We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bushel and Strike

The Bushel and Strike
Mill Street, Ashwell SG7 5LY, England
+44 1462 742394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Ashwell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $53
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bushel & Strike is a beautiful country pub located directly opposite the impressive Ashwell church. We pride ourselves on being a haven for those seeking great food, well kept cask ales, a good wine list and an old fashioned warm welcome. Children, dogs and wellies/walking boots are welcome!
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Always a nice meal in this pub, the price is a little on the expensive side but the food never lets you down. the garden is lovely on a summers day and has a nice view of the church

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We had my Fathers 65th birthday meal here and the service was the best thing a waitress in particular called 'Bianca' she was one of the best waitresses I've ever come across! Food was really nice. But overall the atmosphere was the best!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“superb food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

i met a very good friend for a catch up and something to eat. I have to say the pub was lovely plenty of space and different area's to sit. Just nice enough to have good atmosphere in the background and actually be able to hear your self talk. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The menu was of the standard of a London restaurant. I picked fish for a change i had heard this was one the chefs speciality - i was not disappointed. My friend had the lamb which melted in the mouth. Also a great selection of deserts and cheeses. all in all we had a tremendous night of good conversation and great food, for the fraction of the cost of a lovely London restaurant. Try it for yourself!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This village pub / restaurant is a real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We visited this lovely pub / restaurant in early April, it was a lovely experience, great ambience, superb cuisine (very high standard) and reasonably priced, we absolutely loved it and will be back soon.
Thanks to all the staff.
Martin

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I had heard some good things about the Bushel and Strike, but sadly, I was disappointed. Our table was near the bar, which wasn't a very good start, a man in shorts stood very near by... just didn't feel right. I had the mushroom risotto to start, which didn't taste at all of mushrooms, but did taste OK, think it tasted more of beef stock. My friends choice of the cheese souffle, again was OK, but nothing special. For mains I had fish and chips, which was very average, not very nice batter...and the chips were awful. My friend had steak and chips, which she said was cooked ok, but the chips were awful...I wouldn't rush back, which is a shame, as I liked the look of the place.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bushel and Strike also viewed

Ashwell, Hertfordshire
Ashwell, Hertfordshire
 
Abington Pigotts, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Bushel and Strike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bushel and Strike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.