We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plume Restaurant

Plume Restaurant
49A Sharp Rd, Matakana 0982, New Zealand
09 422 7915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Matakana
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vineyard restaurant...a beautiful rural vineyard valley restaurant surrounded by glens and dales with a rustic envioronment. Not fine dining as a big city but fine dining all the same.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Absolutely fantastic place. Came here to celebrate our engagement and the food, service and views were fantastic. Had a wine tasting earlier and got a nice bottle to take home at the same time. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    53
    29
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at Plume”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose to have our Wedding at Plume for both the ceremony and reception. Overall we had an amazing experience, and feel confident that we chose the right place for such a special day.
During the run up to our wedding we found the Manager very helpful. She was easy to contact and responded quickly via email to all our questions and queries. The Manager was also on hand during the night to assist with anything and make sure it all ran smoothly.
For our wedding as we had use of the whole place. The venue was easy to decorate as it is nicely presented and the Manager was open to any requests we had about moving pictures or furniture. The space was also well allocated for our sit-down meal, with plenty of room for dancing in a way that people not dancing could still watch and feel included.
Our wedding ceremony was planned to be outside but unfortunately we had the stormiest day of the summer with plenty of rain. Therefore it was held on the covered patio outside. This was a big benefit to us as it meant that we didn’t have to stress about the weather at all.
Staff were professional and friendly on the day and endeavoured to do their best to cope with queries and lots of merry guests. They were very efficient at serving our meals and clearing plates between courses, which was important to us and kept everything running on time.
I would recommend if you choose to use your own music and personal music device that you have a good run through the sound system with the Service Manager before the big day.
The cost of venue hire was reasonable when comparing with other similar venues. We thought the food and wine was at the higher end of what we wanted to pay but worth it.
Overwhelmingly the food came out as one of our favourite things about the whole experience –our guests cannot stop telling us how good it was. We had chosen Lamb and Fish of the Day as our mains and both were really good in terms of amount and taste. The wine was also not far behind.
I would definitely recommend Plume as a wedding venue or for any special occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plume Cafe - Great food, bad coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Amazing food, amazing service - very weird tasting coffee (I have no idea what type of beans they use).

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food was fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a very nice meal, the duck leg and pancakes were yummy! Platter to share was also very nice.
Service let it down a little, staff ranged from professional to very abrupt.
We sat outside and the setting was stunning however I ended up 3 times with drowning flies in my wine, to which the waitress was very unhappy abt replacing.
Gorgeous setting though, fairly pricey but food great.
Worth a visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had lunch here And the service was wonderful, the food was delicious and the wine was exquisite! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume Restaurant also viewed

Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Plume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plume Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.