We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon heaven just a few hitches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kallithea
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Honeymoon heaven just a few hitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the kresten royal in sept 2012 for two weeks for our honeymoon.
We arrived and I immediately burst into tears at just how nice the reception area was and how lucky we'd got......this changed immediately when we were told the hotel was overbooked and we would have to stay in the sister hotel, kresten palace.we did say it was our honeymoon and was there nothing they could do and we're told no they would see us in the morning. We were takin to the kresten palace which was fine but nothing special. We were allowed to use the facilities at the kresten palace however so we took advantage of sampling the cocktail menu on night one, we did hear at reception a few times in our two weeks this happening to other people and worked out they were charging people who needed late check out to keep there rooms therefore having no space for new guests arriving.
On day two we were given our room at the royal and could not have had a better room. The view was unreal, we stayed in the main building and had a view all the way to Rhodes town,across the sea as far as the eye would take you. The room itself was very clean,jacuzzi amazing, towels changed regularly. We also had free wine,fruit,water (and eventually bathrobes) once we realised everyone else had them so we asked,
We treated ourselves to a couples hot stone massage and it was very relaxing and worth the money.
There was always space beside either pool and it was never a problem for a sunbed.pool area was always clean, we chose the top pool area more often as it was quieter and less children about. ( nothing against them I just work with them and fancied my two weeks off)
The food was ok but not 5 star there was plenty food available it just got quite repetitive.
The a la carte restaurants were nothing to write home about and the Italian was very rushed.
Would love to go back for the breakfast though.
We chose to go to Rhodes town a lot and also ventured to falaraki. 1.80 pp on the bus from the top of they road, longest we waited was 15 mins.do not get taxis. There's no need.
Rhodes old town is beautiful. Loads of shops and amazing restaurants. Try phillipos for the best steak.
Boat trip from falaraki to lindos was fantastic
Also kalithea springs was lovely. If we hadn't just got married we would have chosen to do it here.
Overall I would stay at the kresten again but would be prepared for going out for meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    308
    138
    36
    23
See reviews for
214
459
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited the Kresten Royal last June/July for 10 days, travelling as a family of three with our 13 year old daughter. She enjoyed the pool and made a couple of friends but there didn't seem to be much else for them to do in the complex itself.

The hotel is a lovely, clean building, and very modern looking and we were impressed with the aesthetics of the surroundings. The pools were clean and inviting, the reception was clean and the staff were friendly and smartly dressed.

We found the food selection in the evenings was a little limited, but we tend to eat out on holiday anyway. We went out for dinner every night at the Rhodes old town ($13-15 each way via taxi). However, we ate lunch in the restaurant each day and the wine and beer was very nice, as well as the lunchtime buffet which we always found something to eat from. The pool bar service was excellent; the man serving there was a lovely friendly man who always remebered your drink preference and whizzed up some great cocktails for us. The staff in the reception lobby bar are also lovely and always ready with a smile for you.

The only gripe we had was the rooms weren't fantastic. They were nice, don't get me wrong,, but they were just lacking that special something. They were cleaned every day etc but the standard of a 5* room for me was set when we visited the Sandos San Blas last year- they were perfect. At the Kresten, we had a ground floor, garden-view room and the patio area was just not private at all, and we do like a drink on the balcony at night so we felt a bit disappointed about this aspect. Also, had an invasion of ants in the bathroom one afternoon but went to reception and was given some spray which sorted them out. Did find various weird-looking bugs creeping around though throughout our stay, which I put down to the garden being directly outside our patio door!

I had requested a private pool room on the offchance we might get upgraded after reading that some people had done this and succeeded in having one allocated to them. However, we didn't get one even though some of them were empty!

All in all this hotel was great, and I would recommend it as we had a lovely time. We thought Rhodes town was just fantastic and if we do return to the island we would certainly consider coming back to the Kresten, but I would shop around first.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a ground floor garden room if you like to sit out on a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My Wife, wedding party and I stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2012 (I know late review), when we all traveled out for our Wedding. My wife and I arrived a week prior to the wedding party due to a little bit of organizing to be done and a little relaxation, the calm before the storm.

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the late night receptionist due to it being 2am! We were offered a snack while he checked us in. We were told that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite. We were taken to our room and went to bed. When we woke up the next morning we found out exactly what we had been upgraded to. As we stepped out of the room we were greeted by our private pool that overlooked the sea towards Old Rhodes Town.

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms or the hotel. Everything was spotless. We found that the food was very good and there was always something for you to eat, no matter whether you liked the nights theme or not.

We were getting married in the second week of our holiday and had organised most things with Olympic Holidays prior to our holiday, however we did have a few bits to sort. We had a dedicated Wedding Co-Ordinator called Kelly, who might I add, was absolutely fantastic. Kelly did the running around so we didnt have to. She organised transport to and from the Wedding Venue (Kalithea Springs), which is beautiful, music on the day, drinks at the venue, all of the documentation being translated as well as organising a bouquet of flowers to be delivered to my wife on the day. She could not do enough for us.

We did however have to sort a few bits ourselves with the hotel. We had contacted Vasilis, the hotel manager prior to arriving and we arranged a meeting with him when we were in resort. Again, Vasilis and his staff were fantastic. They allowed us to have our Wedding Breakfast in the Italian restaurant, where they decorated the table, let us choose the meals and set aside waitresses and waiters for us, ALL FOR FREE! We also met the F&B manager who discussed the menu and the wine selections to go with the food (the wine we chose was extra, but we had no problems with that). The meal was fantastic and even better than the meal we had in the restaurant the week prior. Our wedding day was also my sisters 21st Birthday. The hotel put together a Birthday Cake for after the meal and the bar staff joined in singing Happy Birthday.

My wife and Bridesmaids also had Nails and Hair treatments on the day which was organised by the hotel for locals to come in and undertake for us.

Our party was very varied in age, from 11 to 80 odd and was fantastic for all.

I cant recommend the hotel highly enough. The pools were a little on the chilly side but nice when you got in. The bar staff on the Pool Bar and the Lobby Bar were fantastic. Mike in the Lobby Bar is a lovely guy and will chat to you if you make the effort.

Overall the staff, hotel, service and facilities are fantastic. I would definitely go back and re live some happy memories in the future.

Thank you Vasilis and the Kresten Royal staff, you made our Wedding a fantastic day. And as for Kelly, thank you. You made our day run smoothly and exactly as we wanted it.

On another note, do make sure you explore the Old Rhodes Town. There are lots of fantastic Restaurants at a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend the Ippotikon Restaurant where we ate for my Sister In Laws birthday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Hotel and facilities were superb, as an all inclusive it was quality all the way. cant fault it.

only disappointment was arriving at midnight due to delayed flight we couldnt get a beer and a sandwich- everything closes at 12 prompt.

dont know that it was worth the extra for the suite as we didnt need it, hotel bars were great and not to crowded ( service could be a bit slow at times, but fast for greek standards !)

even spotted a soap star with their kids having a good time- no one bothered them

Room Tip: hotel is not too far from the airport- take a taxi and dont wait for a tour bus- taxi 5 mins, holida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Me and my husband and our wedding party stayed hear from 6-21st of October and it was the best holiday we have ever had! they put us in rooms all together which was very handy as there were children in the party, I also got married at kalithea springs on the 15th October and it was absolutely beautiful could not have had a better day, the room we was in was huge with a huge balcony, Also very very clean! we chose to spend the day at the bottom larger salt water pool and loved it! the food was really good every day lots to choose from and im a picky eater! the only thing they need is more daily entertainment like water sports and more adult entertainment at night, We will defiantly return to this hotel maybe at our 10 year anniversary to then go back to kalithea springs! the whole of the time we was there its only rained for half a day and was very hot the rest of the time! say writing this review is making me want to go back now! i saw the bad reviews before i traveled and to be honest some people are just stupid and picky i found this the best hotel ive ever stayed in and DONT be put off by the petty reviews! Enjoy your holidays !LOVED EVERY SECOND!

Room Tip: room 125 is what we stayed in and was very good size and brilliant balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anston, Sheffield, South Yorks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went in October 2012, the weather was great and the hotel up to expectations. The location is between Faliraki and Rhodes town, quiet and you should hire a car to explore the beautiful island of Rhodes. Lindos is a must, very picturesque as was the roads through the mountains.

The hotel was well run with plenty of room for everyone. The lower pol was our favorite, great views and plenty of all inclusive food and drink. I read a book cover to cover sat by the pool - a first for me! Very relaxing.

Recommended.

Paul & Dinky

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Loved this hotel!! The rooms was amaazing, particuarly having our own pool. Huge bedroom and bathroom, really quiet. Proper beds and mattresses!! Staff were all lovely. I agree with previous reveiwers that the Reception staff could be a little more helpful. Food was great in all three restaraurants.
We chose October to travel and so the hotel was fairly quiet. Not sure how I'd feel peak season with children being there as well.
Would definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa

Address: 6th km Rhodes -Kalithea Ave., Kallithea 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kallithea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Family Hotel in Kallithea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kresten Royal Villas & SpaThe HotelThe luxurious newly build The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, stands majestically on the magnificent Kallithea sloping hillside by the sea offering transpire great class, impeccable taste in seductive and stunning sea views of the Aegean, lies an ancient quarry site, (from which stone for the fortification of the City was excavated during the ancient and medieval ages), for unique privacy and relaxation.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kind hearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. Is situated 5,5 km from the famous UNESCO world heritage monument, medieval old town of Rhodes and within walking distance from the recently restored Kallithea Mineral Springs.Paying meticulous attention to cuisine excellence while attracting and employing friendly and helpful minded personnel, we strongly believe that “paying attention in every detail makes a hotel great”.Rooms & SuitesWhatever your choice might be… we have it…Make your choice for your accommodation in our hotel fromDouble roomsJunior Suites SuitesIf you don’t want to walk until the pool, or you want more privacy for your vacations you can choose from ourVillas with private pool:Villa Junior Suites with swimming poolRoyal Suites with swimming pool Our Arrival Offer consists ofBottle Of water, basket of fresh fruits, tea & coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers, towels for the beach and shower amenities. In every room you can findSatellite TV, Telephone, fridge, Safety deposit Box and Internet connection through EthernetDiningThere is a famous Greek phrase, “I agapi pernaei apo to stomachi” which means that love is getting bigger and stronger from good Food, and we are ready to offer you a wide variety of choices, top quality and the spirit of the Greek service. Our Food and beverage program was made with our guests’ satisfaction in mind. General All Inclusive Terms:The hotel offers the use of the theme restaurants, included in the ALL Inclusive program, twice (2) per week, instead of dinner at the main restaurant. A reservation is required, at least one day earlier, along with the special meal voucher provided at the hotel reception, upon arrival.Alcohol consumption is allowed to adults only. You may order two drinks per person, at a time.Dress Code: During Dinner at all available restaurants gentlemen must wear long trousers.FacilitiesDuring your Stay you will be surrounded by our state of the art Sport facilities, the newest machinery in our Gym and our variety of pools. You can take a look at our in-Hotel store or you can relax at our spa. 1 external Pool with Sea Water2 external Pools with Sweet Water1 Children’s Pool1 Indoor Pool (Heated)Tennis CourtsFootball Court 5x5Basketball / Volleyball CourtGymSpa (Not Included In the All Inclusive)Super Market (Not Included In the All Inclusive)MeetingsInterested in business? Interested in planning incentive trips for your company? Making a convention? Now combine all these thoughts with a spectacular location, and leisure facilities and you will get an unforgettable experience of business & relaxation at the same time.The Convention Centre, “Golden Hall” is an autonomous building with its own separate entrance and lobby, seats 500 participants and it is equipped with state of the art simultaneous translation facilities as well as divisible smaller meeting rooms, a business center, VIP lounge, press room and a bistro styled coffee shop, makes it ideal destination, for incentive groups.EntertainmentYour entertainment during your stay is as important as your relaxation & dining experience.Except the usage of our facilities for athletics like tennis, basketball, football, volleyball and our gym, Our Animation Team is at your disposal with:Children Activities & playgroundMorning gymnastics & daily activities. Mini Disco for our little customers& Spectacular Shows for your evening entertainmentWeddingsHoneymoon Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary. Falling in love is the magical moment of everybody’s life and our resort is a honeymoon destination, simply once experienced never forgotten.The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa is ideal for an unforgettable wedding ceremony and reception, for special memorable moments, for quiet and relaxing Holiday.SpaFeel free to relax in our new spa facilities and treatments from day 1. Our professional trained staff and our newly made spa facilities are waiting for The biggest star of your vacations…You! A variety of treatments and a world of body relaxation have opened their doors for you.Our Superb Mediterranean Spa gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself with using its exclusive natural products, and unforgettable service. A wellness center with fully equipped gymnasium and Spa with steam bath, sauna, different massage - wellness treatment rooms and an indoor Pool, shall be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kresten Royal Villas Hotel Kallithea
The Kresten Royal Villas And Spa
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa Rhodes/Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.