We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Red Lion...THE Red Lion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn
Balkerach Street, Doune, Stirling FK166DF, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Doune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not A Red Lion...THE Red Lion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Deceptively large, the Red Lion Inn sports a number of rooms that have been recently renovated to a very good standard. The beds and rooms were comfortable and clean, as was the modern en suite shower room. There was a particular quirk that made the RLI even more endearing: our room had a fairly low ceiling and I was highly amused to see my 6'7" room partner stoop around like Igor! I think he did the hands and everything.

Downstairs there is a pub frequented largely by friendly locals willing to pass on info about the surrounding area. The bar has a good selection of whiskys and all prices are very reasonable. The food available in the restaurant is of a high standard, the full scottish breakfast was particularly appreciated after a night in the bar. The chef aims higher than ordinary pub grub, the duck breast I had for dinner was excellent.

All in all, Ive been to the Red Lion Inn three times now and I am looking forward to the next trip to Doune! I would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but if you are travelling with a tall partner make sure you get the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
31
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spend one night here based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. Crisp, clean sheets on super comfy beds. Soft fluffy towels. Everything was spotlessly clean. Restaurant served good food at great prices, not a huge menu but all very tasty and a lovely breakfast in the morning. Locals made us feel very welcome in the pub. Ticked all the boxes :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our family of 5 (2 adults 3 kids under 12) spent 3 nights here New Year 2012 whilst visiting friends in the village. Staff and locals really friendly. Family room was great, clean and big enough for the 5 of us. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent one night at this friendly establishment. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. The hotel has a very friendly bar and a small restaurant. The room was typical pub style with ensuite but very comfortable with very little noise from downstairs. The night we stayed a function was being held but the noise we encountered was minimal. We dined in the restaurant and the food was magnificent even though the kitchen was pumping to cater for the function at hand. I have forgotten Jamie's fathers name but he was so helpful getting us settled in and away the following morning and providing invaluable advice for our drive into Edinburgh. Many thanks for your help and wonderful sense of humour.

Room Tip: The hotel is gradually being upgraded so ask for an upgraded room is one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Owned by Jamie Oliver (Not the Chef we all know). We visited the castle then went for a pub lunch. the food is very tasty and fresh. The chef sources his ingredients from the best quality available. i.e. Fresh haddock from Aberdeen, Stornaway black pudding etc. I had the beef and ale pie. What a treat. Deliciously tasty in a quality gravy. Then I had the Stornaway Gateau, Wow, what a feast of flavours. Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Although bar and dining room were small, the hospitality was big! Bar being refurbished and redecorated. Food - variety and portion sizes were excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order.

Windows may not have curtains - so be aware of moonlight. Take a eye mask if you need complete darkness to sleep. You will need your soap and toiletries as none supplied in the bathrooms.

The early morning birds may be your alarm clock, or take your own if you need a wake-up call.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were in this part of Scotland last week and were looking for a late lunch, around 2pm. We had been looking for a while in the area and came across this pub. From the outside we thought it looked a little basic and the bar area was also a bit bare, but food was being served so we wen't in.

The food was excellent and the service was superb with the landlord going out of the way to help seat us in the small restaurant area. We had 2-3 courses for each of the 4 adults and a course each for the two kids.

All thoroughly enjoyed it with the kids food being fresh and the adult meals better than I've had in proper restaurants. Both delicious and large portions if you like that.

Put on top of that the very reasonable prices and friendly staff and we must recommend this to people visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Balkerach Street, Doune, Stirling FK166DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Doune
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 200 years old, the Red Lion is a charming village Inn located in the centre of the picturesque village of Doune in central Scotland. The Inn has 6 bedrooms with 2 family room which can sleep up to 4. A friendly public bar serves a range of whiskey and local beers, while our restaurant offers fresh pub grub with a little finesse. Our Quaich suite is suitable for functions, meetings and events and opens onto a sunny courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Inn Doune, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.