We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwel an Mor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portreath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwel an Mor
Save
You added Gwel an Mor to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Break away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've just had a long weekend break in a Tregeur VIP lodge and we will most certainly go again. The lodge itself was spotless and superbly equipped. Many additional special 'touches' were given too, dressing gowns, bottle of wine awaiting in the fridge, some tea,coffee & sugar supplies, even though self catering. Hot tub was bliss, furnishings were lovely, view was splendid, walks in the area are interesting (though very hilly). We didn't want to participate in anything as we were there for a chill out time together - and we feel it was absolutely superb surroundings in which to do that - thank you Gwel an Mor. Although there was not an abundance of kids around - what a splendid location this would be for an adults only!!

Room Tip: go for the VIP lodges - you get the best view overlooking the sea......and the fluffy dressing gowns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Bonjour,

Merci Beaucoup.

Lovely write up, and from our French friends who are fussy (we do have a french General Manager, Head Chef and Head Gardener - So I can talk from experience) It means a lot, and thank you.

Of course all our lodges have sea views, unless its foggy - yes we did have complaint once that they could not see the sea..... until the fog cleared!

Thank you, and please come back soon.

Bon Chance

Guillaum'e Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    57
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
231
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Gwen an Mor is a terrific holiday especially for those with children. The lodges are extremely well appointed with games for the children and clean and very comfortable furnishings the little added extras like the card, wine and choclates on arrival are a lovely bonus. The views from the upper floors where the living accommodation is are lovely especially at sunset. The restaurant on site is very good quality and again very good for children who are given colouring pencils, stickers etc. to keep them entertained if necessary. There is a very good children’s menu with a variety of healthy and child friendly meals. There are lots of activities to enjoy as a family from the wildlife tours/walks, to the bike hire, spa and swimming pool. On a sunny day this place is magic but can be cold even in the spring. Last Easter they put on some lovely activities for the children including an Easter egg hunt, a magic show and a chance to meet a reindeer and some little spring chicks. It is quite expensive but you do get wheat you pay for and it certainly is good value for money. You can look out for special offers which ease the burden on your bank balance somewhat I have no hesitation in recommending this place to those who want to have a little bit of luxury and a fun family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Morph?

We love Easter to, and our regular Easter egg hunts are always a brilliant event, the Easter Bunny loves to visit!

Sounds like you had a great holiday with us, just what we want to here, everyone here lives to here comments like yours, and always try their hardest for all our guests.

And you got the sunshine!! there are great cycle routes from Gwel an Mor as well, and our own bikes are as good as it gets, Tennis and walking, and of course the Beach are all great features heres......... Sounds like you tried everything!!!

Please come back soon!!

Best

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Its a little late in writing this review but we had such an amazing time we didn't want to leave it. Situated on wonderfully dramatic coastline with an amazing beach and breathtaking views on the hillside. We stayed in a Tregea VIP lodge complete with 2 seater hot tub, wood burner in the sitting room and fully functional kitchen. The bedrooms where immaculate and the lodge had been well kept. The hot tub could probably fit more people in it if you sat on the edge but to be fully emerged you could only fit 2 people in comfortably... not a problem as the 4 of us all took turns. It was amazing to sit outside with a glass of wine and enjoy the hot tub on a cold starlit night and was just as relaxing in the mornings, it didn't matter! The woodburner was fully stocked with a large pile of logs, firelighters and kindling. There was a complementary bottle of wine in the fridge, a welcome card and a daffodil in a jar on the table on arrival - all nice touches. The on site facilities couldn't have been better. Pool, sauna, steam room all well kept and clean. The restaurant was really nice, friendly accommodating staff and quite exquisite food all at a reasonable price. It was our sons Birthday and they helped in arranging to bring a cake out with candles on and cut it up for our little party. We would highly recommend the guided nature tours and wildlife activities at Feadon Farm; informative walk through nature followed by falconry and feeding foxes (totally unexpected and unbelievable) we would do this again any time. We enjoyed the whole experience so much we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Jon and Lou,

You can come back again anytime!! glad you had such a great trip, and again enjoyed our wildlife and farm in particular, it is one of the great things we do here.

Great comments on the restaurant as well, I will pass this on to the team there, and really pleased the birthday party celebrations went so well.

Thanks again,

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed over the very cold and windy easter week . We had a three bed deluxe lodge with wood burner ( we needed it ) and fab hot tub ( which was well used despite the weather )
The accommodation was very comfortable indeed . Extras were provided ( extra loo rolls , kitchen roll ,washing up,liquid and scrubbers and even dish wash tabs ) the level of attention to detail was very good indeed, with some great little treats for children and adults too . All staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly which was consistent through out our stay . The children enjoyed the wildlife experience immensely. It's so informative and Gary and his staff really bring British wildlife to life for all ages . We made use of the pool and gym facilities which were all clean and well maintained . We all really enjoyed our stay . It's a beautiful location and I would definitely like to return . I can highly recommend this for a family break .

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the lodges with the hot tub . Will worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Joanne,

Great write up, thanks for this, our wildlife work is amazing and its always great to hear how much our guests love this part of the work we do here.

We try to offer everyone something at Gwel an Mor, so you can have a romantic break or a great family holiday, so to hear that you and your family would recommend Gwel an Mor to anyone is brilliant, thank you.

See you soon hopefully,

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I came here for a few nights in early March and had a great time. The chalet was great, my chalet had a hot tub and log fire - the hot tub was divine, but I didn't light the fire - it wasn't really cold enough. Very friendly staff, a really nice massage in the spa, but the very best thing of all was the wildlife tour with the brilliant Gary.
He lives and breathes local wildlife. Meeting his hand-reared foxes, owls, grass snake, etc was really fun, but even more enjoyable, I thought, was the walk through Gwel an Mor's woodland and grassland, with Gary drawing out attention to all of the things I'd never have taken the time to learn and notice. Badger tracks, edible plants, vole nests, squirrel drays, all sorts of birds, and each thing came with really interesting history and background knowledge - so impressed.

Room Tip: The top price chalets have the hot tubs and fires, but otherwise are mostly the same as the others.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hannah,

Gary our wild life manager will have n even bigger head!! but yes he is really good, I still learn something more about nature every time I see him! Glad you had a great time, I will pass on your comments to our Spa team as well, hope to see you back with us soon.

Bill Haslam
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Overall we all had a good break.

Good;-
Charlotte in the spa was excellent.
The welcome food was very good.
The beds were comfortable.
Daily maid service was very thorough.
Welcome desk/arrival and check out very good.
The girls enjoyed the falconry.


Things for the team to think about:-
The kitchen area is very dark - could do with more lighting.
Check out time is too early at 10am. Unable to find out check out time from website.
Floors very creaky and sound insulation was very bad - if someone went to bed earlier than others you could hear the TV and chat and moving around.
One of the bedrooms did not have a heater and we could get upstairs to "tropical" but downstairs was barely in double figures. I am sure most times this is not an issue but as it was 2C and blowing a gale, we wanted to warm up after being out all day.
There was no gas BBQ as described.
A couple of items were not clear on website:- only parking space for one car, as they sleep 6 would have liked to know in advance. There was a filter coffee maker in the kitchen, if we knew we would have taken filter coffee.
Someone must have taken a dog in to our lodge before us. The single chair smelled bad of wet dog and two of us got flea bites. I know this is not policy but....
Could have done with a footstool as per the picture.
The 6 speed bumps to get in and out are the harshest in the world - at 1 MPH it is a trauma.
Signs in toilet to not flush sanitary products, but no waste bags were provided.
Could have done with some tissues in the room.
We would have hired the cycles but the area is sooo hilly we didn't. If you do want to do this, take a cycle rack for the car.
We could not get the log fire going - our fault entirely but a lesson would have been nice for us central heating types.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
This is an interesting write up?

Thank you for the positives firstly, I will pass on your comments to Charlotte in the Spa, and the other positive comments about your arrival and reception, thats great to hear.

Turning to some of your negatives, there is a heater in every bedroom of course, and we have checked your lodge, and it is still there? they are simple heaters, and surely if you had any issues like this, and noting how positive and friendly your experience of reception was...... why wouldn't you have asked us about this during your stay?

Check out time in our industry is pretty much standard at 10am, it is provided in a letter you get two days before departure, our lodges take 6 man hours to clean for the next arrivals. If you had asked us, and we can help we will often let people stay an extra hour or two if we can. But this was Easter and we were/are full.

We do not feel that we need to mention check out on arrival as we feel the minute you arrive we should not be telling you about leaving? In seven years and thousands of guests, I can only think of a handful of times this has ever been an issue?

We are still in winter mode (sadly) so the gas BBQ had not been put out on your decking yet, we are by the sea and rust is a real issue, but again you only had to ask and we would have gladly got the BBQ out for you, nothing like a BBQ in minus 2 degrees! but if thats what you wanted we would be glad to deliver! this fact is mentioned in the news letter given on arrival.

The log fire works well in the wind, you just have to turn down the exhaust valve a little, again there are only two control levers on the fires, one at the top and one at the bottom (in and out) and this is the first time in 7 years anyone has said the wind is a problem? again why wouldn't you ask, and we could have helped?

Cycle Hire.... this is brilliant!!! we are connected to 26 miles of cycle routes, we are at the top of a hill, so if you go one way, then yes its a hill, good fun going down, but hard work going back? of course if you look the other way.... you can cycle the fairly flat 26 miles of other routes!!!! and 300 acres of Tehidy country park two minutes away.... all pretty flat!

We have even written a whole brochure especially for our guests clearly displayed in reception with 7 cycle routes on it, all with instruction and descriptions as to difficulty levels of each route?

Your comment in regard to the chair? if this is the case just call us? thats why we are there, although we do not believe the chair smells (we have checked), if you as our customer felt it did we would have just changed it without question.

I expect you can detect I am exacerbated, not one of the negative comments could not have been rectified in minutes if you had dialled reception from the phone in your lodge?

We are not perfect, we do make mistakes, we employ humans and just occasionally we get things wrong, the difference at Gwel an Mor is that when we do get it wrong, we move heaven and earth, and as quickly as possible to put things right, and to help our guests right through their visit.

But we have to be given the opportunity to do so?

So to get a write up with these negatives after you have departed annoys the hell out of me! If you hire a car and the lights don't work would you wait for a week till you took it back?

Lets hope you return, and please give us the opportunity to point all of these things out to you so next time you have a perfect stay with us, this is always our aim.

Glad you had a "good Easter Break"

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were a bit worried about returning for a second visit in case it wasn't as good as the first time, however we were not disappointed. The lodge was lovely, spotlessly clean and well equipped and the hot tub was a special treat!.
We used the pool and the restaurant - both were really good. We did the 'meet the animals' session with Alyson and it was fantastic - the highlight of the holiday for all of us (not just our 5 year old!).
Whilst there we went to see the seals at Godrevy which was amazing to see and also went to St Michaels Mount, which was a really nice day out.
When reading the guest book in the lodge we realised that we were actually in a 'dog friendly' villa, which although wasn't an issue for us and we certainly would not have known if it wasn't for previous guests comments, we were surprised we didn't know this beforehand in case of any allergies. We do sometimes holiday with my parents who do have pet allergies and therefore this may have been an issue. Just to reiterate though - the cleanliness of the lodge on arrival was great (probably one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwelanmor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Always enjoy hearing from our returning guests that they are not disappointed and in most cases think we are improving with age!! this is of course always our aim.

St Michaels Mount is a great day out, and well worth the visit, and the Seals at Godrevy Beach are amazing to observe, as is the Beach itself which must be one of the best beaches in the world?

Your comments on dog lodges? please let me assure you, we do have specific dog friendly lodges, occasionally we will let other lodges take dogs as well, or guests have been known to turn up with a dog, omitting to tell us, but before we allow these lodges to be rented to guests without pets they go through a "Deep Clean" process.

We have done this now for several years and have never had an issue, if we do have a guest who is hypoallergenic, they normally tell us this on booking and we will ensure they are placed in a lodge that have never had pets in.

Thanks again for your positive comments.

Bill Haslam
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwel an Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Address: Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Portreath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwel an Mor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.