We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long and the short of it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Kallithea
wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“long and the short of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean, most of the staff were very polite and courteous (1 was a jobsworth and he was the reason I hesitated whether or not to give the full rating)
Coffee was luke warm and you had to wait a while for it, it would be better if they had coffee machines and you could help yourself, not enough staff (down to the failing economy I suspect)
Pools where great and there were plenty of sun lounges to go around
Plenty of choice for the food and the drink, the room safe and the WI-FI were free

Beware, the gentlemen need long trousers (dinner time only), there is a notice in the room brochure but we didn't get to read it before we went for dinner, oops, my mate hadn't taken any long trousers, so we had to go to rhodes old town for some, oh and several beers

Room Tip: 90% of the rooms have a sea view but if you go to the pool from your patio, take your key as the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear customer!
Kalimera from Kresten Royal Team!

We would like to thank you for your friendly review and high rating. We appreciate your time taken in sharing it with us and other TripAdvisor readers. It is really nice to see that you enjoyed our relaxing areas at the pools and we hope our staff did the most to please you and your partner during your holiday break.

Thank you also for your small "tip" for our future visitors!
We would be more than happy to see you at our resort again!

Warm wishes,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    247
    111
    30
    21
See reviews for
177
374
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at the Kresten 11th-18th May 2013.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a junior suite with private pool. We were so happy as we had paid for a superior sea view double through teletext which was a lot more reasonable than thomson/first choice so the upgrade was a welcomed surprise.

THE ROOM
Room was absolutely huge, like a mini apartment. As we had our own pool we spent most of the time here chillaxing, room 609, it was so close to the pool bar that we could bring drinks and snacks to the room. Absolutely no issues with the room, nice soft bed linen and cosy blankets (it rained on a couple of the days). The bed was slighty hard but really not an issue since we got such a good upgrade. TV was in good working order, not that we used it much. Only english channel was BBC world news. They have dvd players so might be worth bringing your own movies if you want to have a night in. Really must note the sheer size of the room, it's probably worth paying the extra for the suite. We were so happy to have this over a sea view double, although I'm sure these rooms are equally as lovely, we didn't realise how amazing it was to have your own pool until we got there.

THE FACILITIES
We used the large pool on the last day. Very pleasant surroundings. Easy to find a sun bed.
The food choice was brilliant in the main restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner. Salads and feta cheese were amazing and there was something new each day. Try the pancakes with nutella for breakfast.... delicious! Good mix of european/greek/asian cuisine.
We checked out at 12pm on our last day but we were able to use the pool and still had our all inclusive bracelets until we left. Reception will give you towels and you can shower and get ready in the spa showers before leaving.
Beach towels - you need a 10 euro deposit per towel which you get back at the end of the trip.
Wifi, dropped out occasionally, was lucky enough to get it from my room on most days.
Italian restaurant was delicious, would choose this over the greek restaurant if you had to pick. That said because I spent so much time at the pool bar anyway (the greek restaurant is at the pool bar).
Spa - didn't have any treatments as the price list was a little too pricey - around 70 euros for a facial. They also were not accepting card payments.

THE BARS
At night, the bella vista bar is the more chic/young persons bar and the main bar has an air of sophistication in the lobby with entertainment. We liked both bars. Bar staff were AMAZING. Thank you to Michaellis, Yiannis, Christos and Kiki for being so welcoming. Really great people and they remembered our names whenever we saw them they would make sure they would say hello. Best bar staff!!!! The drinks choice was ENDLESS!! So many different cocktails on offer, all part of the all inclusive.

GETTING AROUND
Suggest you rent a car and drive around the island - costs around 30-40 euro per day.
Taxis into rhodos old town are 9 euro each way and it's worth going to see as the town is all enclosed behind castle walls, very beautiful.
Lindos is also worth a visit - 40 min drive away, picturesque village.

I do not have a bad word to say about this place. Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and the staff are so lovely - it just made it even better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Hello from island of the sun- Rhodos!

At first we would like to thank you for choosing The Kresten Royal Villas and Spa for your recent holidays. We are glad that not only you enjoyed your time, but also decided to share your opinion after you came back. Thank You!

You describe our hotel, rooms, facilities, restaurants and bars as more than just satisfying plus you left for others some advise. How nice of you! We are glad that you left from Rhodes relaxed and pleased.

What makes us proud the most is rating our staff. You mentioned your favorites members by name...We are sure that Michalis, Yiannis, Christos and Kiki will love to hear that.

Dear Guest, we are looking forward to seeing you again! We would love to welcome you once more and provide you anything you need to "Put your feet up, have a drink and watch the world go by...”

Warm wishes,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I honestly cannot fault this resort. the pools are amazing (spotlessly clean and the long pool is a good depth for swimmers and kiddies alike as sloping from side to side all along), the food excellent, the rooms fabulous, the staff courteous and obliging, the whole venue spotlessly clean. Having been a hotelier myself, I know that not enough people like to sing praise where praise is due and prefer to leave feedback only to moan. We paid less than £500 each for a week all inclusive, incl flights, transfers and one check-in bag. We were given a free upgrade to a junior suite with private pool and sea view. only slight criticisms were a) there could be more bar staff but don't really blame them as otherwise they would go under as booze is all included b) music played out very loud one night at 3am - this was due to a technical fault apparently and did not happen again. Other than that, we loved it and are currently looking at booking to go back with my kids and parents. Good location for taxis / buses to Rhodes old town, Faliraki, Lindos. THIS VENUE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Kalimera from warm and beautiful Rhodos!

The Kresten Royal Villas and Spa would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent vacation. We are very happy that we managed to deliver you fun holidays as you expected.

Complimenting our pools, rooms, food or staff- made as very proud and gives as a lot of energy to continue working on the same level.

Please be sure also, that your small criticism is taken seriously and we will definitely make our best to please you completely the next time we will have a chance. As we see that you are already planning coming back with your family, there is no better reward for us! Thank you.

The Kresten Royal team is looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best Regards,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the Kresten for a week with a 1 year old, be aware this 5 STAR hotel infact have box rooms that they allocate to families NOT GOOD!! The hotel also need to look at its policy when its raining ONE bar open is really not acceptable for 5 star hotel that size!! Other than that nice hotel but not brilliantly located would recommend car hire for sure.

Room Tip: If allocated room 141 run for the hills..... Box room with NO balcony or terrace!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from kresten royal today.we arrived at hotel and were greeted by receptionist he couldn't find our key card we got given our key card but spelt baxteller not our name !!! I then had ask him if get rep greet card these little things are not 5 star are they.the hotel itself is lovely very clean and up keep brilliant.the main building a little bare needs some life.the restaurant was ok good food but very disorganised a lot of people waiting and not enough staff.three times in a week i had to ask for drinks and sort table out cutlery etc.the maids were brilliant.i found the wi fi awful found a lot saying this kept cutting out.in all we enjoyed stay nice hotel just not 5star service I feel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrestenRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Kalimera from sunny and warm Rhodes!

The Kresten Royal team would like to warmly thank you that you decided to share your memories with us and other travelers. We are always in need of feedback and comments that help us on our road to excellence.

It is really satisfying that you describe our resort as "lovely and very clean". It means that you noticed how much attention we pay to the details.
We must say that we are disappointed to see that you experienced some inconvenience at your arrival. We made sure that was only one time incident and would surely not be repeated again.

Please, let us thank you again for choosing our new 5 star hotel. We would appreciated to see you again at our premises and offer you our warm greek hospitality once more.

Best Wishes,
"Your" Kresten Royal management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just had a week (4/5 to 11/5) at the Kresten Royal and I have to say I would'nt go back. We arrived at 11.30 on Saturday night, checked in ready to relax to be then told our room was'nt ready and we will have to go to their sister hotel 4* for the night. Have breakfast and come back at 10.00 the following day. Did that and was then told by one woman manager we can not check in until 2.0pm in the afternoon, the room was still being cleaned. Eventually got a room about 2.30. Nice rooms, clean, private pool, very impressed until we tried the first meal. Food is not very good, generally cold, not labelled so difficult to know what you have on your plate. Dont forget to ask for tea spoons, you dont get those unless you ask. The hotel is very nice and modern, bars can be bit of a mare to get served, and its the first time i've had drinks in a plastic cup in a 5* hotel.
Just be prepared to accept much less than the 5* it likes to call it's self.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay. Beautiful hotel, lovely location. It seems poorly run and understaffed.
Us and several other couples were placed in the Kresten palace for our first night as our rooms were already taken due to a 'system error'. Surprisingly on the same weekend as the island's Easter celebrations?
The Kresten Palace is of a very low standard, (supposedly 4 star). The poor guy at the front desk barely spoke English and had to deal with several annoyed Brits. No explaination was given on arrival, we were told about the so called system error the next day at our welcome meeting.
We were upgraded to a suite with private pool, lovely room apart from the damp. All standard rooms were being used so im not sure if the upgrade was for our benefit.We got into this room at 3pm on the second day, after lugging our valuables and hand luggage around for most of the day.
In the room there was no water in the fridge or fruit bowl (as stated in brochure and in hotel literature). Also no robes as also stated.
The safe in the room wouldn't open, it took two phone calls and two rep requests to get it opened. Took best part of two days aswell.
Tea and coffee in room was never replenished.no tea spoons, small thing I know but annoying. No remote controls for the tv or DVD player. Finishings in the bathroom were shoddy. Beach towels procedure was not explained at all, had to find out from another guest.
The food was lovely couldnt fault it.the staff were lovely.
However the place was very understaffed, long waits at the bar and restaurant for service.
The italian restuarant is lovely but your drinks are brought to you from one of the bars so a long wait as no bar in the restaurant. The greek restaurant is very poor.
The (all inclusive) is clearly different in Europe than most other countries as it was very restricted. The fizzy drinks are done from a soda stream system and tasted salty.

Lovely place just needs the basics to be done better. Not five star.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.