We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in the Salzburg region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pfefferschiff

Pfefferschiff
Sollheim 3, Hallwang 5300, Austria
43 662 66 12 42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hallwang
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the Salzburg region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fabulous evening, wonderful meal with great food, great wine, great friends. Hard to beat. Expensive, yes, but great for a special occasion. Will return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What can we say about this place. Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We dinned at pfefferschiff as part of a 50th birthday treat to my partner and I in January of this year.

Its every bit Austrian as you might expect from a period restaurant. The food, wine and above all the atmosphere was truly enjoyable.

I proposed to my parter the day before on the steps of the Mirabell Gardens, famous for the Von Trappe Family in 'The Sound of Music'. Thankfully she said yes, and is still smiling at bling a week later!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Not Quite Worth the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

By the time you finish, it'll be a minium of 110e/per if you limit yourself to max of two drinks. The food is meticulously prepared and looks beautiful on the plate. But the flavors are mixed for their own sake and rather indistinct. The exception would be the deserts which do exploit the interplay of the flavors well. Service is slow, at least by US standards. The locals seemed to be happly sitting around, but we found the gaps to be way long and unexplicably uneven with respect to timing. Hurring the meal it still took more than 2 1/2 hours to get the check. The servers are lovely young ladies who work to please and have obviosly been trained to describe the dishes in elaborate detail. But anything off the script, and no response is forthcoming. An experience in Austrian kitchen elaboration, yes for sure. Memories beyond that... not so much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great reinterpretation of traditional cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We loved everything about this restaurant ...the chef/owner, the location, the attentive wait staff and especially, the food and wine. We were made to feel so special. All four of us agreed that dinner at PFEFFERSCHIFF was one of the highlights in all our visits michelin restaurants . Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food, impeccable service, the best restaurant in Salzburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Eating at the Pfefferschiff is a delight for the senses, a lovely experience whenever we went there.
The food is superb, with lots of seasonal and local ingredients, and the quality hasn't changed a bit since the new chef, Juergen Vigne, and his wife Iris have taken over the business from Klaus and Petra Fleischhaker who made the Pfefferschiff to one of Austria's best restaurants.
The wine list is extensive and well-matched with the menu.

Excellent food of course comes at a certain price, so the Pfefferschiff is certainly not a cheap place to eat. But then, it's not only eating, it's rather enjoying the whole atmosphere and the wonderful cuisine.

In short: the absolutely best restaurant in Salzburg, and probably among Austria's Top 5 as well.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfefferschiff also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Pfefferschiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pfefferschiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.