We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica to your Saves list
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$109/person ALL INCLUSIVE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was my first time to Costa Rica and I was traveling by myself. I had such a great time that I didn't want to leave. The trip was very relaxing and the resort is beautiful. The staff was excellent and courteous. This was my first time at an all-inclusive resort and I have to admit that it was great. It was nice not having to worry about carrying money around the resort especially when you are swimming in the pool or doing other activities. They have activities for everyone - kids have their own activities....there are water aerobics for adults and older kids, beach volleyball, dancing, a show every night, four pools and you can eat all day if you want to.

If you miss a meal in one of their restaurants, there are snack bars by the pool that serve almost all day and they even have "late night snacks" from 9PM to Midnight every night.

I reserved Doubletree's adventure package and had the opportunity to go on several tours with Arenas Travel Costa Rica. The owner Enoc Nunez was very professional, informative and courteous. I had the honor of going on a tour to Monte Verde National Park with him and several of his tour guides...they are very well-spoken, intelligent young men who are passionate about the culture, nature and people of their country. I was on information overload about Costa Rica by the end of the day but they had a great sense of humor and kept me laughing most of the day!

It was hard to leave Costa Rica and my new friends. If you want to visit someplace new and beautiful, Costa Rica is a must. I highly recommend the Doubletree and Arenas Travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Dawn G:

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we really appreciate this type of comments and feedback, because it motivates us to continue every day to improve our service to all of our guests in order to make their holiday a very especial one.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the activities that our entertainment department provides, like our water aerobics, dance classes and our night shows.

It has been a truly pleasure to take care of you during your stay and we look forward to serving you again for many years to come so that you can enjoy again Costa Rica, the country of the Pura Vida spirit !!

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    481
    263
    148
    79
See reviews for
484
496
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed there for spring break. The location is terrible. The surroundings in the resort are pleasant, but the beach and the water were unusable. We were so disappointed. The food was tasteless and the same almost every day. The clerk at the front desk at the resort wasn’t nice. There were two swim-up bars but only one was open. Cleaning service didn’t even care about sweeping the floor. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. We were very disappointed in general.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Karen50825

We thank you for your time to share your opinion about our Resort. We truly regret you were disappointed and had a wrong perception of our beach and overall service.

Even though, we realize that each person has his or her own perspective, this is why we offer the option to prepare different food options when it is requested according with each guest´s preference and tastes.

Regarding our beach, I would like to highlight that the Central Pacific coast is completely safe for swimming when the Ocean conditions permit it. Non motorize sports water as surfing, Boogie Boards, and kayaking are practice daily by guests from all over the world.

International Surfing Contest are even held at Boca Barranca located just minutes away from our resort.

Thank you very much for share your point of view,

Regards,


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The resort is not the newest most modern resort. But for the money it was great. I was there in rainly season and the beaches looked bad. lots of trash etc. But I was told in season it is nice clear water.

It was great base for our exploring of the country. Booked tour at ferry area for Isle of Tortola. 1/2 that of resort price.

Food and drinks were great. overall i say it was great resort..

Room Tip: building 3 is newer but longer walk to restruants and main pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Respuesta

Dear Ken2fortax:

We appreciate your visit to our Resort and your positive feedback; it is great to know that your stay was pleasant one and that our resort was a base for exploring our country.

I would like to inform you that most of our Central Pacific coast and is characterized of being volcanic brownish sand.

The pacific Coastline is renowned worldwide as being perfect for sport fishing, surfing and just for enjoying the visits to the islands close by.

We are also proud to inform you that we have an exhausted cleaning program and we are awarded by the Costa Rican Government with the Blue Flag award that recognizes our efforts to keep our beach clean and free of pollution which also confirms that it is safe for all of our guests and visitors.


Thank you for making the Hilton Family Hotels your first choice.


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I would give this proeprty 3 1/2 stars if I could. The staff is very freindly and passionate about what they do and the location works, especially for a family, that wants a hub to many different adventures in Costa Rica.

This is an all-inclusive, but the quality of the food, services, amenities, beach etc is not on par with an all-inclusive you would find in Mexico or Jamaica. However, Costa Rica is a different destination, so you are likely here to do things like visit a rain forest, zipline. Bear this in mind when choosing this location. It is on the beach, but it is a black sand beach and the current was very rough (there were dozens of surfers nearby). Also, the food is decent, not fantastic, but they did have some tasty fresh fruit.

This resort really caters to locals, so if you are looking for a local flavor for your holiday, this a good option. They have shows and entertainemnt that change frequently to attract the Costa Ricans to the resort. I think this gives the resort a certain authentic flare.

And finally, as I mentioned, this resort serves as a good hub for you to spoke around Costa Rica on various adventures and excursions.s

Is this the most luxurious resort, no. But it serves its purpose and has a lot to offer at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Building 3 is the newer building and is considered the "quiet area" and has its own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear My Traveling Panda:

We are really glad to know your opinion about our resort and service, as well, we truly appreciate your positive feedback which is very important for us, and for the whole Trip Advisor family.

It is good to know, your appreciation for our natural recourses and the variety of flora and fauna that you can find in our Natural parks, forests, rivers and oceans.

As a matter of fact we do have a brownish gray volcanic sand beach close to the mouth of a river, and we are glad to have them because it is part of our natural and tropical scenery and is also part of an important ecological system included in the biodiversity of Costa Rica.

Therefore I would like to assure you that we keep the our dark sand beach very clean and we have recently been awarded by the Government of this country with the Ecological Blue Flag.

Thank you very much for your review, and we hope to have you back soon!

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We returned from our family vacation to costa rica. It was wonderful! We stayed at the Doubletree hotel, Puntarenas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When we read other reviews we were worried about the hotel but we were all very pleasantlysurprised at how great the resort is

Being vegetarians, The staff at the hotel went out of their way each day to ensure we had great meals. Thefood was freshly prepared and delicious.

There are a number of activities for adults and kids alike around the main pool including foam parties in the pool! An adults only pool for those looking for a quiet place to sun or read a book and a few restaurants to choose from. The rooms in building 3 are very nicely appointed and have all of the amenities Hilton's are known for.

After dinner, the live night shows were Great fun for all ages! Every evening had a new production of exceptionally choreographed dance presentations. acrobatics, impersonations and dances where brilliant.

A very pleasant stay overall. Would recommend it anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Roopa L:

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are thrilled to know that you and your family spent a wonderful time in our resort and in our country.

We really appreciate your time in letting us know how the staff went out of their way each day to ensure your satisfaction according with your needs and expectations, you can be sure that we will shared your comments with all our Team.

Once again, thank you for your kind recommendation. We hope to welcome you back to Doubletree Resort by Hilton- Central Pacific, in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week. We traveled to many of the touristy areas during the day and only used the pool one day. The pool was busy with many families and the staff kept everyone busy with activities. If you've been to other all inclusives, this hotel may be disappointing. The buffet doesn't change much from day to day and the alcohol is local choices. The staff is very friendly and very accomodating. I recommend booking dinner at one of the restaurants on the property. The beach is dark sediment...if you are looking for a sandy beach, this one is not for you. We didnt find many activities to do around the hotel and had to travel over an hour to get to the activities (zip line, waterfalls, volcanos, etc)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear FrankyP2:

We are pleased to know that it was a great stay for you and how our friendly and accommodating staff made your visit even more pleasant.

Regarding our alcoholic beverages we would like to clarify that we also offer international drinks as well, and all of them are recognized brands.

We are glad that you have visited the main tourist areas of our country. In the other hand, we would like to highlight that the Central Pacific Coast is perfect for surfing, sport fishing and discover many attractions in the islands close by of our shore.

We really appreciate your review and for choosing us as destination for your vacations.

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Fantastic service. Great food --different theme dinner every night. Lots of choices to choose from. Grounds are beautiful and are kept very clean. Fun pool activites for the whole family. We used Dimas for our two tours. He and his employees were great. Assisted us with all the little ones. There were 26 in our group. He advised us on best trips with all our little ones that were traveling with us. He is located directly across the street from the resort. His prices are much less than the resort. We had a great week at the resort and thanks to Dimas for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Get a room in building three. We had first floor rooms and second floor room.s
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Mrs. Marjory j:

We sincerely thank you for sharing your comments with us, we are happy to know that you plenty enjoyed your stay at our resort and all of the adventures that you lived in each of the tours that you took during your vacation.

Thank you for choosing us,

Sincerely,


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.