We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, dated decor and poor maintenance .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldemar Amilia Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aldemar Amilia Mare to your Saves list
Aldemar Amilia Mare
Kallithea 85100, Greece (Formerly Aldemar Paradise Mare)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kallithea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average hotel, dated decor and poor maintenance .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights, at the end of September. The hotel is in beautiful location and the grounds are well kept, spacious and green. I am not hard to please, however I felt we were let down by poor outdated rooms which are probably 3 star, especially the bathrooms which need replacing. We were in a bungalow style room 1004, we had ants in the room which is expected in Greece on the ground floor. The plus point was the drinks which were of very good quality for all inclusive resorts and service in bars was very good and efficient. The bus stop is just outside of the hotel, only 10 min to Rhodes town. It gets a bit tedious when people complain about Russian/German clientele of the hotel, people may not smile at you but there was not a spot of bother anywhere, no drunks or swearing. People who like to holiday with the British should not go there as it's an international hotel. I experienced in the past staying in a 3 star all inclusive full of Brits in Majorca and was scarred for life as never seen so many fights and drunks behaving in despicable manner like they did there, so I prefer a mix if nationalities and don't go away to "socialise" but to experience different cultures. It's hard to please everyone I suppose. The food was average for all inclusive, the beach is very good and the sea clear with plenty of loungers available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    220
    108
    50
    36
See reviews for
318
200
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived after a 4.5hr delay from Gatwick. We were expecting to stay in the main hotel but were taken to an annexe. It was 4.30am and we were tired but as we were taken to the 3rd floor I couldn't help but notice the ancient lift and old carpets. The carpets had spillage on them which looked terrible. After walking the length of the corridor we were taken back into the old lift and up to the 4th floor where our room was. When the door was opened I couldn't believe it. We have travelled with First Choice/Thomson many times on 4*Premier holidays and been very pleased, but this room was awful. Firstly, it was very small and although it should have been a twin it had a double bed and a single bed (which I thought made it a family room). The bed was so hard and flat, the curtain linings were hanging off the curtains and the curtains were hanging off the track. We could only open the bathroom door half way as there was a door stop to stop it hitting the bath!. There was a less than full size bath with an awful shower curtain and other below standard things. The following morning I spoke to the First Choice rep and all he had to say was "it is a twin room....I can get a chair put up there for you". Well there wasn't room for a chair. The rep was non existent. What could have been a lovely holiday was spoiled every time we went back to our room. This was no way a 4* Premier room and did not even reach a 3* standard . Annexe rooms begin at 801-988 and we were in room 960.

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel or Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been promised a five star hotel, actually it's not more than three star hitek. The maintenance of the rooms is poor. Two evenings we had no hot water to take a shower, they were surprised that it was cloudy dsy so in the evening they decided to heat the water and sbiut 23:00theee was hot water for shower. The food, it is a 3 stars hotel food. On the bottom line we paid a lot as we are going to a 5stars hotel and we got a 3 stars hotel. The lobby is nice the same is the swimming pool all ither. Poor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel looks very impressive and big from the outside.
But as you go inside u can find a very old rooms.
Our room was very dirty, we had to clean our shower and toilets from mold, the aircon was very dusty and not cooling at all, we had to sleep with open doors to get some breeze.
TV is extra small u will need a giant glasses.
The bed was very hard, and we had to ask for extra mattress.
Let get to the food, every day they make the same food! We had to eat chips and pizza all day and take a bus to the city to eat there.
The launch restaurant was with a repellent smell.
This hotel is all inclusive, the cold drinks that u get is very bad, without gases and very cheap!. this hotel is for russian only, 90% of the guests are Russian.
So in summary this hotel is no more than a 2.5 stars hotel with a nice pool, and a good alcohol.
we will not recommend on this one at all and will not return to this hotel ever! Very bad experience! Watch from this one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have my holidays with my wife and two small kids (2 and 3 years old), we have bought three weeks here. The agency described this hotel as the best to have a holidays with small kids.
First of all, it is very old hotel, poorly renovated 5 years ago. So don't expect too much from it.
Specific issues:
1. The food is poor and every week you got the same choice of meals. Nothing specific for the kids, except dinner.
2. The furniture is ancient, beds are old and not very comfortable. Clean but old.
3. The are only two mini clubs, where you can play with the kids. Nothing else. The fact is this hotel is not good to have a holidays with the small kids. I would definitely recommend to consider a Village instead of Mare since it is more quiet, but have no access to the sea, only pools.
4. It is not clean, the furniture in the restaurants is dirty. i have got a bacteria decease and taking antibiotics for 6 days.

Biggest issue: there are no smoking/non smoking policy, so my wife and my kids are sleeping in a very intensive cigarette smell every night (with closed doors you will get a lot of cigarette smell, believe me).
I have asked the management to change a room to a non smoking area, and they cannot help since everybody is mixed.

So I would not recommend to have a holidays with the small kids, it could be a big issue

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakamoor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay in this hotel. Booked via First Choice (which was a big mistake). Overall this is a lovely hotel and having read some of the previous reviews about noise, I telephoned the day before our arrival and asked for a room in a quiet part of the hotel. This request was met and we were allocated a quiet room on the 5th floor. Facilities are what you would expect for a 4-5 star hotel. Choice of restaurants, beach location, water sports,large pool, plenty of sun beds and excellent, friendly staff who were just so helpful and accommodating. As previous reviews, the beds were very hard. However, we could not fault the air con as some people have said. As for the food I would say it was average and what you would expect from an all inclusive package. Our favourite restaurant which we ate in a lot was the French. Nice terrace overlooking the beach and we were fortunate enough to have an invitation to the VIP Breakfast which we used every day. The main restaurant was OK provided you got there when it opened as otherwise as time went on it resembled more a low grade Cafeteria. The main bar was excellent and unlike other all inclusive packages I have been on, did not place restrictions on certain drinks or spirits you could have. Free drinks upto midnight after which you had to pay. (To discourage all night drinking I think?). Our main disappointment with this hotel was the lack of English speaking guests. We were definitely in a minority. We should have realised when we got off the transfer bus from the airport and were the only ones getting off. This is an issue I will be taking up with First Choice and we felt quite deserted there by them. Not that we needed it, but had we required the services of the rep, then it was by appointment only. This in our opinion is unacceptable and shows a lack of understanding when offering hotels on the part of First Choice as it is often nice to interact with other guests when staying in a hotel. My advice would be to brush up on your Russian should you decide to holiday here. Even the entertainment was totally geared up to the Russians, but as it was of a very poor standard did not bother us. As a race, we found them rude, aggressive and at times intimidating and in my opinion just generally lacking in manners. Expressionless people who do not care about anybody but themselves. My concerns about First Choice's lack of concern for English guests there was confirmed when our transfer bus taking us back to the airport arrived 30 minutes late and with no means of contacting a rep nearly made for a dash to the airport by taxi. Overall we were disappointed by the points raised above and with just a little more effort could have been a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Jus returned early this morning from 10night stay,this was our 3rd visit since june 13 the staff were amazing as usual but must say this visit treated like VIPS:). The food was good staff coulnt do enough for me And my daughter wine,water and fresh fruit left in our room daily:) restraunt staff again brilliant thank you:) the only fault was the first choice rep if you get to see him, compulsive liar and one lazy no gud for nothing man ended up reserving my own seats on the plane!!!! This is not hotels fault just first choice!!!! I was in ground flr shared pool again as i requested bath robes slippers and clean beach towels daily:) thank you so much again aldermar for making how stay very enjoyeble see u next time :)

Room Tip: Email hotel before your holiday room 843 ground shared pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldemar Amilia Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Amilia Mare

Address: Kallithea 85100, Greece (Formerly Aldemar Paradise Mare)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kallithea
#7 Family Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful island of Rhodes, situated at the crossroads between East and West, stands the stunning Amilia Mare. This modern hotel complex, surrounded by the sea and suffused with the fragrance of its gardens, promises a holiday like no other. Relax in elegant and romantic surroundings, sample local delicacies while enjoying a dazzling view of the sea, enjoy the beach and sporting activities, pursue some of the countless opportunities for entertainment and enjoy an unforgettable summer on a dream-holiday at the Amilia Mare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Aldemar Amilia Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Paradise Mare Hotel Kalithea
Aldemar Paradise Royal Mare Kalithea
Aldemar Paradise Royal Mare Hotel
Aldemar Paradise Royal Mare Rhodes
Aldemar Amilia Mare Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldemar Amilia Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.