We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica to your Saves list
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$109/person ALL INCLUSIVE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
“Recent Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great hotel, one of my favorites, excellent quality for sleep, room, food and facilities; this time we did not receive the usual friendly and courteous service unfortunately: when checking in and before paying we requested a late checkout and they offered to stay 2 more hours, however when checking out the next receptionist was not allowing this and told us that we had to cover extra for that. We were also not allowed to use one of the attractions in the pool because it was "not ready" (other guests used it before). But overall it was a good experience as usual.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    482
    263
    149
    79
See reviews for
487
497
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The grounds of this resort are beautiful. Right on the beach in the Gulf of Nicoya, with especially beautiful sunsets. We stayed in building 3, which is advertised as the newest of the resort. It's probably several years old, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

The pools were all very nice. We tended to keep to the "adults only" pool at building 3, which was much quieter than the others. Except for a guy who called himself "Ace," who was like 70 and was happy to hit on anything with a pulse. The only drawback of an all-inclusive resort is that it attracts guys like that (and the Danish guy who was plowed by noon, and whose speedo was suspiciously loose), who are there to drink and hit on everyone. I can't speak to the alcohol because I don't drink, but the non-alcoholic beverages were very good.

The food was decent. Think of the buffet as Golden Corral, serving Costa Rican cuisine. Worst case scenario, there is always plenty of delicious fresh fruit available. We had dinner one night at Macondo, the resort's a la carte Latin American restaurant, and the food there was outstanding. We would have paid extra to have all of our meals there!

The beach is a black sand beach, so the sand gets very hot during the day. Flip flops can help, and can come off as soon as you hit the tide line. Waves were not big enough for anything other than body surfing and maybe boogie boarding, but the beach is very clean, and the water is comfortable.

Finally, the people here were 5-stars. Front desk, guest services, housekeeping, dining, drinks, everyone. Ticos seem generally to be hard working and friendly, and the folks working at the DoubleTree resort all fit that description. We will be back!

Room Tip: Building 3 costs a little more, but the rooms are nicer. As other reviewers have noted, wi-fi is $1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Thank you very much, we had a nice time, very relaxing and familiar property! Personnel were always ready to assist us. Good food and activities, nice night shows and excellent sea food. We loved the cookies

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The buffet food was well prepared, fresh and very good. Nice rooms and the beds were comfortable. There were plenty of lawn chairs surrounding the beach and pools. We appreciated the dock - was very nice to walk on in the morning and evening, and they have a nice little bar to sit at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My sister,a friend and I stayed Tuesday Feb. 18th - Friday Feb. 21st. Due to travel issues, we wound up getting there a day late.

We were given room 1211, upon entering the room we noticed a musty, stale odor in the room itself, and a sulfur odor in the bathroom.

The room is definitely in need of upgrades and updates. The Air Conditioner was soo loud that we only turned it on to cool down the room at the end of the day and then shut it off. For the first night the fan didn't work, we had to go to the front desk the next day and they send someone to fix it. We were offered to upgrade for $15 per person per night and could not justify the extra expenditure.

Also, we had a roll away for the room, the mattress was not comfortable and 1 pillow and a sheet were given to cover myself. Definitely needed a blanket and another pillow. I wound up sharing a bed with my sister one night because I was cold and the maid had taken the sheet that I used to cover myself and didnt replace it.

The bathroom has a sulfur odor, is dated, and has no drain cover (I found myself slipping my foot into drain more tha n once--digusting!)!

The TV was not clear, it was grainy viewing. The A/C vent was filthy, full of film of fuzzy dust, the lamps had dust on them. The friend we went with took pictures and will upload for her Travel Advisor review.

The food was lovely, fresh and well executed!

The bars were basic all inclusive bars, not exactly top shelf liqour. We mainly stuck with the local beer- Imperial, Water and Coke.

The beach has volcanic sand which is dark and sticks to the feet...During our time there the water was a little to rough to enjoy. We actually wound up purchasing an excursion through the hotel...Calypso Tours - we took the Catamaran boat to Tortuga Island - breakfast, lunch, non alcoholic drinks, snorkeling and banana boat rides included.

The person we purchased the tour from did not notify the tour company that we were attending that morning, so we wound up having to be picked up by a different tour bus because there wasn't enough room in the bus for us to be transported.

Also, we were quoted the price of $80 dollars for the tour, but the next morning when we went to pay, the quote was $139. I was the one who caught the price difference, he said it was because we chose the Catamaran and not the speed boat ride to Tortuga Island. He did not make that clear at all the evening before when we were looking at tours and I was getting the prices for each.

The tour was great, the crew was attentive and approachable.

The resort pools were clean, well kept and kept at good temps.

The snack area and fresh shakes were great...the bars could have offered better quality liquor.

Over all I enjoyed myself immensely, Costa Rica is a beautiful place, but the room definiltely left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODSTOCK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This resort is immaculate, very well maintained. Excellant food, very friendly staff , our room was average. Bed was awesome. Nice pools , excellent drinks. Nightly entertainment was mostly very good except for the fact that there was very little or no English spoken so was very hard for us to stay envolved. Dont expect to be waited on , no staff going around to take drink orders.Couldnt swim in the ocean as there is a very stong rip tide & big waves. Large beach area but black sand is very very hot. Free wifi in the lobby & main bar.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Deluxe Kingt sure what th other rooms were like Building #3 has its own pool. re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here overnight before a cruise and we wished we had booked two or three days. The grounds are gorgeous. There are several large swimming pools, including an adults only pool, and plenty of lounge chairs. While the buildings show some signs of wear they are well kept. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We loved sitting on the veranda and watching the ocean.
We were in Building 3 which, as some reviews have noted, is a long walk. Anyone with walking difficulties might want to request a different building.
The staff is friendly, efficient and proficient in English. My husband went to the front desk to check out while I called for a bellman to get the luggage. we actually reached the front before he had finished checking out.
The buffets are not "gourmet" but the food is good and there is such a variety available that everyone should find something they like. There is plenty of room in the two large dining areas. We did not try the specialty restaurant.
Most of the guests are families from Central and South America and there are lots of activities for children and adults. The daily calendar is extensive.
The resort is located quite a ways out of Puntarenas, so it is not a place you can walk out of and explore the town. On the other hand, it was only short taxi ride to the cruise ports in both Caldera and Puntarenas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.