We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and family friendly too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarya Shamiyana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amarya Shamiyana to your Saves list
Amarya Shamiyana
Asvem Beach | Next to La Plage Restaurant, Mandrem 403527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great and family friendly too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and helpful service! Nice checking area and service! Tent was so fun! We will be back. Kids really enjoyed the atmosphere and the beach toys. Loved the cafe too! Fully recommend staying here! Families or couples, both will enjoy the originality and privacy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've been home 3 weeks now and still talk about this wonderful place every day. It really is a unique experience staying here and Mattieu and his small team of staff go out of their way to make sure everything is just perfect, so much so we felt that we arrived as guests and left as friends. If, like us, you have no private transport a short journey lift can be arranged on the back a scooter, otherwise taxis are cheap. The breakfasts are not cheap but everything is absolutely delicious and plentiful, as were the couple of lunches we tried. The tents are huge, with AC and fans, spotless clean, well equipped and have the most wonderful ayurvedic toiletries provided. I loved them so much I stocked up on them from a nearby shop before returning home. It's not really a hotel, just 4 very private but similarly styled tents. Even the reception is a tent with stylish furnishings, books and magazines - "tres chic" Plus there is a gorgeous if a little expensive boutique on site. The icing on the cake here is that it is just steps away from the fabulous La Plage restaurant (also French run but no connection). The food here is gourmet, no doubt about it, we ate our way through the menu over the course of a week and every dish looked and tasted delicious, all for a fraction of what it would cost in Europe. The massages and other body treatments from Arti (a hut wedged between the hotel and La Plage) are divine. In short if you're looking for somewhere to simply drop anchor and do little else other than chill out then this is the place to stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful large luxury tents with aircon ! Located just behind La Plage restaurant on Ashwem beach, we stayed four nights in the gold tent, and enjoyed it immensely. A really good breakfast with plenty of options and a super helpful manager (Mathieu) informed us of some lovely places to visit (Fort Tiracol and Kerrin beach for example) and some great restaurants.
The four tents are on a concrete base, with luxurious bathrooms and bedrooms, really great surroundings.
The only slight drawback is that, being in a tent, you’re more aware of any surrounding noise – morning cockerels and birds for example. It’s a great location and all the staff were super helpful, including the night security who handily dabbed our scooter seat dry as we headed off into the night. !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. We were in the pink tent. We really enjoyed the freshly made food ,the the attention to detail from all the friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Bed was very comfortable and these really were luxury tents. Would we come again ? Most definately. Thank you very much for a wonderful end to our holiday. Priscilla and Iain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I agree the photographs don't display all of the luxury. We particularly liked the outside space that was private just outside your tent. The staff are well trained to respect your privacy. A room fridge would have been useful but apart from this our trip was perfect - 6 days but you could stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Photos of the place divulge little on the wonderful treat that guests are in for once they decide to stay here. All that's needed is a leap of faith and at the click of a button one is whisked away to a glimpse of the kind of life led by a Mughal.

We were in Goa for a total of 8 days, but only got to stay at Amarya Shamiyana the first 4 days since they were completely booked up the succeeding days. From initial correspondence with Reservations, we were already provided detailed instructions about meeting the driver who will be picking us up at the airport. They also provided contact info in case any problems arose. The driver that was sent, Sachin, had a good balance of warmth and professionalism.

On arrival at the beachside hideaway we were greeted by Matthieu, one of the owners of the Amarya group. After a very welcoming introduction, he started to walk us through the entire property with fervor that would put Oprah to shame. Every single nook and cranny was presented and it was insisted that these be tried at some point: check out the shop, lounge around the reception area, sample some capsules at the Nespresso bar,… All this while he is also offering us coffee and inquiring about our visit and how our trip has been going so far.

He then escorts us to our tent and again points out every single feature, every single detail: the sun beds, the dining area, opening up the tent,… He not only explains to us the tent's amenities but goes that extra distance of actually detailing how to operate every single fixture that is in the tent from opening the closet, working out the safe, where the robes and towels are, turning on the fan and a/c, how to use the remote control, running the iPod dock… Afterwards he pulls up the guestbook that has all the information one would need to navigate in and around Amarya Shamiyana and sincerely urges that this be read. Matthieu gingerly stresses points that must be taken to heart:
- Safety is of utmost importance and they do have roving guards at night but still please make sure to keep valuables locked in the safe
- Mosquito hour is from 5-6pm (thereabouts) so please please use the mosquito repellant and there are also spray bottles laying around at the lounge area
- Please keep the mobile phone that is provided you by your side at all times and feel free to use this at your liberty be it to ring up Front Desk for any requests you might have at any time of the day/night or ring up friends/family. The mobile phone is given to guests to use for the duration of the stay.

One evening we decided to scope out the Saturday night market. We were advised that Sachin was on his way to take us and would be about a 15min wait. We figured to enjoy a cocktail at La Plage to while away the minutes. When Sachin arrived, he patiently waited for us to finish our drinks. At the market, he was considerate about where he would wait to make sure we would easily spot each other. On another evening, we were unsure of the way back to the hideaway and rang up Front Desk for directions. They instead sent someone over to pick us up and take us back safely!

We stayed here in December 2011 and had such a fabulous time spent that makes it easy to remember several aspects of our stay. The thought and care that the Amarya group puts into their service is evident in every single aspect of the place. The group is incredibly caring and will bend over backwards to see to one's every single need and make sure that guests are well taken care. Matthieu even made it a point to see us off on the day that we were checking out. Even after we had transferred and came by from time to time for some inquiries, we were treated as if we were still guests at Amarya. We had come from the North, and were actually considering their other branch (Amarya Haveli) to stay at in Delhi. We regretted 2 things: not having opted to stay there, and not being able to stay at Amarya Shamiyana for the duration of our stay in Goa. Next time we come back to India, we are definitely booking at both places!

Room Tip: There is no 1 good "room" since each tent is identical and well-placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alenquer, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Amarya. The tents are very nice, all the personnel was very helpful, Andrew does a fantastic job managing the place (nothing was never too much for him to handle and thanks to him we were able to manage alternative flights to Mumbai, when faced with a flight cancelled). The location is superb, it does feel good to be just behind "La Plage" fantastic food and ambiance and the beach is also very good.
We still miss our delicious breakfast by the tent's garden.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarya Shamiyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarya Shamiyana

Address: Asvem Beach | Next to La Plage Restaurant, Mandrem 403527, India
Location: India > Goa > Mandrem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarya Group is proud to announce that Amarya Graden has moved to Goa! Amarya has never been so indulgent... Amarya Shamiyana, a beachside hideaway on Asvem Beach, offers four lavish Moghul inspired tents with all the comforts of a modern luxury hotel while indulging our guests with a sleep closer to the shores...and to the stars. Each of our tented suites covers an area of 64 square meters and is replete with its own verandah, two intimate salons, complimentary wifi, en-suite bathroom (with a sumptuous rain shower) and of a spacious air-conditioned bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Amarya Shamiyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarya Shamiyana Mandrem, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarya Shamiyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.