We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible for a double tree by Hilton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99/person ALL INCLUSIVE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Roble
Parsons, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible for a double tree by Hilton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were there in October 2012. Very disappointed. Had to move 4 times in 5 days because poor room in building 1, building 3 had no air conditioning, no water for over 8 hours, floor flooded on second floor, etc. It was so hot and the food sat out all day in the heat. Beaches are not good. Was warned not to go out there after dark not safe. Food was below average. Had to ask for wash cloths every day. pool closed at dark.Not a good experience. A lot of money for a terrible vacation.. Cannot believe Hilton has its name on it.

Room Tip: Choose another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. Judy P

I am terribly sorry that your experience at our resort was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our product and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    438
    244
    143
    78
See reviews for
441
463
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hi all~
Me and my partner stayed at this wonderful resort and had the BEST time ever. The service, accommodations, staff, food, location and weather was beyond belief. This was our first time in Costa Rica but it will not be our last. I will definitely stay here at the Hilton again. Just an FYI, look for outside vendors for you excursions they are much more catered and the price is much more reasonable. Enjoy

Room Tip: Choose outside excursions-much more reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Josepha H

Thank you very much for your positive comments, we really appreciate it, and motivates us to continue improving our services every day to all our guests in order to make your holiday an unforgettable experience.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed a wonderful experience at our resort, in especially for the hospitality service, food and the warm treatment from our staff.

Thank you very much for making us part of your vacation, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel was okay for breakfast and supper. But was never arouns for lunch. Our room was great amd quiet in building 1. Pools were amazing and i enjoyed the snack bar.

We went mainly for tours. We went across the street to syl travel and randy was awesome! We got great deals amd ended up going to see the sights every say! Wouls highly recommend them for tours! Same tour as hotel but a fraction of the price! They became like family to us and always watched our back!

I did enjoy the hotel when we were there. Tip housekeeping and you get awesome towel art! Loved watching the stars at night from the comfy lounge chairs!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear dianahouse:

We appreciate your visit to our Resort and your positive feedback, good to know that your stay was pleasant and the hotel for its location was the starting point for the exploration of our wonderful country.

Very glad you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities, swimming pools and breakfast and dinner service.

Additionally, I appreciate your comments about the lunch variety it help us to take action to improve the quality of gastronomic offer.

We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling, so we thank you for making Costa Rica and Doubletree Resort by Hilton Puntarenas your choice.

Again, thank you very much for visiting and sharing their views with travelers worldwide.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is a Hilton property but seemed like a best western! Not worth paying for this hotel. I luckily used points so it wasn't that bad, but come on... no real fruit in the drinks in the tropics! Food was bland and not great. Service was great, rooms were great, but the quality of the food and drinks, which is why you do "all inclusive" was not good! I would much rather have paid for good food and good drinks and just stayed at a normal hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear SPGplatinum Ten…

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I was glad to read from your review that you found our rooms to be great and that you found our service to be good. I do however understand that you were disappointed with a few issues and sincerely apologize for this. We are always listening to our guests and I will definitely keep your comment in mind to improve the quality and selection of our offerings.

We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide with everything you are accustomed to receive. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really impressive property... after a week, we still didn't get to swim in every pool and try all the places to eat! Felt very much like we were on a cruise ship... complete with daily activites pool side, shopping, helpful, courteous (bilingual) staff and evening shows (some for adults... some for kids).

Food was tasty and had some diversion, though I'm a fan of local cuisine. Bartenders were all kind and attentive, entertainment staff were engaging and definitly captivated the audience.

Spa had just opened while we were there and we had some of the first massages. It was truly blissful to lay in the open air under a palm leaf roof and watch the waves roll and the palms sway while getting treatments. Pricing was quite good as well.

You can pay your airport exit tax as a convience (for a small $3-5 fee thereabouts) and practically any question we asked was answered quickly and correctly or the right information was found and we were advised by phone to the room.

Bed was REALLY really comfortable, water pressure fabulous, room faced one of the pools and there was no problem with noise thanks to the whir of the A/C. Amazing value for an all inclusive resort. Just under 2 hours by car from San Jose, we also drove to Manual Antonio and back in one day as well as Arenal/La Fortuna and back in one day.

Room Tip: Easy day trips to Manual Antonio and Arenal Volcano. Clean, great value. A+
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Miss_JB_916:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of all our team members and Management. We really appreciate such positive and well detailed feedback. I am glad to hear your opinion about the amazing value for all services received at Doubletree Resort by Hilton Central Pacific.

Moreover, I am delighted to realize how you had an amazing time in the facilities and was indulged by the food & beverages, accommodations, entertainment and the new spa.

Again, thank you very much for sharing your great experience in our property and Costa Rica, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during our trip and we enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and courteous. The hotel premises are very scenic and well maintained - lots of trees, flowers, hammocks, lounge chairs, volleyball courts. The 3 large pools are nice with sections for the younger kids.

Our room was in building 1 near the stair case but it was always quiet. BTW we stayed during Easter holy week when the hotel was very busy. The staff were always cleaning the hotel and our room was made everyday. Hotel does not seem to be new but is well maintained.

Another thing to mention is that we always felt very safe here. Lots of activities for kids and teens but mostly in Spanish.

Like all the other reviewers say, the food is good only in parts - meaning the salads, fruits, juices and desserts are good, rest is hit or miss. I tried a cocktail at the bar only once and it was not good. But beer was good.

For trips around Costa Rica, we hooked up with Michael from Varso Travels (http://www.varsotravel.com/). Very trustworthy. He waited to pick us up from the airport even though our flight was 2 hours late. He is a very nice, showed us around Costa Rica. Very happy with his prices and his patience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Mita_Alpesh:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our Resort. It is so nice to hear from you that really enjoyed your stay and you had a wonderful holiday.

The management team is happy to hear that all family felt safe and was thrilled by the friendly and helpful staff.

As you mentioned, we have too much to give: families, couples and business, too. Thank you for your highlights about the scenic and well maintained hotel premises and observations about translation in activities and food, we also receive suggestions with a positive attitude.

One more time, your feedback is most than appreciated; we hope to have the opportunity to serve the whole family when you come back to Costa Rica.

Kind regards,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was shocked to see just how run down they will let a Hilton get. The food was terrible at the resort and good everywhere else I tried. I did eat out a lot because of the poor quality of food, so the all inclusive is not a good deal. On the upside, the people are nice. Overall, it is just old and run down and not maintained well at all and in my opinion not worth that they charge. Rooms in building 3 that the say have been newly renovated are not, just a quick coat of paint and still needs another coat. Mold and mildew are evident in the commons areas. I did point these out to them management, but they just did not seem to care. I am going to include some picture so that you can see for yourself the condition of this facility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director General at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Richard B:

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel. We very much appreciate your business.

Please accept my apologies for the concerns that you have raised in your review. I was both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience with us. However, I can very much empathize with your situation and assure you that we will take your comments into consideration to improve our property.

I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you travels bring you back to our area. Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again.


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.