We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expedition Wolf

Expedition Wolf
9552 Road 117 South | Ville Riviere-Rouge, Riviere-Rouge, Quebec, Canada
877.275.1601
Improve this listing
Attraction details
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our dog sledding trip with Expedition Wolf was one of the highlights of our trip to Mont Tremblant! The guides are extremely friendly and warm and genuinely want their guests to have a great time. The dogs are extremely friendly to people and it is clear that they are very well cared for by the staff. They explain that they frequently take in rescue dogs to become part of their teams, and also have several 'retired' dogs that live in the main office, which shows their dedication to the dogs. The sled ride itself is very scenic and through a trail in the woods - like something right out of a book. I can't recommend this trip enough it is a such a unique experience!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    0
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dog sledding adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We took the time to enjoy some dog sledding with Expedition Wolf and had an amazing time. The staff were wonderful, the dogs amazing and well cared for. It was a couple of hours of sheer FUN!! They include you in the harnessing of the dogs and let you drive the team if you are comfortable with that. The dogs are well-behaved and a joy to be around. I can't imagine that there is a better company to do this with.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We live in Montreal and recently had family staying from NZ. Dog sledding was on my brother's bucket list and Expedition Wolf met the challenge. The guides were incredibly helpful and friendly and we particularly appreciated how they included those of us who were there just as onlookers in the whole thing. They also had lots of interesting things to say about the dogs. The whole thing felt like a very unique experience and whilst it is expensive, I would say we all found it very worthwhile. Would highly recommend this outfit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Release the hounds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

On a recent ski vacation to Mt. Tremblant we took a morning to go dog sledding with Expedition Wolf, and we are ecstatic that we did so! The excursion was booked through the Activity Center right in the Mt. Tremblant village and from start to finish it was a great experience! Expedition Wolf has over 250 dogs who are obviously loved and well cared for. They have taken in many local dogs that were abused, abandoned or whatever but most of their pack are husky's and they ALL love to RUN! One of the fascinating parts of the experience is that you actually help get the teams ready to go. The guides carefully select each dog and team them up and then hand them, on a leash, one by one to the participants who then lead the dogs to their respective sleds. Oh my gosh are these dogs strong! As one of the bigger men in our group (I'm 6'1" and about 200#) I was consistently handed the rear or "pulling" dogs and they about yanked me out of my boots! The dogs couldn't wait to get started and were all yelping, tugging and barking with excitement, thank goodness the sleds are chained to a fence post prior to launch! Then, with chains released and a simple "Hup!" we were off and running. The trail, which takes about an hour or so, meanders through a beautiful pine forest, up and down gentle hills and past ravines, streams and glades. It was an absolutely delightful experience and we thoroughly enjoyed the dogs, the scenery and overall experience! If you are in the area and want a once in a lifetime experience I couldn't recommend this any more highly. Mush!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“If You Have Never Tried Dogsledding- Try This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have come to Expedition Wolf a few times while on ski trips in Mont Tremblant. The experience is excellent. The dogs are all beautiful and you have the opportunity to harness them before the trip begins. The dogs are very excited to get on the trails and many of them are incredibly strong. The guides are very good as they will train you how to start, stop and turn and how to handle the 6 dogs that will be pulling your sled. The trails themselves are fairly easy to navigate but still offer some challenges on the hills and turns. During the trip they make a stop in a heated tent for some cookies and hot chocolate. When you return you get more interaction with the dogs as you take them back to their houses behind the main building. You have plenty of time to visit with them and pet and play with them. You can take as many pictures and videos as you want with them. Inside the main building you'll be given a chance to view the pictures that the guide has taken of your group. They sell them if you like how they came out. My package had 46 pictures plus 28 others of just the dogs for $25. If you are worried about the cold temperatures just bundle up. Each sled has one driver and one passenger. They offer blankets for the passenger that can further help keep you warm. The dogs love the cold as when we stop on the trail they will roll around in the snow. As they run they often take quick licks of the snow as they must be heated up even in the low temperatures. I would highly recommend this activity if you like dogs and like to try something new.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expedition Wolf also viewed

 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to Expedition Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expedition Wolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.