We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Inn

The Waterfront Inn
Forth an Nance, Portreath | Portreath, Portreath TR16 4NQ, England
01209 842777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 Restaurants in Portreath
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Waterfront Inn sits on a secret beach in Portreath, Traditional English pub and restaurant specialising in local fresh fish.
Porthtowan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My son took me there for a Mother's day treat as he enjoyed the carvery there on a previous occassion. I wish we had stayed at home. Leg of pork slices, so tough you could sole your shoes with it. No crackling - owner claimed they did not have the oven facility and 'it all costs money'. I have to say that the roast potatoes were very good and the carrot, peas and greens passable. When we went up to the counter to see what the carvery was offering we were told to go and sit down until our table was called up. I would have to be starving to go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    9
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Helen and Clem do the best carvery in the locality. Go and try it it really is first class. Great hosts and great food

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thanks Helen and Clem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Thanks for yet another scrumptious carvery. 20+ of us from the Portreath Harbour Association had our Christmas Meal at the Waterfront last evening and as usual the meal was delicious! Your carvery is second to none in my opinion!! Won't want to eat anything much today!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Crab Sandwiches I've ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Portreath is not one of the most picturesque village in cornwall but it is worth a visit just to sample a crab sandwich in the Waterfront Inn. The best crab sandwich I've ever had, huge chunks of crab, caught from a fishing boat visible from the pub window with just the right amount of mayonaise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The staff here were very friendly but the pub/restaurant itself lacked atmosphere and I was disappointed with the food and ale selection. Traditional fish, chips and mushy peas looked ok, but the Megrim sole was a little dry. Much preferred the Basset Arms.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontPortreath, Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I wonder if you have mistakenly reviewed the wrong place as The Waterfront Inn has four real ales on all the time at the time of your review these were Skinners Knocker, Sharps Doombar, Wells Bombardier and Courage Best we also carry 3 draught ciders, 2 largers, Guiness and John Smiths. I note that you like anywhere that serves Doom and anywhere that serves doom goes up in your estimation,I think you must have been somewhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Inn also viewed

 
Portreath, Cornwall
 

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.