We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riva Beach Resort to your Saves list
Riva Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Junas Wado,Mandrem | North Goa, Mandrem 403527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Pacific Grove, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed here with a friend in the middle of December. We went into the trip not having anything planned at all, and our new friends at Riva Beach Resort made sure that each day was a delight! They made excellent recommendations for restaurants, places to visit, and how to spend our time. The room was kept very clean and neat. The food and coffee at the resort was wonderful. Mr Manoj at the front desk became a great friend and took care of us! I can't wait to return to this place one day!

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

One of the best places we have visited.... The location was simply awesome. The Beach Front cottage provides a magnificent view of the sea & the beach. If someone is looking for a secluded, calm & serene place for holidays then this is it. The best thing that was the photographs posted in the website for Riva Beach resorts were not manipulated and it displayed what the place is in reality. Would visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose Beach Front Cottages....they have a superb view and very peaceful !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Riva beach resort is an excellent resort in the northern most goa, at Mandrem beach near Arambol area of Goa. We stayed there for three days from13th to the 16th Feb.

Pros:
1. On the beach property, separated by a small river with a wooden bridge leading to the beach giving it a scenic look.
2. Most rooms with a clear beach view.
3. Mandrem beach is a quiet clean beach, ideal for people looking for a peaceful time rather than the commercial madness of Baga or Calangute.
4. Decent food options in the hotel and the shack outside.

Cons
1. Some of the cottages do not have a good view, avoid them if possible.
2. Breakfast is not a buffet but pre-fixed menu.
3. Travel to Baga, Calangute


Overall a recommended property for someone looking for a good 3 star property.

Room Tip: Delux rooms, Ocean facing rooms, Suites are good. Courtyard cottage Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I booked an overnight stay at Riva as a birthday/thank you present for my sister and husband, 5/2/14. On arrival the management upgraded our rooms. The rooms are lovely, flat screen tv and facilities to make a cup of tea. The sound of the sea is so comforting. We had a fantastic couple of days, and staying at RIVA only added to it. We will hopefully be back next year

Room Tip: We saw 3 rooms while we where there and all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Though stayed only for a very short period the stay was comfortable & good. There were many minor glitches like faulty bath shower, the no so plesant smell of freshly painted roof n furnitures, no dustbin, no water boiler for complementary tea n coffee but over all, all the complaints were attended to as soon as asked. Its a beautiful resort and the beach is amazing ! Not ideal for ppl who wants to spend time at the other popular beaches. Food was good. Complementary breakfast was fine. The reception could be a bit more pleasant

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been there for 3 days and was quite happy with the location of the place. I was not that much happy with the service but it may be due to off season as no swimming pool, no wi-fi and room service was lazy. (all these services where mentioned during online booking).

The rooms where clean and very beautiful and i recommend this place by considering the quality of property and its location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I booked this hotel as the pictures on web looked great and things could be great if it was not so badly managed.
I booked beech front cottage and was given a room next to construction site with no beech views at all and it had very strong paint smell and was half finished..on questioning the manager first he tried to convince me that the room I have been given is the beech front cottage!! Later on he agreed to move us to cottage the following day as there was no availability ...Hotel manager offered us free meal which we refused as we just wanted what we booked for..we did get to move to the cottage the following day and the view and room was very nice however house keeping was terrible . We had to start asking them to clean our room in the morning and after several visits to the manager the room would be cleaned by late evening or night...We just wanted a relaxing holiday with children but had to argue with staff at every stage...
Also the bathroom had sewer smell ...
Restaurant is separately managed and is aweful...food and service is terrible .There us usually one guy serving and you are lucky if you get your food after 1 hour of ordering and when it arrived it was disgusting...
It could be a lovely place as it has the sea views only if you get to the right room but the management is terrible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Beach Resort

Address: Junas Wado,Mandrem | North Goa, Mandrem 403527, India
Location: India > Goa > Mandrem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riva Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riva Beach Resort situated right on the white sand beach of mandrem,one of the finest beach in Goa. we have world class coco wood cottages and ocean palms luxury rooms,all the rooms have a sea view, aircontioning,hot shower,32"lcd,minibar,phoneetc..we provide private sun beds and beach service for all our room customers.we have Buddha grill muti-cusine restaurant where we serve finest food and best service.we also have ayurvedic massage center and yoga thearapy centerother facilities like bike on hire,doctor on call,forieng exchange etc are also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Beach Resort Mandrem, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.