We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top restaurant in Munich area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Poseidon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant Poseidon
Freisinger Landstrasse 3, 85748 Garching bei Munchen, Bavaria, Germany
089 3206527
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top restaurant in Munich area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I live in Munich, I have gone to many restaurants, and it is fair to say that this is one of the best restaurants, not only in Garching but also in the entire Munich area.

The service is friendly and fast, quality of meat and ingredients in general far above average, and the price is astonishing low for such a quality of food and service, specially for a restaurant in Munich.

They are specially good with grilled meat, I recommend Grilled Chicken Breast with cheese cover, and the famous 'Bifteki'.

They also have nice details like complementary drink shoots at the beginning and at the end, and complementary deserts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    10
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited a friend in Garching and went to Poseidon last saturday. The restaurant was fully booked but we got a table within 10 minutes. An ouzo on the house to start with was a nice touch. We had a mix of cold starters to share and Ihad lamb cuts for main. Really well cooked and the staff made sure that we had a good time. Before leaving we was offered a small dessert and a Metaxa-shot for free.

I really recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Greek local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice cozy restaurant, efficient waiters, and the food is ok, but did not blow my mind away neither. So I am not sure if we will come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We wewre there with family and friends on the 8-2-13 for dinner. It was better than I expected. Good food, warm welcome, attentive staff and great atmosphere. My grumpy Son immidietly warmed up to the occassion once we were in. I'm looking forward to going there again in the summer . Fully recomended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in the heart of Garching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

While attending a conference at the Forschungszentrum Garching I had an opportunity to try several local restaurants. Poseidon was clearly my favorite. The menu offers the standard greek dishes but I consider this a plus - everything I tried was delicious. Friendly staff and how nice is it to start dinner with an ouzo on the house. I plan to come back the next time I visit Garching.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Poseidon also viewed

Garching bei Munchen, Upper Bavaria
Garching bei Munchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garching bei Munchen, Upper Bavaria
Garching bei Munchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Restaurant Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.