We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89/person ALL INCLUSIVE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Roble
Lady Lake, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was shocked to know that this was a Doubletree. This hotel is located in a bad area and the hotel warns you about it when you arrive. It would have been nice to know this before I booked a trip. The water that came out of the faucet was black. There was poop floating in the pool and they didn't inform guest to get out of the pool when they were told about it. Good luck eating in the specialty restaurants because they will either be closed or all booked up. Buffet is all you be able to eat. Don't expect much for customer service from the staff. The rooms are old and worn out. It's very obvious that this is an old hotel that is headed down the toilet. The beach is horrific and be prepared to be approached by locals that might rob you. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms were not nice. They have no concern for guest and begin working very early with motorized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    432
    241
    142
    76
See reviews for
433
452
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my husband and a group of friends. The staff was great and very helpful. They always went the extra mile to help. The food and drinks were wonderful. Recommend you try the cocktail called "Chiquita banana". The place needs a little up keeping though, softer beds maybe and replacement of floor tiles in the rooms. There could also be a stronger cooling system in the dining rooms...it gets a little hot while eating, to the point where you are literally sweating. Otherwise, everything was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific, provided a welcoming environment during our visit to Puntarenas. All the workers were friendly and attentive to our needs. There were a few issues with our room (primarily plumbing issues and towel services) but they were resolved in a timely fashion. The hotel is mainly visited by locals but there is still many tourist attractions to visit. We used Odyssey Tours as our go-to excursion company. Alvaro, Diego and Alvaro Sr were competent drivers and tour guides and made our visit to Costa Rica one to remember forever! I would definitely recommend Odyssey tour company!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived with friends to celebrate our marriage one year after and the people were amazing and lively! There was dancing and entertainment! The pools were awesome and we even got to play in a big bubble on the pool. We met cool people and played volleyball in the pool. The food was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Definitely worth the money and time. We did venture outside the resort alone and it really wasn't worth it. We did ziplining and a white water rafting tour and it wasn't that great in terms of the water since March isn't a good time to visit for that but the guides, scenery and people we met made it all worth it! The

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It it hard to find another place where the finest attention, excelent food, easy smile people, combines like in this place. I strongly recommend this lovely place. Perfect to enjoy in family. You can go to the beach on sunset and you get your perfect photography.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific, Costa Rica, provided warm hospitality to my family, particularly to me, during our vacation in Puntarenas during the summer of 2014. Guest services and all of the staff in the kitchen and dining areas prepared and presented delicious and attractive meals that allowed me to maintain my medically restricted diet throughout my stay, including a refrigerator and microwave in my room.

Moreover, it was a rare privilege to join the nation of Costa Rica for thrilling World Cup fútbol coverage shown in the hotel amphitheater. It was an honor for us as international guests to share the universal view that the Costa Rican team can play competitively against the best fútbol nations in the world.

We will certainly keep the DoubleTree in Puntarenas in mind for future travel to Costa Rica and highly recommend the hotel to family and friends.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used up a bunch of HH Points from business travel for a nice vacation. Was not sure what to expect based on the mixed reviews.

About two weeks before I arived I received a nice email from Ana who was a Hilton Honors guest Service Manager. She was very helpful and answered some questions.

Once I arrived she even sped me through the arrival process and got myself and my date squared away in record time.

The room was nice and large with a good bed and excellent air conditioning. Throughout my stay the maids did a great job cleaning it up and supplying plenty of towels. The hotel grounds were very nicely maintained and clean.

For an all inclusive resort there were plenty of areas to grab drinks which were strong if you asked for a double. The buffet was surprisingly good and a ton of variety. There is a seafood and a Latin restaurant that were reservation only. Of the two I liked the Latin one because it had air conditioning.

Not sure if it was the time of year but the hotel was mostly locals, plenty in the staff spoke English very well. The beach was right there but the waves were big so I dint spend much time on it.

Recommend one of the volcano tours and go check out Tortuga. You can book them right from the hotel.

The only real complaint was that the seafood restaurant and the main buffet/bar had roofs but were open to the sides. In a nice beach front area this would make sense but there were not enough fans to move air so the trapped heat just kind of sat there.

A very enjoyable trip, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Building 2 was nice. Get an upgraded room. The regular ones looked kind of small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.