We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine wee Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolino

L'Angolino
47 Main Street, Doune, Stirling, Scotland
01786841850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Doune
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fine wee Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A very wee place but with a real buzz about it. Gerry and the team are always welcoming and we have had three meals here - always excellent food and great service.
There are a few too many tables for the space so expect to be a bit crowded - but that adds to the buzz.
Book ahead as always seems to be busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I DONT LIKE ITALIAN FOOD - or that's what I thought until we ate in L'Angolino!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had the Affettati Misti, bruschetta and Penne al gamberi for starters - which were superb.
The mains were Pollo al rosmarino, Haddock al forno and Brasato di manzo - all of which were fantastic.

The desserts were Lemon posset with raspberries and Macedonia di frutta fresca. How we still had room for them I don't know!

Ask Gerry (the chef in shorts) which wine he would recommend - he knows his wines.

The front of house girls are a delight - happy smiling faces even on a busy night.
To borrow a phrase from Hollywood ......"I'll be back"

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had lunch today and enjoyed a really tasty meal served by very friendly and welcoming staff.
Although the price was very reasonable the quality of food was excellent.

It is definitely worth going out your way to book this restaurant for lunch or an evening meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Doune without a doubt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely Italian restaurant on the Main Street in Doune. We visited on the Saturday of the May bank holiday weekend and didn't have a booking but they managed to fit us in without any fuss. The restaurant is quite small but has a nice atmosphere . Good menu and reasonable prices. Great service and good quality food with big portions so go there hungry. We had a starter to share which was big enough for two and they gave us two plates without us having to ask. We were presented with a complimentary bowl of black and green olives olives as well which was nice even though neither of us are a big fan of them. Bread rolls came with the main courses which was also unexpected. Nice to go somewhere where profit isn't the main objective. The chef came out to speak to the customers after the meal and asked for feedback which was also a nice touch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doune, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we went for the first time with 10 friends to celebrate a birthday (we all live in or around doune). Although a tight squeeze (its a small restaurant) we had excellent service, the food was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced and the owners were very obliging. Some of the party had been before and said it was up to the usual high standard. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolino also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to L'Angolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.