We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to truly unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matakana Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matakana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matakana Castle
Save
You added Matakana Castle to your Saves list
378 Whitmore Rd., Matakana, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place to truly unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a night in the Tower Room and only wish it had been longer! The room was beautifully prepared for our arrival with fresh flowers, complimentary chocolates and biscuits, was absolutely immaculate and had the most stunning views over the hills down to the sea. Our plan had been to explore the surrounding area, but the sun loungers on our own private roof terrace prooved too tempting.... Natalie prepared a lovely cheeseboard with wine at 5pm served in the stylish lounge with a roaring fire adding to the welcoming atmosphere. The lounge is shared between the three guest rooms but as the only guests there, we sat reading magazines a listening to music, all provided for the guests enjoyment.
Breakfast the next morning was truly delicious - freshly prepared fruit, cereals, juices, tea or coffee and the most amazing French Toast with homemade blueberry preserve. We didn't eat again until dinner!!
Natalie and John were fabulous hosts, and had thought of everything we'd hoped for for our little getaway. All the little touches made us feel very spoilt and we had such a wonderfully relaxing time - it's hard not to when the surroundings are so peaceful.
For a romantic getaway or with friends, Matakana Castle is a real gem and we would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thankyou for that fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and it is really appreciated when people take the time to write a review for us. The most rewarding part of running a bed and breakfast is getting feedback like this. Hopefully we will see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of spending our 2 year anniversary at Matakana Castle. On arriving were amazed at the beauty of the place. The Tower suite was private, spacious, and had great views across farmland to the local beach.

Highlights include the complimentary morning breakfast with fresh fruits, cereals, and amazing french toast. John and Natalie were lovely hosts, and we had a great time exploring the local beaches; Leigh, Pakiri, Omaha, Tawaharnui all within a short drive.

We had a truely lovely stay and will recommend this to all our friends. It was an amazing getaway. Simply the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your review, we are really glad that you enjoyed it. Hopefully we will see you again for your third anniversary when hopefully you can spend some more time in this fantastic area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife & I were enchanted with our stay at Matakana Castle. Natalie & John are gracious hosts & the home is stunning. The attention to detail is excellent & the view is from a story book.
We highly recommend Matakana Castle & we will return ourselves. Chuck & Mariska

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A truly beautiful place to stay with a tranquil atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and luxurious with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside and down to the sea. Everything is spotlessly clean and the guest sitting room is comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast is included in the price. Expect a breakfast with a difference. No regular fry-up here but delicious sophisticated food. This was a real treat.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

On the evening of our wedding my new husband surprised me with the most amazing accommodation at Matakana Castle.
On entering the Tower Suite it was truly magical with scented candles lit and local chocolates waiting for us! The suite was immaculately furnished and spacious.
Our first morning as newly weds couldn't have been more perfect with the most spectacular views and the most fresh lavish breakfast in our room....bagels, smoked salmon and cream cheese,cereal, fresh fruit salad and fresh orange juice and coffee. We could not ask for more and beautifully presented and it was perfect!!!
Natalie our host was so welcoming and the personal touches were hugely appreciated.
Matakana Castle is simply the best accommodation I have stayed in and extra special being where we stayed the night of our wedding. I hope to return in the not too distant future.

Davinia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Matakana Castle and immediately wished we could have stayed longer. A lovely family home with breathtaking views of coast and countryside. John & Natalie are excellent hosts who have an eye for detail that you wouldn't get in many other accommodations. Biscuits and chocolates in a large comfortable room with proper sized shower gel & shampoo, padded coat hangers and well chosen soft furnishings. The superb breakfast was very well prepared and presented with different food on both mornings set in a beautiful dining/living room with views to the sea. We absolutely loved this place and would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to the Matakana area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The accommodation at Matakana Castle is exceptional. The bedroom is furnished beautifully and the complimentary chocolates and cookies are a special treat. The hosts, John and Natalie are welcoming and the hospitality that they provide is outstanding. We stayed three nights and with a different delicious breakfast prepared each morning we were set up for each day's exploring. There is so much to see around the coast of Matakana and with great Regional Parks close by we were able to get out and enjoy some of the coastal and native bush walks. We enjoyed visiting the Matakana Famers Market on Saturday morning and also having dinner at the Matakana Market Kitchen. Nibbles and a glass of local wine at 5pm was a bonus and a chance to catch up on the days activities with our hosts and another couple who stayed. We can highly recommend Matakana Castle as a place to stay for a relaxing weekend in a beautiful part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matakana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Castle

Address: 378 Whitmore Rd., Matakana, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matakana Castle is luxury bed and breakfast accommodation set in 3.5 acres of rural splendor with magnificent sea views over Kawau Bay from every room. Three luxurious rooms all with en-suite bathrooms. The Tower Suite is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion whether it be your honeymoon night or you just feel like spoiling yourself. Enjoy our 2 course gourmet breakfast which is included in the price. Enjoy a glass of wine in front of the roaring log fire whilst enjoying the breathtaking views. Complimentary wine and hors oeuvres are included in the price as well as sweet treats in each room and fresh flowers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matakana Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.