We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodside Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodside Hotel to your Saves list
The Woodside Hotel
Stirling Rd, Doune, Stirling FK16 6AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Doune B&B and Inns
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took a Groupon deal for 2 courses and went at lunchtime midweek. Lovely welcome and great steak pie, haggis and mushrooms (not all together!), We'll definitely be back.
Service, value, cleanliness and location excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, Clackmannanshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We took a deal up with groupon for a two-course meal for 2 at the Woodside Hotel. We received a lovely welcome and had a really nice chat with the woman (sorry I didn't get her name) before we had our meal. The meal was lovely presented and very tasty. I would highly recommend this Hotel and we shall be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked for 3 nights at the end of December. Really friendly hotel, received a great welcome, Breakfast was on the ball, everything freshly cooked to order. The four poster bedroom was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

6 of us went for sons birthday 5th dec it was a freezing night but what a warm welcome from staff they could not do enough for us the steak pie was to die for 3 ordered ,this ,all plates well cleared ,girls had gammon steak @ ect all really enjoyed the night will be back as soon as possible We found this hotel on groupon what a bargain thank you once again to staff for a great night

















Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stay at the hotel many times every year. The feeling you get there beats everyting else. You feel so welcomed by the staff. The food is good and the rooms are clean and spacious. This is charm for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just been here for food. Well worth it. A good menu of traditional food with a good serving, at a good value price. The service is very friendly and the hotel is obviosly very popular with the locals, don't let the 'tired' look turn you away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

we stayed for weekend friday to monday beds clean and comfy, bedroom good size food was amazing and staff were very helpful and friendly they could not do enough for you we will certainly be back even if its just for the night this is one place where you get more for your money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside Hotel

Address: Stirling Rd, Doune, Stirling FK16 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Doune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodside Hotel Doune, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.