leaving your comments and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your positive comments about the team.
My apologies for the difficulties you had with the car park barrier, I will check this with the engineer to make sure there is no issue with the ticketing system.
Thank you again for your feedback..
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel was up to the usual standard for Novotel in terms of staff, cleanliness and facilities except there was no ait conditioning in the room and so it was very stuffy given the current weather. Made for an uncofrtable nights sleep but I could have taken advantage of a fan if I'd mentioned it sooner!

Would still recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak-Mouafik, General Manager at Novotel Manchester West, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Gary,
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to hear you will use us again.
I fully understand that the weather last week was extremely hot however we do not currently have air-conditioning. We do as you say have fans available form reception.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Manchester West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester West

Address: Worsley Brow, Worsley, Salford M28 2YA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Worsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Manchester West 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester West is an AA rated hotel in the historic village of Worsley, ideally located for a business trip with easy access to all major road networks, 12 miles from Manchester Airport and just a short drive from Manchester, Old Trafford stadium, the Trafford Centre and Salford Quays. The hotel features ten meeting rooms, Elements restaurant, room service, a terrace and gardens with a childrens play area. Free WiFi access available plus free parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Manchester West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester West Hotel Worsley
Accor Manchester West
Manchester Novotel
Novotel Manchester West Worsley, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Manchester West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.