We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Matakana to your Saves list
Riverside Matakana
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   170 Green Rd, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Riverside Matakana Is simply a Hidden Gem!!
Quiet surroundings located on beautiful grounds...
I had the pleasure of staying here recently for our work conference
The hosts were outstanding and the food was amazing and they cater for Gluten Free which is a bonus.
It was like staying at your friends place

Room Tip: If you are into Tennis or Swimming then ask for to be located close to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
43
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and seven year old daughter stayed in one of the lovely 'Bach-es' (pronounced 'Batch' - we now know that's kiwi for holiday villa) over a long weekend. The Bach itself was very stylish - clean, simple decor but high quality fittings and furnishings. Nice touches like great local artwork throughout, (prints, pottery, cushion covers), and lovely wine glasses and platters for the local produce that we bought at the wonderful Matakana Market on Saturday morning. We enjoyed a hit of tennis (they even had a child-sized tennis racquet - in pink for our daughter) and a lovely swim in the heated pool. Michael and Kelvin could not have been more helpful and gave us lots of tips on child-friendly places we could go. Very much enjoyed their recommendation of Brick Bay winery and sculpture trail - great for mum, dad and the child.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The accommodation was excellent and the hosts were fabulous. Our unit was completely self contained and was very comfortable. The views were great and the "feel" of the units was light, airy and very kiwi.

Matakana is a lovely area with lots of vineyards and things to see and do. The farmers market in town on a Saturday morning was fabulous and there are some great eating and drinking places.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderfuilly positive review of Riverside Matakana. We are wrapped you enjoyed your stay and that you had fun out and about in the region
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had our company Xmas party at Riverside and the entire experience was fantastic. There were 23 adults and six children (babies, toddlers and older kids) staying overnight in the beautiful, well appointed baches. Because of the layout of the property, we were all able to be accommodated according to our situations - families with kids in one area, couples and singles in another. We brought our own meat and had three BBQ's going at once (each bach has a BBQ). The salads and dessert were provided by one of the Michaels and his lovely assistant, having been asked to do this with not even 24hrs notice! Delicious, sumptuous and brought to us with a beaming smile. Our super friendly hosts, The Michaels and Kelvin stayed on and had dinner with us and then let us nurse our hangovers the next day with an extremely late checkout.

Our company has used Riverside on other occasions for individual accommodation, with the same quality of service and high standard of facilities. Whether for group bookings or otherwise, this is the best choice in Matakana.

Room Tip: For group or family bookings with kids, the bottom baches may not have the views but are closest (2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideMatakana, Owner at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Many, Many thanks for the appreciation, we loved having your group here. This is definitely what we do this for and it was a joy to see everyone enjoying the property, the pool, fishing followed by lots of eating, being merry and singing.

It was a treat to join you for your special night with your team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

PROS:
- Michael at front desk was extremely friendly and helpful.
- Picturesque countryside views from private balcony.
- Self contained accommodation is perfect for bringing Matakana gourmet food & wine back for meals.

CONS:
- None!

Room Tip: Villa 1 is positioned high up on the high. Has great views and privacy, is a walk down to the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideMatakana, Owner at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
What more can we say? Thanks for the post, we are estatic that you enjoyed your time at Riverside Matakana...look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We held a three-day, two-night meeting at Riverside with 15 people attending. The hospitality was excellent as were the conference facilities and catering - the fudge brownies were a highlight. The bach-style apartments are well provisioned, with a plunger and coffee ready in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed only 1 night - Michael on the front desk was super-friendly and quickly gave us all the info required to make our stay enjoyable. The unit was spotless, spacious and had everything you could need for a stay. Good location, quiet and only a 5 minute drive to Matakana village.

It was a shame we could only stay 1-night as Riverside would be excellent for a weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Address: 170 Green Rd, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverside Matakana 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2014 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantice escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is nopw a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technolgy installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Matakana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.