We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalithea Mare Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalithea Mare Palace to your Saves list
Kalithea Mare Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We LOVED it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been used to the ultra-deluxe all-in resorts in Turkey, we expected a little less luxury for our first stay in years in Greece. Cheaper, local version drinks, expensive wifi, less efficient aircondition, non-professional evening animation. Still, we LOVED it, no more Turkey for us from now on!

The town (suburb) of Kalithea in itself isn't worth the visit, but even so this was the perfect fit for us. The hotel is quietly but beautifully located on the top of the rocky cape of Kalithea, overlooking the idylic bay of Kalithea and spectacular views across Rhodes town and the famous “Kalithea Thermae". Bus stops right in front of the hotel and takes you to nearby towns of Rhodes and Faliraki in no time.
The absolutely stunning bay is perfect for snorkeling with the clearest blue/green sea water I have ever seen, and the two small private sandy beaches and rocky plateaus with sunbeds is my idea of heaven.

Definate positive: as in Turkey, staff works so hard to make sure guests have all they need or didn't know they wanted, but unlike Turkey, without the "artificial" feeling to it and in a more "relaxed" way that comes from the heart: they are genuinely grateful for every single tourist visiting their beautiful island and want nothing more than to make you feel welcome.

The island of Rhodes has many places worth a visit, like the town of Rhodes with it's medieval city center, the Kalithea Springs, the Valley of the Butterflies, the village of Lindos, and more. The nearby "sponge" island of Symi is well worth a visit too.
Our tip for an alternative day trip (if you're like us and don't fancy driving the unfamiliar roads yourself): take the public transport bus to (kite) surfer's paradise Prasonissi, all the way in the far west end of the island with waves to the right, calm sea and shelter from the wind to the left - and surfers everywhere! It is one of the most impressive beaches on the island, ending in an island that you can reach on foot or by swimming. It's quite a long drive by bus, but you get to just sit down and take it all in, as it takes you along amazing views and through scenic mountain villages uphill and inland, that you otherwise probably would not have come across.

We never visit the same place/hotel twice, but this might well be the exeption to the rule!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    46
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
75
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

The most fantastic family hotel. Absolutely spotless everwhere - even the poolside toilets look like you can eat a meal off the shiny marble floors. Beautiful surroundings, great food, excellent service - you just cant go wrong with this hotel. We stayed at the 'Horizon Royal' part of the hotel, which is a twin to the Kalithea Mare, but it all appears to be incorporated into one large complex. We have stayed here 4 years running and will definitely be back again in 2015 as it improves each year. Its hard to believe they can improve on anything but we are always pleasantly surprised when they do. The hot tubs and surrounding decking and new bar overlooking the sea were a great new addition last summer (July/Aug 2014). cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: the majority of rooms have a sea view as the hotel is spread in blocks around a cliff top position...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We were there a long time ago but it was a very memorable family trip. The 1/4 mile hill to the beach was our daily exercise and there is a shuttle if you don't want to walk. The private beach is simply gorgeous. It gets crowded but is just amazing. The hotel rooms were fine. The food was very nice. A rental car was handy to take day trips around the island, you can't really walk anywhere but there are buses. We had a wonderful time in Rhodes and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Fantastic hotel, staff absolutely wonderful, although a big complex it never felt like it, more like a small family hotel and you could always find a quite place on the beach or near the pools to relax, read and snooze. The views were amazing from the rooms to the walk ways around the bay and down to the beach. Food was excellent and service too. Entertainment was great fun and inclusive...All in all a fabulous holiday and. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riding Mill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had 7 days 18-25th June 2014, had a fantastic break, everywhere was immaculate, the choice of food and drinks were excellent, entertainment was great for all ages. The staff were so friendly especially the girls in the Mythos bar. The hotel is spread over a large complex which may not be suitable for some but having said that the hotel laid on a mini bus to take you down to the beach and back, we didn't use it as walking the complex was a great way of keeping fit having indulged in the fabulous food and drinks. Rhodes town was only 15 mins away which we went by local bus just outside the hotel for 2.20 euros we got a taxi back for 10 Euros. We had such a lovely time we booked as soon as we got back to return in June 2015, can't wait.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms around the Mythos pool bar are better 821-830
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to this hotel on the 31st August for 10 days and it was fantastic. The hotel is kept very clean and tidy, and all staff were very pleasant and could not do enough to help you. It does seem very big complex but when you know your way round its ok. We never had a problem getting a sun lounger by the pool even though we did not get by the pool till about 10am. The beach was good as well but you do have to pay for the loungers and brolly down there which were 5 euros. Food was very good and was enough choice even for the fussy eaters, and did not have a problem getting a seat. Worth booking for the al a carte as the meal was very good. We went all inclusive and it was a good job we did as Rhodes seemed expensive if you were eating out. We did go on one of the Thomson trips to Lindos which was good place to visit but we felt it was expensive for what we got so would suggest to go but organise it yourselves as it cost us 116 euros for both of us but did not include a lunch or entrance fee to the Temple of Athena. We would go back to this hotel as it was a good chill out holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 790 with a fantastic view every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel very clean . Staff very welcoming especially those in the safari bar.vicky the rep made our stay very enjoyable as our age ranged from 5yrs to 55. Would go back again. Hotel would be better with more wifi access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalithea Mare Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Mare Palace

Address: Rodou-Falirakiou, Kallithea 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalithea Mare Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalithea Mare Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Mare Palace Hotel Kalithea
Mare Palace Hotel Kalithea
Kalithea Mare Palace Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalithea Mare Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.