We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalithea Horizon Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalithea Horizon Royal to your Saves list
Kalithea Horizon Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 85100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kallithea
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 night holiday. Loads of sun deck space in July, wide selection of food (lovely seating area down below with Greek kebabs and souvlaki). Clean and spacious rooms but A/C broken in ours! Great location for swimming to Kalithea spa, loads of pools, bus stop to Rhodes town, Faliraki and Lindos right outside hotel. The hotel beach was wonderful but you had to pay for sun-loungers, good toilet/shower block on the way back to the hotel though. We had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    245
    51
    21
    13
See reviews for
325
522
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Beautiful, new hotel with it's own beach and beautiful 2 areas of swimming pools with stunning sea views. Beach is 5 minute walk from accomodation but, there is shuttle going every few minutes. In case of All Inclusive, there is best buffet and bar I've ever experienced. The food is different each day, so you don't get fed by the same food all the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

During our 1 week stay returning on 27th October, 2011 we received excellent and friendly service from all the hotel staff. The pool areas and grounds are impeccably clean and well maintained and the staff appear to work very hard to keep it this way. To illustrate the point, we witnessed a member of staff meticulously working his way along 100 metres of walkway, collecting tiny red petals which would have otherwise gone unnoticed.
The food was good, not great, but good, varied and plentiful. The cocktails are excellent and are very nicely presented in the main bar in the Mare Palace along with waiter service and branded drinks.
The family room we stayed in was very spacious having inter connecting sleeping areas with double and twin beds respectively. Each room had a flat screen TV & DVD player and there is a fridge stocked with a selection of water, wine, beer and soft drinks. This appearred to get re stocked every 3 days.
Whilst a few of the negative comments I read in some other reviews have foundation (there are a few nuisance flies around; we did occasionally smell a waft of sewage; and yes, there are a lot of German guests) this hotel has spectacular views, provided great service through dedicated staff; is super clean and is a 10 euro taxi ride from Rhodes town. For the price we payed for a familly of four including two teenage children, it's a contender the best value holiday we've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just had 2 great weeks here and I honestly say it was all good.The weather was a bit disappointing at times though.Cleaniness was the tops especially the grounds were kept immaculate.The staff were friendly and worked hard.Food was good but could have been hotter. A sea view room is a must.Its a very pretty place. If I have to say anything negative it would be that the English are very out numbered by the Germans.But we were on our hols and just got used to it.The entertainment was very good also.To sum up I would say it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Just returned home from Rhodes after a 1 week holiday as two couples, I can only commend the hotel and their staff on the excellent service, facilities, cleanliness, food no complaints at all, considering it is the end of the season the hotel was full we had a standard room which was spacious and comfortable, we were offered an upgrade on arrival to a royal suite and blue wristbands ( which means all inclusive on the beach as well as everywhere else) Not just for Germans I must add we declined the upgrade as we did not want two couples in one suite so we stuck with our original booking. We did not feel we were treated any different from the blue wristbands customers, and I feel if you not satisfied with this hotel you must have major problems! I can compare it to many 5 star resorts I have stayed in on many holidays, well done to Thompsons this is a little jewel in your crown. Holiday spoilt right at the end by Cardiff airparks waited 45 minutes for the minibus which arrived with 16 seats and about 50 people waiting for it at 1 a.m in the morning not a very happy ending, won't be using them again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in June 2010 and again in July 2011. A fantastic resort. Great picturesque location. Spotlessly clean and well maintained - even the toilets by the pool were always clean and gleaming! the food was fantastic and the staff always friendly and helpful. Booked with Thomsons last year but as they were fully booked this year took a different route. Got better deal on price and got the same colour wrist bands as the Germans which meant we got all inclusive deal at the taverna on the beach included too! apparently Thomsons dont offer this option as its too expensive. This hotel has everything to offer for a family with young children (ours were 4 and 5) and is very quiet at night. We found it very strange that with all the free flowing 'free' alcohol we didnt see one drunk person the whole time we were there . A selection of fantastic pools with no problems getting sunbeds ( - although several German guests could be seen reserving sunbeds in the early hours of the morning- It is the hotel policy not to allow this before 9am). There is a disco for the kids every night for 30 mins where they learn actions to various songs and our kids loved this - even though not all of the music was in English, they didnt seem to notice. The whole place is fantastic - although we dont usually return to the same place twice, we will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: the rooms are spread around the resort in 2 story buildings - we didnt see any in a bad position how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have just come back from an 11 night stay at the Kalithea Royal Horizon booked via Thompson. We took our son who is 10. Having read many previous reviews - long winded etc. - can only think that these people have nothing better to do than try and identify the smallest of faults and should have spent more time enjoying the breathtaking scenery, amazing staff, wonderful facilities and cleanliness of the complex. This is not 6 star but in our opinion gives more of a holiday than most higher starred places would - states 4 star sup - should deff be 5 star. The whole complex is immaculately kept. We did not try the Thalasso restaurant as felt it too enclosed and didn't offer the views of the Athena so cannot comment on the treatment of paying guests/Germans in this area particularly. Can say though that we didn't notice any preferential treatment and that the guests from other nations were all extremely friendly. Lunch at the Delfinia is excellent and makes for a change of scenery if you chose to spend time at the horizon or mythos pools - both have breathtaking views. Savaas runs an extremely smooth ship at the Athena as do Savaas and Maria at the Helios bar. All very, very personable. The waiting staff in all areas of the hotel couldn't be more helpful - Harris at the Athena is a star! The entertainment for our son was brilliant - he loved the football pitch, water polo and particularly the popcorn machine and airfootball at the Safari Bar - all far enough away that they do not spoil the cliff top pools for those staying without children. We had no worries in allowing our son to roam the complex as did other guests with children. The evening entertainment was of a very night standard and was varied. We ate at the Elia a la carte once. It is a bit like Fawlty Towers, a little old fashioned in manner - this just added to the charm of the place though! Our superior room was spotlessly kept for the entire stay and we were glad of the bit of walking that was needed to reduce the weight gain the great food and drink is bound to have created - only arrived back in the early hours of this morning so haven't had the courage to step on the scales yet! Our only criticism of the holiday, which certainly won't stop me booking this for the family again was the Thompson rep. Bit vague, especially as there were strike implications this week. she did little to reassure us of how we might be looked after should we be affected and on that one occassion we needed to trouble her which was towards the end of our stay she showed little interest in how we had enjoyed our stay. The Thompson reps from other countries seemed a lot more enthusiastic/organised etc. I witnessed one lady guest almost reduced to tears by our rep. This guest was travelling alone and was noticeably concerned about getting home and our rep seemed to have no patience at all with her which I think was a great shame.

That apart, the holiday was faultless. The complex is very close to Rhodes Old Town which is a visit not to be missed - we popped in 3 times - a very easy trip! Think the location is great for families - it is very quiet - well off the road so safe and traffic-fume free!

We can't wait to go back next year!!! Thank you all at the Kalithea Royal Horizon for giving us a break will will never forget!

Room Tip: Room 807 was fabulous and we will request it again next year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalithea Horizon Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Horizon Royal

Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 85100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalithea Horizon Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 709
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Kalithea Horizon Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Hotel Kalithea
Horizon Royal Kalithea
Kalithea Horizon Royal Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalithea Horizon Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.