We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gluten-Free Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodos Palladium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodos Palladium to your Saves list
Rodos Palladium
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodou - Kallithea Avenue | P.O. Box 180, Kallithea 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kallithea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Gluten-Free Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Rodos Palladium for a week in mid-June. We had previously stayed there in 2010 (but in October) and had had a first class experience. So we were worried that the service might have changed but needn't have been concerned. We have been going to Mediterranean Hotels for nearly 40 years and haven't found one that ticks all the boxes like the Rodos Palladium. Many other reviewers have commented on the excellent staff attitudes, always greeting with a smile, nothing being too much bother. This can't be just good training, our feeling is that staff genuinely want to please and help guests enjoy their stay.
Everything about the hotel is 5 star. One of the best designed pools we've seen, plenty of sunbeds and shade either round the pool or on the beach and it felt good to wake up in the morning to see the sunbeds laid out with almost military precision and an active but unobtrusive animation team.
There is an extensive buffet and a full show kitchen of 8 or 9 chefs. All items, both hot and cold were well presented and changed regularly. The huge bonus for us was the wide availability of gluten-free items. The Executive Chef guided us around the buffet - what was OK and what was not - and the waiters and waitresses were equally knowledgeable. Often items on the menu were changed to meet the need for gluten-free food and there were frequent offers to cook something special.

Room Tip: The design of the hotel means that there is a wide choice of rooms, from standard to superior or fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    172
    61
    20
    13
See reviews for
225
355
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in June with a friend and had a marvelous time! Beautiful hotel, extremely nice staff, very big sea view rooms (on the sea front - rooms numbered 5000) include complementary wine bottle.Breakfast and dinner are good and include a wide variety of choices. All drinks at dinner cost extra. The pool is lovely and has many sunbeds. There are a few pool activities during the day but that was not too disruptive. Recommend the mini market at the hotel - relatively reasonable prices.
Rodos old town is a 18 euro taxi ride from the hotel (that includes 3 euro extra for ordering a taxi - every ride from the hotel includes it). stores there are lovely but more expensive than goods found in other areas of Rodos.
Faliraki is a nice town 5-10 min ride by taxi (approx. 5-10 euro) with a few bars and restaurants for evening time.
Lindos is about 45 min ride (4.5 euro by bus right outside the hotel approx 20 euro by taxi) very much recommended as well for a day trip.
Bottom line - a real 5 star hotel experience and we will be back for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Rodos Palladium is a beautiful 5 star hotel just a 20 minutes ride from the airport.
It has a big well maintained garden with a huge pool and a private beach with hundreds of free sunbeds and umbrellas, you don’t have to fight each morning to get one.
The rooms are very nice and clean with a huge balcony.
The staff is charming and very helpful, they always have a smile for you.
The dinner was always the highlight of the day, they serve about 20 different main courses every evening, you can find luxury fresh seafood (tuna and sworfish steak, crabs, oysters, salamon, codfish, etc.) and everything else (chicken, beef, turkey, sushi, pizza, gyros, hamburger) on their buffet.
You have your own table every night, if you forgot the number, the beutiful Simona will take you there.
The Hotel has its own car rental service, if you look for the pretty Stamatia at the rent a car desk, you can have one in 10 minutes and you can use the hotel’s free closed parking.
There are enetertaining programs the whole day, you can participate in these if you like, if not, you just laugh on the others.
If you want to visit Rodos, this is the best choice.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are awesome, as in any other beach hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed 7 nights in mid-June with our 10 year old and 2 year old, in a family superior room facing the pool and beach. The room was very clean and well equipped including bathrobes and slippers, hot water pot for making coffee, a bowl full of fruit, large bottle of water, and a bottle of white wine from the region. The room was spacious and air conditioned. The king-size bed was comprised of two twin beds pushed together, but this is common in Europe. The sofa pulls out into two separate beds for the children, which were already made when we arrived.

The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They speak a range of languages (English, German, French, Russian) and are happy to teach you a word or two in Greek. The waiters and waitresses at the restaurants quickly learned our children's names and greeted them fondly. The animators who handle pool-side activities were also very outgoing and made an effort to get to know us. Lobby staff were courteous and helpful, as was the staff at the on-site rental car stand. Overall, through our travels on the island and in the hotel, we found the Greek people to be very warm and friendly.

Breakfast was available as either "American Style" full buffet or a continental breakfast later in the morning. We always opted for the buffet. The selection at the breakfast buffet was impressive, with fresh fruit, a wide selection of breads and pastries, hot breakfast (meats, eggs, crepes, omelets made to order). Coffee was served at the table by the wait staff. The only complaint from my daughter was that the milk for cereal was warm. (Us Americans like our cold milk!) The patio is open starting at 8am to enjoy the cool morning air, thought breakfast can be eaten at 7am in the dining room.

Dinner (on half-board) was also buffet, but 5 nights during the week, we could also choose from 3 dinners (meat, fish, or vegetarian) that were of higher quality and more complex taste than the standard buffet fare. I would highly recommend trying the more traditional Greek appetizers. The buffet had a wide selection for the main course, along with some child-friendly meals. The dessert buffet was decadent. At dinner, drinks are not included in half-board, but prices for water, juice, soda, and beer are reasonable. Mixed cocktails are a little on the high side, starting at 7,50 Euro. One night a week focuses on Greek cuisine.

For children, there is a "mini-club" with daytime activities and a nighttime "mini-disco" which is a lot of fun. The daytime mini-club was not very active during our visit, probably because it wasn't peak season for families. Kids were more than welcome to join in the large number of activities open to everyone throughout the day (darts, petanque, dance lessons, volleyball, etc...). A small baby pool is next to the main pool for babies and toddlers, and a swing set and chunky plastic play set with slides are aimed at kids 6 and under.

The pool is clean, beautifully designed, and places to sit and bask in the sun are plentiful at the pool and on the beach. My recommendation is to reserve your lounge chairs (using towels and the little stones provided) before going to breakfast to get the best spot. The beach is pebble/sand and honestly requires swim shoes to fully enjoy swimming in the sea. The water is clear and beautiful. Just a tip -- a 20 minute drive south to Tsambika Beach is worth it for the golden sand and family-friendly swimming. Everything you could need for a day at the beach can be found there.

The hotel has a really well-stocked mini-mart with reasonable prices. Overall, I found little price-gouging of tourists on the island. The Mini-mart sells drinks, some food, and anything for the pool or beach.

A car can be rented at the hotel, and the prices are not bad. The cars are in good condition. The jeeps with the ability to take the top off are expensive and not in very good condition. Important places and beaches in Rhodes are well marked with signage in Greek and English. Lindos is an easy and scenic 30 minute drive south. A trip to the "Butterfly valley" is very scenic, but unfortunately, the tiger moth population there is in decline. Still, it is a nice way to spend a day seeing a bit of the interior of the island.

WiFi at the hotel is lacking. We were not able to get it to work in our room, and the signal strength was weak in the pool area. It was strongest in the lobby.

Finally, room service is fast and easy to use, though I would recommend ordering lunch food from one of the nicer restaurants at the hotel, which have kids menus. All food can be ordered "to go".

We had a very enjoyable time at the hotel and felt that based on the condition of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff, the wide range of entertainment, and the quality and selection of food, it lived up to the "5-Star" rating.

Room Tip: Family superior rooms give an uninterrupted view of the beach, and easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

From the start, we were a bit disappointed to be so far from civilization. We had to rely on public buses to get around, which was OK, but slightly annoying. The best part of this hotel was the pool and beach. However, for a "5-star hotel," it reminded me much more of a motel, especially at first glance. You need to enter the rooms from outside (not from inside, which is the definition of a hotel, as opposed to a motel), and the rooms themselves are very simple. There is nothing that makes you feel like you're in a fancy hotel. The entire time we were there, the staff at the front desk was incredibly unfriendly and unhelpful. They helped as little as possible, and had no desire to go above and beyond for their guests. With regard to the food, we had breakfast and dinner included in our package... and we ended up skipping dinner every night after the first. Breakfast left a lot to be desired as well. The dinner was just gross though... I couldn't find anything that I wanted to eat, and I like everything. Additionally, the situation with the internet is incredibly irritating. There's free wifi in the lobby, but only there. So, the internet just doesn't work from your room or from other places in the hotel. All in all, we could have gone to one of many hotels and this one looked the nicest (based on pictures and trip advisor reviews), but it was really disappointing. I recommend choosing something else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmony_el, Customer Services at Rodos Palladium, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you devoted in reviewing our hotel. We are glad you liked the beach and the hotel’s pool.
Please note that all communication channels used by the hotel (i.e. official website, websites of online travel agents, websites and brochures of tour operators) have an adequate number of photographs (both for the hotel, as well as for each room type), so that our prospective guests can get an excellent idea of what the rooms, and the hotel looks like. In addition our website includes an official video that provides a complete overview of the hotel. We are really surprised from your comments about the hotel’s architecture, the staff, and the variety of the dinner, which are in contrast to the vast majority of the comments we receive from our guests. We are really sorry that we did not manage to fulfill your expectations.

Kind regards,
Rodos Palladium Leisure & Wellness
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of a two week tour of the Dodecanese Islands and then again for 3 nights at the end. We had mountain view rooms on both occasions and the noise from the road was acceptable on the third floor but not so good on the second floor. However the time we spent on the balcony was only minimal. The staff were efficient and friendly on reception, the pool bar and the restaurant itself. The grounds are very nice with plenty of places to sit or sun worship on beds. The beach area was clean and well spaced out. The buffet food had so much choice that it was also impossible to take it all in. Yes, drinks did seem a little expensive but that is no different from other hotels of this 5 star class. Buses stop outside to Rhodes Town and to Faliraki. We walked to part of Faliraki but soon decided to return to the hotal once we could persuade a bus to stop that wasn't full! - like other reviewers maybe we should have considered car hire. We would certainly return should we visit Rhodes again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent 10 days here during May on half-board. We liked the area, 20 minutes bus ride to Rhodes town.
Room very pleasant with all amenities. ALL the staff were pleasant and helpful and the food excellent.
We will return.

Room Tip: We had a seaview room on the sixth floor and were not disturbed by any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodos Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Palladium

Address: Rodou - Kallithea Avenue | P.O. Box 180, Kallithea 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rodos Palladium 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more awards than any other hotel in the island, Rodos Palladium has earned a reputation to please even the most demanding holidaymakers. This premier class resort occupies a prominent position on the Blue Flag-awarded beach of Kallithea, just 8 km from Rhodes and offers a relaxing and stress free holiday environment. A vast amount of leisure facilities, superb restaurants and bars and entertainment shows ensure that Rodos Palladium has everything to offer be it to individuals, couples or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Rodos Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Palladium Kalithea
Rodos Palladium Hotel Kalithea
Rodos Palladium Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodos Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.