We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday (although...)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Colossos Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Colossos Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Louis Colossos Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 105, Kallithea 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kallithea
Passau, Bayern, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday (although...)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Louis Colossos Hotel is old, needs a renovation, definitely not a **** hotel. Corridor like in a horror movie (just blinking light missing), elevators noisy, bathroom dirty (urine on the toilette, even on the bathroom doors {guessing, haven´t tasted:)}, standing water on the floor under the toilette), unwilling chamber-maid, no sea view possibility (although staying there in the middle of september)… But we didn´t spend a lot of time in the hotel room anyway.

On the other hand, bed sheets & towels changed daily, the staff at the reception desk nice, the food great (count with putting on weight), drinks fine, although bartenders without emotions:), no problem to find an empty sunbed near the pool or the beach=not overcrowded…

BUT the best thing that could ever happen to this hotel, is having such a great ANIMATION TEAM, led by nice Lucy, which largely increases the quality level of the hotel ( the fourth * ?), preparing various activities for the guests most of the day, always with a smile on the face, saying hi/good morning to everyone, high fiving no mather how old you are ( 8, 18 or 88), creating a unity and friendly atmosphere among the people, dancing a catching „Macacao dance“ every single day with such an enthusiasm like at the beginning of the summer... And their perfect shows every night were always the best part of the day. Also giving a diploma to the winners of the daily activities on the stage before the show. The disco for children with Nina, Luigi or Anda were great as well. Great live singers singing the well known songs, immensely talented dancers Lucy, Kelly, Amy and Shane performing in themathic shows, which were professional, funny, sexy, CanCan breathtaking and extraordinary; using various costumes... And most importantly, they are nice human beings:)
Well done guys, thank you for having such a great time, when you ´re gonna change a location, please let me know;)

It was a great vacation!

Room Tip: room with a sea view (good luck with it:)), far away from elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen to spend your holidays at the Louis Colossos Beach and for sharing a kind comment online.

We are very pleased to hear that you very much appreciated the daily cleaning in your room, the excellent and friendly service by our staff, the tasty food on offer including the good drinks. We are grateful to you for highly praising our amazing animation team, who are working hard to please all our guests by offering various activities plus perfect shows. Rest assured that your brilliant feedback will gladly be shared with the team, thank you! However, we are sorry to hear that you did not consider our hotel of 4-star standards, even though we have received such high rating and excellent feedback from other clients. We must admit that we were especially surprised to hear your remark concerning the cleanliness, as we have recently retrained all our housekeepers and have thus reached the highest level in cleanliness. Nevertheless, we will naturally still follow up your comments and make sure that everything is perfect.

It was our pleasure accommodating you here at the Louis Colossos Beach and we are thrilled to hear that you had a great time. Hopefully you will soon please us or one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels with a return visit!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    255
    134
    92
    58
See reviews for
330
286
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a week from 19th October 2012 and returned thoroughly re-charged.

Check-in was friendly and painless despite being 12.30am and reception staff continued in that vain throughout, Luca in particular. Our room was on the 5th floor above the disco, we could hear the bass but it didn't stop us from sleeping although glad we weren't any lower! The room faced the mountains which were nice - a sea view would have been more asthetically pleasing but I imagine that they would be much hotter after having the sun on them all day.

The food was plentiful with at least two different dishes every day at lunch and dinner. Breakfast had a wide variety to suit all tastes with cereals, fried, scrambled and boiled eggs daily, local sausages and bacon, beans, cereals, breads, meats & cheeses and plenty of fruit. Early is best for all meals especially dinner if you want to sit outside.

The animation team were very good, excellent singers and dancers for the evening show and friendly but unobtrusive during the day with no pressure to join in. The resident singers at the inside bar leave a lot to be desired though! Bar staff were all excellent, in particular a big kali spera and efhharisto to Irini and Seva.

the hotel is right on the beach which is lovely but pebbly entering the water and a little rocky further in but that enhances the snorkelling. Be aware though that the hotel do not provide beach towels and sunbed hire is 3.50 euro each per day. the two pools good and we saw no problems with beds being reserved but they do get full up by lunchtime.

Cleaning staff were excellent, room cleaned daily to a high standard.

I would thoroughly receommend a visit here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Louis Colossos Beach and for your positive feedback online.

We are delighted to see that you found the check-in friendly and efficient, that you admired our food on offer - at least two different dishes every day at lunch and dinnertime - and that you got amused by the very good animation team. Also, we are happy you found our staff excellent and that you admired our hotel's perfect location, which is right on the beach. We would like to apologize for the sound coming from the disco room and assure you that changes will be made wherever found necessary. As for the sunbeds by the beach, this is compulsory as the beach belongs to the municipality and not to us.

We are grateful to you for thoroughly recommending the Colossos Beach to everyone and we hope that you will soon gratify us with a return visit!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Best all around holiday ever. Perfect location. 30min lovely walk or 5min taxi to bar street and shops and bunch of resturants. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Whatever u need they would sort out for you. The food was excellent with great selection. Food every where u turn around. Breakfast lunch and dinner with snack bars inbetween were lovely so if u miss a main meal u can hit up the snack bar and fill up there.. the bars were great amd attentive. And knows how to hook up. The animation team that was there throughout the day were fab especially the late show after dinner is a great way to end the day. The hotel was clean the whole day never saw any mess. The beach was lovely and had a seashuttles that picked u up right on the beach also they went daily to Rodos city and dropped u right off in the middle of old town. Plenty of pick up and drop off times plus it was a great way to see the island as well as a trip to lindos (which is gorgous) and a very good price. And then of course there is the hotel manager who was lovely and took very good interest in his hotels guests. Always smiling and happy george is the best. This hotel is excellent and will be visiting again. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us show you our gratitude by thanking you for visiting the Louis Colossos Beach and for writing a charming review on Tripadvisor.

It gives us joy reading that you had the best all around holiday ever and that you found our hotel perfect, what an honor! We are happy you admired our hotel's perfect location, our very friendly and helpful staff including the management, our excellent food on offer with its great selection to choose from, as well as the great and attentive bars. Also, it is nice to see that our animation team was able to amuse you well and that you were impressed with the superb cleanliness within our hotel.

Thank you very much for considering the Louis Colossos Beach excellent and we are thrilled to hear that you will be visiting us again, we cannot wait!

Yours truly

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a fantastic holiday - the hotel was in a great location with good shops within walking distance and a bus stop outside to Rhodes along with a taxi rank. The food was excellent with a great choice. The only down side for us was the disco. We were on the 4th floor directly above and the music was pumping until 2am every night despite there being about 5 people using it. The guest demographic didn't quite fit with the nightclub feel and when we booked we found no mention of it otherwise we wouldn't have booked. However, the staff were very accommodating and we moved room to the 5th floor which was much better. Overall a great place to stay, if you are situated above the disco you will need to move room or join in!

Room Tip: Not above the disco in the middle of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Colossos Beach we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your comment.

Your comments are much welcomed; it is a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic holiday, that you enjoyed the hotel's great location, the excellent and varied food on offer, as well as the great service provided by our very friendly staff. We apologize for the music coming from the disco and will make sure to consider your criticism for future improvement.

It was our pleasure accommodating you here at the Louis Colossos Beach and we hope that we can greet you back to our or any other Louis Hotel for another great holiday!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at Louis Colossos. We arrived around midnight to find that we had been given a room directly above the disco which is on daily until 2am. We went back to reception and were given keys to another room that had a large stain on the bath and graffitti on the door. The next morning we took another room with a terrible view on the understanding that we could update to a sea view room 2 days later. On the Tuesday we were told no room would be available until the next day, told the same thing on the Wednesday and on the Thursday that it would be the Saturday. We gave up at that point!
The rooms themselves are dated but comfortable and cleaned daily. The hotel is located right on the beach and on the main road with a regular bus service to Rhodes Town and Faliraki. The swimming pool area felt too small for the size of the hotel and we spent most days on the beach where you have to pay for the sunbeds.
The food was lovely and a lot of attention seemed to be paid to food hygiene. Lunch time saw a selection of salads, freshly made pizza, pasta and a selction of meat and fish. There was also a beach bbq and asian corner on alternate days. We always found something to eat at dinner with a series of theme nights and it was amongst the best food we have had on holiday.
We don't really do entertainment but it was always busy and the animation team were friendly without being annoying. There are several bars to choose from but we preferred the outside balcony at the Central bar.
The staff are in the main very friendly and helpful, although we did feel that the reception staff were not always helpful. I was stung by a jellyfish and there were no first aiders at the hotel. The guy at reception opened up the first aid box, looked in it, shrugged his shoulders and told me to go to the pharmacy 10 minutes away.
Overall, the sun shone, we enjoyed the food and had a relaxing holiday in a dated but very clean hotel.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Louis Colossos Beach and for sharing your opinion on this website.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable room, that you admired the hotel's good location - right on the beach and on the main road with a regular bus service - and that you were pleased with the lovely food on offer and that you noticed that we pay a lot of attention to hygiene. Thank you very much for considering our cuisine one of the best food you have ever had on a holiday, what an honor! Moreover, it is nice to hear that you found our animation team friendly and our staff member very polite and helpful. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for the fact that the first rooms did not fully meet your expectations and that you were not very satisfied with the décor. The idea of an additional swimming pool will be taken into consideration for future improvement, as will the idea of having anti-sting gel in our first aid box.

It gives us joy knowing that overall, you enjoyed our clean hotel, the nice food and that you were able to relax. It would give us great pleasure seeing you again at one of our Louis Hotels in the near future!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just back from a week at Louis Colossus Rhodes. Had a good time with no complaints on any part of the package. Rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable - excellent daily maid service. We are beach dwellers and again absolutely spot on - bar and decking area for much needed shade, toilet facility provided and barbecue twice during our stay was good.You will have to pay for brolly and beds - six euro's a day for two beds and a brolly, but this is out of the hotels control as they do not own the beach ! The council do.
The restaurants, again a bit dated, were absolutely fine - never queued once, which was a first for us on this type of holiday. Plentiful variety of well prepared food - you would struggle to not find something to suit even the fussiest of eaters. Pizza's freshly made were spot on.The Asian Corner food was tasty, but, as with the main restaurants, my only complaint was that the food simply was not served hot enough - I don't mean it was cold by any means but if a restaurant at home served my food at the temperature the hotel presented it's food, it would have been sent back to the kitchen for a warm up. Shame really because the food itself was very good!!

Despite this, I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Colossos Beach we thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a kind comment online.

It gives us joy to read that you had a good time here and that you admired your clean and comfortable room, the excellent daily maid service, the absolutely spot on beach, as well as the great variety of well prepared and tasty food on offer. However, we are very sorry to hear about your comment concerning the food's temperature. Rest assured that we will immediately follow up this matter and make sure that the meals are being served hot enough in future.

Thank you very much for recommending the Louis Colossos Beach and we hope that you will soon gratify our or any other Louis Hotel with a return visit!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My first impression of this hotel was not good but it just got better and better as the week went on ! first reception was great, room good had no complaints then we went to breakfast it was so busy until we found the other dining hall and then we went there every meal and it was lovely staff fab always friendly and cleaned plates as soon as you finished I will say that the food was very good !!! but the food in the Louis in Cyprus was a lot better ( sorry ) but maybe due to the size still had no complaints always something to eat !

Then the pool !! well no space i thought oh god what have we done could not even walk round it it was so busy ! then we went to go in the pool and i never got past my knee so so cold why why do the pools have to be so cold ! again in Louis in Cyprus it was not that cold and we could get in to the pool and enjoy i was very upset as I like the pool but oh no and my husband who will not worry jumped in and swam straight back out then i realized why no one was in them !!! we went down to the beach and to the right of the beach found too chairs and on that part between the trees just past the shower and just behind the volley ball court you do not have to pay for your bed so we sat there everyday and it was great !

The hotel it self was so big but after 2 days loads went home and it was so lovely !

Yes the beds are hard and we asked for a topper and all we got was a blanket on top of the mattress but hey only a week !! rooms cleaned and the lovely maids are lovely save your tips for them they do a great job !

Bar staff are ok you never wait for a drink ever but they could smile a bit more but guess it is coming to the end of season !

The girls in reception are always helpful and fun we got help with bus time tables , pillows, courtesy room etc

Lunch Beach barbecue was fantastic chicken to die for ! Chinese corner was not that good but nice of them to do this, pizzas were good always fresh oh and the melon

Evening entertainment overall ok they work hard ! or think i am just bored now see the same shows but what is nice about this is you can sit away from it a bit or go in side to the other bar or we went out over the road to a great little bar watched footie and the people are great or as the bus stop is outside we went to Rhodes town or faliraki and we saw George the manager but he does not speak to everyone !! i did not think he was as friendly as everyone say`s unless it was because he sat with 4 young ladies everynight and we were not so attractive but we did nod and try one night as will like to have a chat and never got the chance but thats life he cannot talk to all !!!

So few tips use back dinning room so much nicer ! go right on the beach between the trees no fee for bed ! beach barbie a must reception always there to help

Louis Cyprus wins for me but i will return one day to Rhodes but only in the quiet season

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at the Louis Colossos Beach and for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you could not fault your hotel room, that you found our staff members absolutely fabulous and friendly, and that our food on offer was to your liking. In addition, we are happy that you enjoyed going to the beach and that you appreciated the cleaning in your room, which was done by our amazing housekeepers on a daily-basis. Nevertheless, we regret hearing that you were not fully satisfied with our pool's temperature and that our Asian Corner was not to your liking. Hopefully those factors will not put you off from revisiting our hotel in the future. Especially regarding the Asian Corner we will be following up your comment immediately. Finally regarding our lovely Operations Manager George, nobody is more present in the hotel than him; he eats, sleeps and drinks at Louis Colossos. He has always made the effort to be available for every single guest but, alas, this may not always be possible with so many guests in house.

Thank you though for showing your loyalty to our Louis Hotels group and we would be more than thrilled to see you again at one of our beautiful Louis Hotels for another fabulous holiday, either in Greece or in your beloved Cyprus.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Colossos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Colossos Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 105, Kallithea 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Colossos Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Louis Colossos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Colossos Beach Faliraki
Hotel Louis Colossos Beach
Louis Colossos Beach Hotel Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.