We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting stop on the way to the high country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deniyaya Rest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Deniyaya Rest House to your Saves list
Deniyaya Rest House
on the hill in town, Deniyaya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An interesting stop on the way to the high country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I found this place by accident when I took a wrong turn heading north on the A17. I was glad to find it, although a little dubious of the collection of locals it attracts for a night of drinking. My room was large, so large I could have held my own party there. It is basic, but I liked this about it, it really feels like you could be the old colonial planter who is roughing it! The food was good and the service friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms very big and spacious but very damp and spartan. The tap only has cold running water but the staff will heat some water for your shower, if needed. The manager arranged our trip to Sinharaja and got us connected with Chaminda - our guide, who was amazing at spotting wildlife in the park.

Tip: Pay as you go or everything comes with a 10% service tax in the bill, even the guide and transportation charge for Sinharaja.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here on weekends. This is probably the only place in town that serves liquor and we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is beautiful, an old colonial building with massive rooms and an enormous veranda looking out onto the hills where you can sit and watch the world go by... The view from the veranda at both sunrise and sunset are worth seeing.

The rooms are very basic but they are spacious, each room has a ceiling fan and mosquito nets but if you're using the rest house as a gateway to the Rain Forest then the additional space is a godsend for spreading out all your damp and smelly kit!
The rooms weren't the tidiest but weren't exactly dirty either, insect life and even the odd frog or lizard can be found in just about every room, we booked out three rooms so had a good idea of the quality of most of the rooms but that I think is part of the appeal, you really feel like you're in a different age.

Food was excellent, a very basic and straight forward menu but traditional and filling.

The staff here will help plan or even fully organise a trip into the jungle for you and will help with anything else they can.

This rest house has a beautiful, time stopped still feel and the kind of place you could lose a few weeks sat on that veranda sipping tea or a Lion beer, watching birds and the world slip by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with hot water, especially if you're heading to the rain forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Rooms are reminiscent of colonial times. Big empty, and very basic rooms (with mosquito net). The bed is located right in the middle of the room, under the cieling fan. Sheets looked like they were not washed. But it was ok, we just layed towels on them.

We stayed here for one night. Took the local bus (about 6 hours; 190Rupees). For a little bit more comfortable ride, I recommend getting the "luxury bus" to Galle (a little over 200 Rupees) and from Galle, take the bus to Deniyaya. We got off in Deniyaya, opposite post office. Walked a couple hundred meters up a hill. Excellent view of the valley from the rest house. Awesome sunrise!

The cook at the rest house is awesome. Makes delicious food. There was a total of 5 of us and the rice and noodles just kept on coming!

Room Tip: The guy who managed the place, forgot his name, but he helped organized a safari to Uda Walawe Natio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

we stayed there prior to a tuk tuk trip to sinharaja- its the old govt rest house which is a throw back to colonial days-i do love these places-architecture, space and grounds- as usual the rooms were cavernous-obviously had seen better days but still with charm-the view over the forest was quite impressive -staff were courteous and were able to serve up a simple but delicious rice and curry-i thought it was rather interesting to see the old boys on the veranda later having a few beers and talking the evening away and yes-approx 1500 fps-bargain

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

we stayed here 2 nights while visiting the rainforest. rooms are huge and open out onto a large veranda with chairs and a great view. the rice and curry was the best we had on our trip. they hooked us up with a great guide Ph: [--] (forgot his name) who was great at spotting wildlife. rooms were 1000Rps. a night. shower water was occasionally rusty and the beds were very hard. the owner assured me that he was planning on getting better matresses.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deniyaya Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniyaya Rest House

Address: on the hill in town, Deniyaya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Deniyaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Deniyaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Deniyaya Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deniyaya Rest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.