We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya to your Saves list
Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Deniyaya Temple Road | Chaminda Gintota Kapuge, Deniyaya, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Deniyaya B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not easy to find but well worth the effort. Set amongst the tea plantation at the edge of the forest you can spot rainforest fauna and flora without going anywhere! Host can organise rainforest trips to Sinharaja and are very hospitable. Lovely food - look forward to being able to visit again when the spa centre is finished - currently under construction although this didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
43
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Located about 20 minutes walk in the nature, and 5 minutes by car from deniyaya. A " lost" house in the nature, surrounded by rice and tea fields. Ok, it is right that you shouldn't have big hand cases for the last 100 meters. Even though somebody might help you !

Close to the sinharaja national park (20 minutes tuktuk), they can organize a walk for you (3 hours is really the minimum )

The hotel is very simple, in the good way. Large and very nice bedrooms. Very peaceful location. Good food and very very friendly family. All that for such a reasonable price (36€ new rooms with bfast) What else ??

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Up a narrow path through the beautiful tea plantation, lies this magnificent hotel owned by German Sri Lankans. The rooms mostly have 3 beds, of which two are very large which makes up for a wonderful sleep at night. The rooms are all furnished with stylish wooden furniture. The bathroom, with solar-powered showers, is very clean and modern. The family that runs this place is very nice, and their cooking is amazing. If you're fond of the tasty Sri Lankan curries, you shouldn't skip this place. Even more, this hotel is convediently located 10 minutes from the town of Deniyaya, and 20 minutes from the amazing Sinharaja Rainforest, which is great for hiking and during the rainseason for spotting animals. A 30 minute walk from the hotel lies the Jungle Temple. During the walk you can enjoy the views of some great paddy fields and the wonderful tea plantations in the area.
So if you're looking for a very comfortable stay and you're a real fan of great nature, this is your place to be!

Room Tip: Though most rooms have great views, the ones on the top floor have the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

You feel very welcome in this nice lodge surrounded by nature! The food is really good and the staff will help you with everything! They walked with us up to a nice jungle temple and we were invited by the sister of one of the employees to come over and drink thee. They just finished a nice spa, build on a rock.. looks great!

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in july 2012; It is not easy to reach the place; it is a steep walk through the thea-plantatio,to get to the hotel so we decided to leave the luggage in the car and just took what we needed in a small bag; But it was worth it; very nice place, very lovely staff , we ate 2 times rice and curry which was not too spicy and for my dauhter they prepared an nice noodle dish... We are a family with 2 children and the room was big and specious with all the comfort we needed.
After the walk in the sinharaja rainforest it was nice to drink a lion beer on the terras with the sound of birds on the background. The children also loved the dog; There are building an extra viewpoint so the place will even get better

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The very best part of my recent trip to Sri Lanka! I was made very welcome, spotless room, all my washing done, including mending the hole in my trouser pocket, excellent chicken curry with endless small bowls of accompanying vegetables. I had asked for a guide to be booked for a day in Sinharaja rainforest reserve, which was all organised when I arrived. Such a good day with Sarath (he's the one to go with - very knowledgeable about plants and animals, recognises birds from their calls, speaks good English too) so I stayed an extra night and spent a 2nd day with him. The hotel even provided a packet of salt to keep the leeches at bay. All this for 21 euros a night. Wonderful. This is an excellent place to stay in a beautiful part of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We really enjoyed the rainforest lodge- if there are not any other big groups there it is peaceful and very well run, the hospitality was delightful. We loved the dog (Blacky the sooki sooki doberman!)

Rooms are large and very clean.

We enjoyed walks around the tea plantations and various local roads giving us an insight in tot he village life very much. There was more wildlife around the lodge than in the so called nature park!

The state park/forest that you visit (which is one of the main reasons why you might go to the lodge- although it is a nice place to relax anyway) is VERY disappointing. We had a guide (this is compulsory) and saw very little wildlife- a lizard and a giant squirrel (which because it was not moving the guide threw stones at it!) the worst thing about the park is having to step aside for motor bikes (apparently it is a village shortcut) this really detracts from the idea of nature! Something needs to be done about this to protect nature otherwise it is just another road!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya

Address: Deniyaya Temple Road | Chaminda Gintota Kapuge, Deniyaya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Deniyaya
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deniyaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya Hotel Deniyaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Lodge Deniyaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.