We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the John Gilbert (greene king)

the John Gilbert (greene king)
Worsley Brow, Worsley, Salford M28 2YA, England
+44 161 703 7733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Worsley
Cuisines: English, Pub, Bistro, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here with the in laws. A great place , good beer and nice food, a very peacful visit afyer a days shopping Would defo come again :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    40
    30
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly -would return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Called in for a very late brunch on Bank Holiday Monday. Just a baguette chips & onion rings; we asked for well done steak unfortunately the onion rings were also well done but not inedible. I was surprised how clean & tidy the place was - I have been to many similar places where the tables are not cleared after a busy lunch period. The loo was clean too another plus.
Staff very pleasant . Beer excellent . On the whole good value - this is not posh dining but we would return I would also think the location great for meeeting up with friends or relatives so close to the motorway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gone downhill over the years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This pub has rapidly gone downhill over the years.
The choice and quality of food has declined and the portion sizes become smaller.
There seems to be less staff on at any given time so the service is not as good as it once was although what staff there is are usually friendly, helpful and polite.
The drinks option is varied and reasonably priced.
I would not recommend you dine here but it is very popular with those choosing to visit for a drink after work and on a weekend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Totally un dog friendly, even outside.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just spent a couple of days in Manchester, at the very nice and dog friendly Novotel, After booking out today and taking my very small and very obedient dog for a long walk, thought i would have some lunch outside at the neighbouring pub, The John Gilbert. When I went to go in to order, I quickly scanned the list of 'no hoodies' no helmets' etc etc... didn't mention dogs, but at the threshold a woman behind the bar appeared to have apoplexy, so I asked 'am I ok the bring the dog in?' No, no no, she replied, no dogs allowed. 'Ok thats fine' I say, so can someone come outside to take my order?.. Oh no! You will have to tie her up and come back in yourself! Needless to say, i spent my money elsewhere! Absolutely appalling service and treatment of a paying customer. i traveled a further half a mile and although the pub I traveled to also didn't allow dogs inside, the staff couldnt do enough to make me welcome and attend my every need, and even offered water for my dog too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place for drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a pleasant place for a drink, the service is good but it does get very busy so if you want a seat you need to get in early evening

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the John Gilbert (greene king) also viewed

 
Worsley, Salford
Worsley, Salford
 

Been to the John Gilbert (greene king)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the John Gilbert (greene king), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.