We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge but needs improved hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Takatu Lodge & Vineyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Takatu Lodge & Vineyard to your Saves list
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   518 Whitmore Road, Matakana 0948, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Matakana B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge but needs improved hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Gorgeous place with fabulous views and excellent rooms but needs a bit more TLC as partbofvthe experience. Arrived after a long drive and asked for a cold drink - ice tea or the like and was offered either cold tap water or to buy a bottle of wine. Dinner had been arranged at the lodge (didn't want another drive shirt or not after the king drive) and was encouraged to go out and try I e if the towns excellent restaurants. Didn't go out but felt some pressure to do so. Dinner was simo,e but fine.

Their wines were superb drank and bought some home

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are pleased you found our wines superb and loved the suites where we put an emphasis on attention to detail.
I'm sorry we were unable to offer you iced tea upon arrival. We care very much and take pride in our service, how we look after all our guests and comments from other guests who have stayed here reflect this. In each suite we offer complimentary chilled local organic blueberry juice, an assortment of herbal & fruit teas, carafes of chilled filtered rainwater with citrus and herbs, freshly ground coffee and homemade cookies. We are very happy to serve drinks when requested in the main area and would have been more than happy to do so. We most likely offered a carafe of iced water served with lemon & ginger as an alternative as we had no ice tea freshly made. We only have 4 luxury suites and prefer to make everything fresh on-premise rather than processed. If you choose to visit in the future we'll make sure iced tea is available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The lodge is situated in a beautiful location and the orientation of our room meant that we had complete privacy and an uninterrupted view across the vineyard towards to the coast. Our hosts, Heather and John, were friendly and helpful and really understand what their clientele expects of luxury accommodation. Our room was cleverly and stylishly designed so that our every need had been addressed. The platter, served in our room, was perfectly conceived and executed as were the delicious breakfasts (thanks Barb). Overall a wonderful way to start our very first visit to New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello Lynda
Thank you for your lovely positive response, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Takatu, and in particular the platter and Barb's breakfasts.
We're also pleased you had a great stay in NZ and hopefully you'll be back to enjoy our hospitality again.
Best wishes
Heather & Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our stay at Takatu Lodge is extremely difficult to express in words, but I will try… From the moment you see the property, to entering the driveway followed by the grand entrance into the main house you know it’s gonna be fabulous and luxurious. We were just 2 girls up from Auckland for the weekend to see six sixty perform which happened to be within walking distance (thou we didn’t walk) and wanted some where magnificent and relaxing to stay. If you want lovely friendly hosts (John and Heather), beautiful surroundings, exquisite furnishings throughout, complimentary items found in your room such as (Takatu wine, home baked cookies, handmade chocolates, box of thoughtful items needed just case you need to sew on a button, triple filtered water) and a whole lot more, an amazing home cooked breakfast, breathe taking views, stunning star gazing in the evening (yes you can see the stars on a clear night)…. TAKATU is the place to stay and worth every cent… I will be back in 2013 to enjoy the surroundings once again… Thank you John and Heather for being you and for such an unforgettable stay. Regards and best wishes…….Allison and Alexis

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Allison and Alexis
Thank you for your very positive response. It's always great to hear we're on track and giving the best service and accommodation possible. It's extra heartening when guests such as yourselves appreciate the extra touches and added values.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and hopefully live up to our reputation!
Kind wishes
Heather & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in December. This is a first rate property. There is nothing you could fault in the room. It included touches that you don't find in 5 star resorts. The view over the vineyards is wonderful and peaceful. Heather and John are discreet and welcoming and are generous with their local advice when asked. Breakfast is customised to your tastes and appetite. Would highly recommend - and - we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello there
Thank you for your positive review after staying at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard. It is great to hear you had such a lovely stay as we take great pride in offering the best possible service. We are particularly pleased you appreciated our attention to detail, the little extra indulgences that portray you, as all our guests, are important to us.
Best wishes
Heather Forsman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and i shared a wonderful 3 nights at Takatu Lodge. The units were beautifully appointed and immaculately presented with all the fine details expected of a 5 star residence.
The Breakfasts and supper platters were delicious and generous.
Heather and John were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend anyone looking for a special getaway to consider Takatu. We will be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Graeme
Please excuse my delayed response and we hope you had a lovely family Xmas and New Year.
Thank you for your positive review after staying at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard. It is great to hear you had such a lovely 3 day stay and particularly pleased you appreciated our attention to detail, our supper platter and the little extra indulgences that let you know you are important to us...and we look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Best wishes
Heather & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I only dropped in for a brief overnight stop as we were touring. Despite being delayed prior to arrival, we were directed to a great local restaurant and John waited up for us! Heather has done a fantastic job equipping the rooms with every creature comfort. The weather wasn't the best but the vineyard setting really enjoyable. The breakfast was memorable with fresh ingredients prepared by Barbara to a really high standard. A fantastic experience.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive response and so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, albeit brief. We realise the importance of ensuring guests are well looked after when travelling and spending a limited time in each area - that you receive the best welcome, service and are made to feel as comfortable as possible.
Kind Regards
Heather Forsman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had spent a day at Takatu lodge and really enjoyed the peaceful place, John makes excellent Rose wine the taste was impressive, Heather and Barbara's cooking was memorable. Beautiful place all around Matakana also. Hope will be back some days and will see you guys again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takatu1, Owner at Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello Mike

Thank you for your positive feedback after staying at Takatu Lodge and we hope you'll be able to return again when next visiting NZ.

Feedback is important to us so we are able to offer the best possible stay for all our guests.

Kind Regards
Heather & John Forsman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Takatu Lodge & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takatu Lodge & Vineyard

Address: 518 Whitmore Road, Matakana 0948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Takatu Lodge & Vineyard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the beautiful Takatu Peninsula, this award-winning 5 Star lodge & vineyard is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean and magnificent beaches. Takatu Lodge's contemporary design incorporates walls of glass to capture stunning views of the vineyard, mountains & sea beyond. The luxurious suites are designed for ultimate privacy and comfort. A sumptuous breakfast with a "slow food" approach and 'A Gift for Every is included: 1st night: A bottle of Takatu’s award winning Bordeaux style Kawau Bay 2007 2nd night: Two tickets to the local Brick Bay Sculpture Trail – explore & view the best renowned NZ sculptors works, exhibited in a natural bush setting. 3rd night: Hosted by the owners, experience a complimentary wine tasting of one of their award-winning wines, accompanied by an antipasti dish for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Takatu Lodge & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takatu Lodge & Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.