We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berber Travel Adventures

Berber Travel Adventures
21 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Sour Jdid, Amizmiz 42100, Morocco
(0)-672-37-26-68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Amizmiz
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors experience firsthand the beauty and hospitality of Moroccan Berber culture by meeting and interacting with those living in the many small mountainous villages surrounding Amizmiz, a town about an hour from Marrakech. Activities include visiting Berber villages and homes, helping prepare traditional Berber meals, and learning about the daily life of Morocco's native people. This cultural attraction gives visitors a real-life encounter with the rural Berber life of the High Atlas Mountains.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of the holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The website provided clear and detailed information about this walking day trip to experience Berber life and culture. Jamal arranged for taxi transportation from Marrakech but there was also detailed information on public transport options. He met us in Amizmiz and the excursion was well organised. The combination of beautiful setting, kind and generous hosts and Jamal's insightful commentary provided us with an unforgettable experience (even the taxi ride was fun) - the highlight of our trip to Marrakech!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Should be No.1 Thing To Do in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

- Couple, age 23, Irish & Canadian -

This was, in so many ways, the best thing we did in Morocco. After two days in Marrakech, our heads were spinning from all the frenzied action, and we were putting a lot of stock in our day trip with Jamal. He exceeded our expectations in every way, giving us an incredibly insightful, enjoyable, authentic and beautiful day. Jamal's knowledge and heartfelt respect for (and from) the local people was a treasure. He uses his knowledge and skills not only to teach us travelers about the local culture, but to ensure a fair and fruitful experience for the locals with whom we interacted. Their hospitality was humbling, and their company was very enjoyable. Our day trip, the 'moderate walking' option, had adventure, good laughs, 'wow' moments, great food and company and was a delight throughout. We often felt like we were walking through a National Geographic photo shoot! We really can't recommend this highly enough, Jamal's Berber Travel Adventures should be in the top 3 Things To Do while in Marrakech - it was certainly the highlight of an already exhilarating stay in Morocco! We will treasure our experience for the rest of our lives.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent in every way:
•The website is accurate, reliable, and a helpful guide as to what to expect.
•They are most responsive to email inquiries. By email they clarified every aspect of our tour. One of our party was a vegetarian, and they arranged to accommodate her. In the midst of our stay in Marrakech we asked if we could change our itinerary, and they responded immediately and positively.
•Jamal is as described in the other reviews: knowledgeable, friendly, reliable, an excellent communicator, sets a good pace, and interesting to talk with about many matters outside the tour itinerary. He grew up and lives in the area.
•We did both the moderate full-day walk and the half-day market tour. For the former, the scenery was striking and the "cultural experience" is remarkable. One visits villages to which electricity has come only a few years ago, for example.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newick, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Berber Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I agree with previous reviews.
Words cannot describe how good this day out was.
The three of us-20 year old daughter and 2 -50 something's loved everything about this day.
From the stunning views to the kindness and generosity of the people we met and the delicious food we ate-it really was a trip to remember.
Our only concern was that we didn't allow more time to do a longer trek and spend more time in the mountains.
So much more relaxing and informative than hours in Marrakech being constantly hassled and annoyed.
Many thanks to Jamal and. Noureddine for giving us such a wonderful experience.
Our taxi driver was also very informative and friendly.

Kristine. Brian and Stephanie. UK.
December 16 2012

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turi, Italy
1 review
“Authentic Interactions with Local Culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I did the 2 day/1 night excursion, and it was the best part of our trip to Morocco. Just as their websites states, the main purpose of the trip is to experience the beauty of the mountains and the people who live there. We appreciated that the tour didn't feel fake. That is, the families didn't put on a show for us or stop their daily life. They were very welcoming and shared delicious food with us, but it was clear they were being authentic. They did their daily chores, like cleaning, washing clothes, and cooking, but they allowed us to look in on their life. It was amazing to experience a culture that has existed for so long.
The walking was very moderate- no more than 5 hours/day and with lots of breaks to take pictures or just enjoy the scenery. There is a donkey available to carry your stuff (or you, if you get tired!).
We want to emphasize how unique this tour was. We had another excursion through a different tour company, and it seemed like all they wanted was to sell us products from their friends. On the other hand, Berber Travel Adventures excursions offer a chance to see a truly beautiful land and its people.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berber Travel Adventures also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Amizmiz, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Berber Travel Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berber Travel Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.