We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Paulita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Paulita to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Paulita
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Pons i Gasch 15, E-17520 Puigcerda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Puigcerda
Tipp
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little bit disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in August - the location itself is great within a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the beautiful Puigcerda town. We don't normally stay in 5 star hotels however on this occasion deceided to treat ourselves as the prices for the three star hotels in the area were only 40 euro cheaper and some didn't include breakfast - there were no 4 stars in the town. The hotel itself looks great from the outside and the reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke perfect english. After paying our 160 for our room including taxes we were informed that they could throw in the parking for an additional 10 euro. We declined this on principal - we felt it should have been included in the price. On arrival to our room however we were somewhat dissappointed. The bathroom had a lovely big bath and beautiful toiletries however the room itself was quite small and not all that special. We visited the spa and were looking forward to lounging in the jaccuzzi after a long trip over the mountains on a motormike however the water was absolutely freezing. The pool was also really small. Overall it is a nice hotel however I have to say I've stayed in 3 and 4 star places in France which were a lot nicer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    72
    37
    16
    3
See reviews for
30
117
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

We were fortunate enough to stumble upon this place when our drive into Andorra was blocked by snow. It's a fantastic hotel set in a beautiful location. Staff were very helpful to accommodate us at short notice and even helped to unpack our car. Our room was quite small but furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Did not get chance to try the spa facilities but other guests were very impressed. Will certainly be revisiting to spend more time there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

What a great hotel. Superb rooms and absolutely first class service. It's in a great location and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Liked — modern, clean and first class
  • Disliked — prices in the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

The drive was insane but when we finally reached this lovely spot it was near perfect. The hotel looks exactly like the photos. It is exceptionally clean, wonderfully charming yet modern and the restaurant was fantastic. We came from Costa Brava (don`t repeat our error) and the drive through the mountains was tough. The week prior we were in Barcelona and what a fabuous retreat Puigcerda is from the hustle, bustle and thousands of tourists in the big city. The drive from Barcelona is only 90 minutes.
I would rate this property as a 41/2 star and we are pretty darn picky. What a disservice, hotels.com is providing its customers to rate this property a 2 star. Clearly they have never been near the Hotel Paulita. We would upgrade the rating to a five star with two minor adjustments, a little more English speaking service and a caulk touch up in the bath tub.
The town was also very charming.

  • Liked — beautiful, charming and very clean
  • Disliked — difficult communicating with concierge. Language barrier and no hiking experience
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Paulita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paulita

Address: Av Pons i Gasch 15, E-17520 Puigcerda, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Puigcerda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Puigcerda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Paulita 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a family-owned summer residence, Hospes Villa Paulita has been transformed into a relaxing getaway located in the heart of Puigcerdà, on the shores of its emblematic lake and surrounded by the Schierbeck Park. The hotel combines nature with nurture in three elegant buildings of 38 rooms: An original 19Th century villa complete with French neo-classical elements and two newly built annexes. The effect is an artful composition of historic and contemporary design, a creative reflection of imagination, and an authentic look to the city of Puigcerdà. The best cuisine in Cerdanya can be enjoyed at the Senzone L’Estany, the hotel’s gourmet restaurant with the best views to the lake; which offers a variety of local dishes, a balanced cuisine between sophistication and tradition. And don’t forget the Bodyna Spa, an experience of pure revitalization for body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Paulita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Hotel Paulita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Paulita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.