We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Hilton standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica to your Saves list
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$109/person ALL INCLUSIVE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Hilton standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is old, and in need of a renovation for rooms and bathrooms. AC is old and make a lot of noise. It has 3 buildings, we stay in building no. 3 the best one, because we are Hilton Gold members. Location is nice, right at the beach with black sand (not my favorite as is more like dirt). They have 3 pools but the adult one was full of kids. We had all inclusive, food is average, personal is pretty nice. I guess is very popular resort for Costa Ricans or other Central Americans, because they make about 90% of tourists here, just about 10% Americans. To make story short, this is not a Hilton standard, more like a Holiday Inn standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear SimoSparky:

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I was glad to read from your review that you found our rooms to be the best ones and that you found our service to be good. I do however understand that you were disappointed with a few issues and sincerely apologize for this. We are always listening to our guests and I will definitely keep your comment about the A/C in mind to improve.

We appreciate your business and we do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in Costa Rica.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    481
    263
    148
    79
See reviews for
484
496
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very relaxing and fun place. The staff is very courteous. Beautiful location and awesome food.
All Inclusive and great entertainment too in the evening.
Three different Pool locations. One for smaller kids too. Nice lawn and relax by the beach, or the pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Vinntx:

Thank you very much for your comments; it is a pleasure to serve you. I am very happy that you felt welcomed by the staff and the enjoyed the facilities and delicious food variety, too.

Our service values are always in mind to serve our guests, that is why I appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I go every year twice with my family. Personnel is great and dedicate to give you a great service. When my baby was less than a year old, i couldn't find something for her in the buffet so chefs prepared her fruits and cereal without asking them to do so. What a great place! And now is all inclusive 24*7!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Gambesq:

We really appreciate your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to know that since long time ago you found our Resort as place of preference to enjoy holidays. We appreciate your business, and for that reason we do everything we can to ensure our guests satisfaction, specially if it is for the little ones of the family .

Once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback shared through Tripadvisor web site, we hope to welcome you all together very soon .

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went as a group on my boyfriend's company trip.
The good:
The food was pretty decent and the dining area is pretty
The rooms were clean
The sleep quality was good as you couldn't hear outside
The swim up bar is decent
Beer on tap
The beach/water was very nice
The sunsets by the pier were beautiful
The staff front desk and tour guides were very accommodating

The cons:
Not the nicest rooms (but again clean)
The beach isn't flat, if you want to lay out on their chairs at the beach you have to drag them by the water down a little hill a ways, basically off the resort
Weak drinks

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. It's not the nicest but the rooms are clean, quiet and the food was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear AndSol:

Thank you very much for your comments , it was a pleasure to have you here visiting with us. Although we are very happy that you enjoyed or food selection, that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff was accommodating with you Rest assured I will share your comments with the team to correct some of your comments on the cons.

Our service values are very important to us and that is why I appreciate your feedback.

We thank you again, and we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I am a Hilton gold member so this might sway my review a little.

The food... I was worried from reading the reviews that the food would be terrible. My boyfriend enjoyed the buffet so much he was sad to leave! I learned what to eat and there were many stations where there was freshly cooked meat or dishes. We ate at the Mexican restaurant one night and that was delicious! We also had a romantic dinner for my birthday (cost extra) which was very nice. It was private and also very good.

The atmosphere.. This seemed like a very local resort, the weekend definitely had more going on, the weekdays were very quiet. There is nothing to do after about 9:30- the shows were a little cheesy for our taste and all in Spanish (activities too).

We had a massage at the spa which was the best massage we have ever had- thank youTara and Marie Chris!

The drinks... They were ok- not top shelf but what do you expect for all inclusive? The bar tenders were great- especially Jose and jimmy. I was surprised that nobody else seemed to be tipping
them! The pool bars were fun!

The beach... Not good. But none of the beaches in the area are- so go to tortuga island for a good beach day. The hotel has multiple pools and areas to catch some sun. The pier is pretty at sunset.

The room... We stayed in building 3 and I couldn't have asked for anything better. It was clean and better than the Hilton we stayed at in Chicago! The only trouble we had was the water was black for about a half hour the second day we were there. It was very odd but didn't last so we were ok and didn't complain.

Special thank you to Gabriela at guest services for helping coordinate everything- she was great!

Overall this was a good stay- as I expect from the Hilton name. The location is good for day tours. Thanks hotel fiesta!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Annieco13:

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to read from that you found our staff was very helpful and that the overall experience was worthy for you. Our main priority is for all of our guests to have a welcoming stay.

Regarding the beach, Central Pacific coasts in Costa Rica are distinguished by it dark colored sand with water is completely good for swimming at most of them. Our guests’ feedback is incredibly important to us; I do appreciate your comments that transmit the essence of the brand quality and hospitable service for everyone.

We really appreciate your business; thank you again for your feedback and loyalty to Hilton hotels.

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here as visiting family in Puntarenas and this is probably the best property around. Rooms are okay, clean and adequate. Although all inclusive we didn't eat here too often. Drinks are light so you end up drinking more. The main pool is pretty cool so for a family with kids this might be an okay place. The weather here in April is hot, hot, not. I sweltered in the restaurant as it's all outdoors. Never caught the entertainment - again, outdoors so would have sweltered some more. For us, it served a purpose and we enjoyed having a nice room with air conditioning and some amenities. Pretty basic but the price is probably good for a family where kids are king. Not really in a convenient area for the big national parks or nicer beach areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Travelernottourist:

Thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to give us valuable feedback about your experience at our resort. We very appreciate your business and take you for selecting our hotel.

Please let me invite you to visit again our Hotel and enjoy our convenient location, since we are in a very strategic point from where, you will have access to the most important tourist spots in Costa Rica, because we are in the middle of the major attractions and this allows our guests to visit them in a short time allowing them to enjoy even more and something that really characterize our hotel is the volcanic sand beach which makes part of our tropical scenery, typilcallly of the Pacific part of our country, the pacific Coastline is known worldwide as being perfect for sport fishing, surfing and just for enjoying the visitis to the island close by.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful location and very economical as an all-inclusive. Right on the beach with a nice pier and very scenic. I loved the breakfasts and pizza at the snack bar, but was not too crazy about the dinners. As far as booze, I didn't recognize any of the alcohol brands; they were definitely not top shelf. I enjoyed the swim up bar in the main pool. Even if I didn't recognize the brand of rum, the pina coladas were still delicious.

The guest services person went above and beyond. I was very impressed with her level of service.

There were a lot of fun activities by the pool: trivia contests, dance lessons, hula hooping, rolling around in the star ball. One day they filmed a TV Game show on the property and that was very entertaining.

At night, there was great entertainment in the theater. I didn't care much for Sunday night "Doubletree Idol" but the dance and comedy performances were wonderful.

All in all, a great value. It wasn't as remote as I had hoped but for the price, amazing. It kind of reminded me of being on a cruise ship. My favorite part of staying here was that there were very few other Americans or foreigners. Most of the people we met were from nearby San Jose. I love meeting the natives so this was a huge plus for me.

Tip: For excursions, head to the travel agency right across the beach or look for their reps by the pier. They have much better prices than offered by the hotel excursion desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear CRPGuru:

We really appreciate your time writing this positive and detailed review.

It is my pleasure to hear from you that the stay was truly pleasant and how you enjoyed the food, facilities and the hospitality offered by our team members.

Again, thank you for sharing your kind words with the Trip Advisor community about the delightful experience you had in Costa Rica and at the Doubletree Resort.

We hope see you back in the near future and have the honor to serve you one more time.

Sincerely,


Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.