We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on for a week of sun and relaxing by the pool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalithea Horizon Royal

Save Saved
You added Kalithea Horizon Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Horizon Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 85100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Kallithea
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spot on for a week of sun and relaxing by the pool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a great week at this hotel. Went all inclusive and did not regret it.
Room had a partial sea view as advised when booked, room was clean and although a little tired in parts (the bathroom had a few stuffs here and there) it suited us fine. Did request a mattress topper after the first night because the mattress was a tad hard, told reception and within the hour a mattress topper arrived..

Food was the usual all inclusive variety, I am a fussy eater but I always found something to keep me happily fed..

I enjoyed one or two cocktails a bit too much from all the bars :)

Good lot of swimming pools to choose from.

What really makes this place is the wonderful staff, can't give them enough praise to do them justice, friendly, helpful and genuinely always found them happy to go that extra mile. If the ratings went on staff alone then this place would be a six star.

Short bus ride to Rhodes Old Town. Although you probably will have to stand up for the journey as the bus was very full. Well worth the trip at 2.20 euros each way (you get to sit down on the return journey if your lucky ;).

Beaches are pebble dash more than sand so take your beach footwear.

All in all a great holiday and unusually for me I can honestly say I would go back and do this all inclusive hotel again if I get the chance but for 10 days not 7..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    198
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
263
455
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I am just about to return to Kalithea Horizon Hotel for the 2nd time this year and now our 6th time. I cannot say enough about this hotel! The cleanliness, the food, the hotel and grounds….are second to none. But what makes this Hotel really stand out from all others….and I have stayed in some top class hotels all over the world….is the Staff! They are fantastic! I started to write about each individual one of them….but it would have taken up at least 3 pages! Nothing is too much trouble and they are the nicest staff I have ever come across. I would class them as friends now…rather than members of staff, who look after me. Cannot wait to return!!

Jacqui Smyth

Room Tip: All are fantastic....but worth upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The second you're taken through the grounds of the Kalithea Horizon Royal to your room you
immediately spot one thing - this hotel is IMMACULATE. Not a blade of grass out of place or an overgrown bush in sight. The remarkable thing is that throughout your stay your hardly notice any groundsmen, though there must surely be loads of them. All I can say is that they must go through some sort of stealth training!

The immaculate nature of the resort continues to the rooms, which are spotlessly clean. They're also generally well equipped and have most things you could need readily available.

Service - generally very good. The best part was when my wife and I first arrived and were given a free upgrade to a larger room with a jacuzzi bath - that's service. Bar and table service was a little hit-and-miss though. Some nights we were faced with smiley, happy, courteous staff, other nights the grinch. Given we visited during a peak period of the year, the bar queues of an evening were expectedly huge - but I still couldn't help but feel that the bars well ill equipped/ undermanned to cope with the demand.

Food - Not bad, not great. It started pretty well, but it soon became clear after a few nights that the buffet style of the food available soon became very samey. I will say this - if you value your taste buds, steer clear of having wine with your meal. I'd think twice about cleaning paint brushes in it!

Finally the location - if you're expecting to be close to a town centre/ amenities, etc, you'll be disappointed. The resort is rather isolated - but if you're staying here on an all-inclusive basis with little intention of doing anything other than relax, you'll love it!

Overall, a good all inclusive. A few tweaks here and there (better food, improved bar service) and it could be great.

Tip - the pool at the top of the cliff above the private beach is generally quieter. It also has a grassy area on the cliff-top which offers some serenity, a degree of privacy...and most importantly something resembling a breeze to take the edge of the midsummer heat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the best AI I've ever been to. I echo all the good reveiws. Rhodes is beautiful and the staff at the hotel are really friendly and also outside of the hotel. Don't hesitate to book this holiday! 5 stars.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

had an amazing week from 22nd sept 2012 at the kalithea horizon. beautiful views to match the fabulous weather. the hotel staff couldnt do enough for you, too many to single out. the food was plentiful with a great choice for every tastes. met some lovely people during our stay too. would reccomend this to everyone, even thinking of visiting again ourselves. thank you for a wonderful time. from mike45062@virginmedia.com

Room Tip: for me room 746 did it all for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just reterned from Kalithea Horizon. We had a fabulous time.
The hotel rooms are very clean and spacious and we had an amazing Sea view, the food is great and the staff are fantastic. savvas and Mairia were particularly friendly and helpfull and make an amazing cocktail at the main bar.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rhodes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned today from a one week stay at the Horizon Royal. What can i say but a simply top class Holiday. Arrived in the early hours of the morning at the sister hotel to check in. Was checked in and taken by transport to our room. Was pointed out to the restaurant where hot food was waiting for us. Free mini fridge in room was stocked with soft drinks and water. In the morning was happy to see a wonderful view of the sea. The complex is large but not that bad you cant walk round it without much trouble.The food was top class and always fresh and the choice was amazing.The grounds and gardens are maintained to a first class standard and i can honestly say there i never laid eyes on one piece of rubbish the staff are so friendly and can not do enough for you.The rooms are spotlessly clean to a high standard , we paid 25 euro's to keep our room for a late check out.
Never wrote a review before but was compelled to do one this time , if i had to find one negative to say it would be take your own kettle as there are no facilities in the rooms. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalithea Horizon Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Horizon Royal

Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 85100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalithea Horizon Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Kalithea Horizon Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Kalithea
Kalithea Horizon Royal Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalithea Horizon Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.