We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all inclusive resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89/person ALL INCLUSIVE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Roble
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great all inclusive resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am honestly shocked by the bad reviews of this hotel. We have stayed here 4 times and love it each visit. This time we booked through expedia and got a BEAUTIFUL room for $145.00 total on the beach with a private porch. The man that wrote the review about the water being brown has obviously never been to Costa Rica, it just happens during rainy season. This is not the kind of place you spend a week at, just a few days. If you are a surfer, this is the place to go! Great for long boarding. The food is really good and they have a HUGE variety. At night time in the bar area they had a good band playing. If you have children this is the perfect place to take them, there are alot of families that visit the resort. For all inclusive its a GREAT deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear ayn4387:

Receive our Best Regards. For all our Team Members it is a true honor to read that we meet the expectations created from old reviews.

I am so glad to know that the Costa Ricans´ charisma catches you, as well as the biodiversity of our country. Your feedback made us feel happy and It is very satisfactory to know that we could achieve your expectations and provide you a pleasant experience and you have been satisfactory, your comments made us feel happy.

Your comments will be shared with our staff and I can assure you it will be greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to having you in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    427
    241
    141
    76
See reviews for
424
449
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went here during the summer months so it was the wet season in Costa Rica. The sun didn't really shine on the beach, which was disappointing, but what can you do? The drinks weren't terrible, but not that strong either. The pool was nice...the rooms were below average for a Doubletree name hotel. The FOOD WAS GREAT! The resort did a good job with the entertainment. One of my biggest issues is the proximity of the hotel to international airports. The drive to/from San Jose was 60-75 minutes and you have to find your own contract transportation company. Our driver did not speak english, but he was still really nice and considerate. I wouldn't go back because it wasn't anything special, I'd probably go stay in San Jose and do something different instead of driving to the coast for the beach and "all-inclusive" resort. However, for someone who has never been, it still may be pretty fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Christopher,

Greetings on behalf of staff and Management Team of Doubletree Resort by Hilton Central Pacific, Costa Rica.

We really appreciate your time to share your experience in our Resort.

Our intention is to offer the highest quality service and convenience to all our valued guests during each visit. We are so glad to have you in our property for your holidays and to know your opinion about the great food and fun entertainment that you mention in your comment.

It is a pleasure to serve you, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and demonstrate you once again the commitment of satisfaction we have with all our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We came here as part of a package deal. We read the reviews here, looked at the photos, seemed like it would be a great place. Costa Ricans are extremely proud of their country and always say positive things about everything about their country . . . except Puntarenas. So many locals spoke very poorly of this area and were in fact embarrassed of it. We then came in with low expectations, we left with even lower.

The water color is brown, we found many articles of trash in the water, even outside of the water the beach was unpresentable. The resort itself had awful entertainment, terrible food, in the pool I stepped on 3 plastic cups, straws everywhere in pool, trash left everywhere outside of pool. We have been to very nice all-inclusive resorts. I expected much more.

The front desk was not very receptive to our needs either. We arrived very early at 10am so I totally understand a room was not available, even though we were in a standard room. Our travel agent told us most hotels during the offseason will offer upgrades if you politely ask. We are very pleasant, friendly people. The gentlemen did smile and say no because our reservation only shows a standard room. The couple who was also shuttled to the resort from La Fortuna did have an upgrade room and were shown to their room immediately. They were nice and allowed us to use their room to change. So for 4 and a half hours, we checked the site but we were ready to rest in our room because it started to rain. We asked again if a room was available because it was obvious it was the offseason as the resort was obviously not full. The same gentlemen said they would have nothing available until 4pm. We were polite and said thank you. At 4:30, we returned, again with no one in line, a half hour past check-in and we asked is a room available, the same gentleman said "Let me check if anything is available." I know he was not intending to be rude but that is an awful thing to say after waiting 6.5 hours for a hotel that is not full. We were very irritated at that point.

The food is awful for breakfast and lunch, dinner is decent, although I did get sick from the sea bass on seafood night.

Also, we saw signs to not bring your valuables to the beach. A security guard would chase you down if you decide to go for run on the beach with a waiver release form to release them of any liability if something were to happen to you. We decided not to leave the premises.

The only highlights were the wait staff at dinner. They were very friendly, especially Eddie. Please read this and please look at beaches in Guanacaste or the Carribbean side. So many countless Costa Ricans were embarrassed of Puntarenas and told me next time, I should go to these other places because they represent Costa Rica much better. People staying there told us the same thing unprovoked. Please take this advice. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, please upgrade, the standard rooms were musty and had cold showers. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear PhillipRivers:

We really appreciate your time taken into this review. As a matter of fact, I would like to share you that Central Pacific coast is famous for its nice surfing spots, as well as the cruise dock at Puntarenas downtown; visited for more than 500 cruises a year (October to May every year).

At DoubleTree Resorts we are characterized by our warm and caring culture, for that reason I am glad to know that Eddie showed you that outstanding service.

Also, we always are willing to hear all comments and take them as a way to grow in our service and keep doing our best every day.

Thank you very much for sharing your point of view with Tripadvisor community.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Roble hotels

Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We visit this all inclusive hotel once in a while, mainly because it's the closest to Costa Rica central valley. It takes around 80 minutes to get there, and once you get in you don't have to worry for meals and entertainment. Although it has limited choices, it is ok if you don't mind some gaps. Food is average, so are the rooms and service. Gym is just renewed and it is great, the best thing in the facility. Pools are nice and snacks are good, so you will never be hungry.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear gjtrips,

Greetings on behalf of staff and Management Team of Doubletree Resort by Hilton Central Pacific, Costa Rica.

We really appreciate your time to share the satisfactory experience.

Our intention is to offer the highest quality service and convenience to all our valued guests during each visit. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed the food, our service and special that you noted the new look of the Fitness Center of the Doubletree by Hilton.

It is a pleasure to serve you, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and demonstrate you once again the commitment of satisfaction we have with all our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Check-in is WAY too late (4:00pm) until this time you cannot get a room.
Rooms rate are way too expensive for low season (October is raining season)
Food is awful, (Breakfast, lunch and dinner), snacks were ok.
Rooms were cleaned but had not towels, toilette was broken, tv control wasn’t working correctly
bathtub was clogged up

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Elluany S:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with the overall service, even though our Resort characterizes for being convenient for leisure and business.

Besides of this, we offer for a small fee, the opportunity of early check in to enjoy all the facilities before getting the room.

Each point of view is valid to continually improve and exceed quality standards.

Thank you for let us be part of your vacation and sharing your opinion with us.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am not usually an "all inclusive" traveler..but I will try to be fair in my review. The property is very well kept and the rooms nice- I had a suite. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. The buffets were all plentiful and delicious! I have never seen a breakfast buffet with so many choices! I did not get to all the tables for any meal as there was so much food. The pools are beautifully designed and great for families. The children's play area was also fun and great for even the very young children. All the children I saw (including teenagers) seemed to be having a great time. The ocean here is not very nice and having been to many of the beaches in Costa Rica, was rather disappointing. No one was at the beach when I was there. The pools seemed to be the place to swim. You have to pay to get internet in your room (disappointing). But internet is available free in the lobby area. The resort hands out chocolate chip cookies when you arrive - and that is a wonderful welcoming touch (they are delicious!). If you like all inclusive resorts, you will most likely enjoy a stay here very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear islandgirl04:

We appreciate your time to comment on your experience at the Doubletree Resort by Hilton Central Pacific Costa Rica. The feedback from our guests allows us to continue our growth and excellence.

We are glad you enjoy our meals as was breakfast with its variety of options, recreational activities, the friendliness of our staff and even our welcome cookie details that are important to us proactively continue to practice every day.

Finally, I would like to explain to you about the color of the ocean which is a brownish color beacuse it is mostly volcanic sand and that it would be imposible for it to be blue. However, we have the Blue Flag Award for the quality of our Ocean Water.

It is a pleasure to serve you, hope to welcome you in the near future and once again demonstrate the commitment of satisfaction and hospitality characteristic of Doubletree Resorts.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were a little skeptical to stay here because there are alot of negative reviews, but we had a great time here. The resort is absolutely the cleanest I have ever stayed at - both the grounds and the rooms. The service is unmatched - its like all employees are trained that customer service trumps everything they do. Fanny at the bar in the lobby was particularly wonderful! We stayed in Building 3. The furniture is a little plain but very up to date and again, very clean. The layout of the pools is really nice, plenty of chairs, plenty of umbrellas and plenty of sunny spots. The food is just okay. Not terrible, but not wonderful but there was good variety and we enjoyed our meals. The drinks are a little light on alcohol but they're good. The beach was disappointing. You can lay at the beach but you don't want to get in the water. The waves are wicked and there's an undertow. But you can have your chairs on the sand, enjoying the view and easily get in the pool to cool off. As far as transportation, a little research prior to our trip revealed its expensive to move around in Costa Rica and you have to factor that into the trip. We always arrange our transportation before we get there. If it cost someone a big taxi bill to get to the resort, that is a failure to plan ahead on their own part; not really the fault of the resort. We had a wonderful time at the Doubletree and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose Building 3. It's the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, Director of Operations at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Suzanneb408:

I am so glad to know that you lived the Doubletree experience and had such a wonderful time here. Thank you very much for your recognition to Fanny and her outstanding service, to all of us, it is always a cause of joy to hear of how much a team member cared and treated our guests during their stay.

While the beach sometimes has strong tides, it is ideal for lying on the beach, swimming, water sports and enjoying stunning sunsets.

I really appreciate your recommendation and let us been part of your rewarding experience in Costa Rica.

Sincerely,

Oscar Rojas
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.