We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth. The only place to stay in Goa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarya Shamiyana

Save Saved
You added Amarya Shamiyana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarya Shamiyana
Asvem Beach | Next to La Plage Restaurant, Mandrem 403527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth. The only place to stay in Goa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

After staying in the two Amarya properties in Delhi last year (and loving them), I was so excited to try Shamiyana, and obviously had very high expectations. My sister and I were certainly not disappointed - and were in fact totally blown away. The beautiful smile and warm greeting we received from the lovely Evarista on arrival set the tone for the entire stay. We were in the Gold Suite, which was stunning and perfectly located - furthest from reception etc. All staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and nothing was ever too much trouble. I did yoga 3 times with Angelika, in the beautiful raised yoga tent, and it was the best yoga class i did in my 3 weeks in Kerala and Goa. Angelika is an angel, like her name implies. The night manager, Andrew, was also lovely and made some great recos including lunch at Il Capriccio (try the home-made ravioli - to die-for!). Breakfasts are abundant and delicious. The boutique onsite is gorgeous and has some lovely pieces and La Plage is just amazing. We ate there both nights (order the mussels for entree, and then the tuna!). Ashwem beach is a stunning beach and much more low key than some of its neighbours - incl Arambol and Anjuna. It is honestly the perfect beach experience and we certainly did not want to leave. We will be back for sure. Do yourself a favour and book ASAP!!

Room Tip: The Gold Tent is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had a great stay at Amarya Shamiyana. We spent 4 nights in the Pink Tent in February, 2011. We spent 4 nights and found everything to be great. Very few power issues, big room, nice bathroom, great outdoor space, etc. I highly reccomend this property. The owner also runs a restaurant not too far from the tents... Il Capriccio. Awesome Italian food, very authentic, and great service. We ate their twice on our trip.

Room Tip: I believe all are the same, we stayed in the Pink Tent; was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Amarya for 9 nights and it was amazing. Mathieu, Andrew, and all the team were really hospitable to make our stay as good as possible. It was very relaxing, easy, we just loved it all. The breakfast was fantastic (and made whatever time you woke up, so no rush) - we ate the indian and the english breakfast, followed by the pancakes and then waddled to the beach!! The location of the tents is great, with La Plage corden bleu restaurant just next door.
It was the highlight of our holiday and we still miss it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had very high expectations of this place before i arrived, and I certainly wasn't disappointed.

After the initial problem of our driver finding the place (it is tucked away down a side road), we pulled up and received a very warm welcome by the manager. The tents (if you can call them that) are extremely luxurious, fitted with all mod cons you can imagine and some. The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept on in India in my seven visits there. The manager explained they are especially imported from Europe!

The sandy area in front of the tent was a lovely spot to relax after two weeks of touring India, and beers and snacks were brought forthwith. It was my birthday the day we arrived, and a beautiful bunch of red roses appeared soon after we did.

With two sunbeds as well as a table and chairs on the balcony; and two deck chairs as well as a table and chair in the yard; there is almost no need to leave the complex. I asked where I could buy some Bacardi Breezers around the area, and the staff popped out to get some for me, keeping them cool in the fridge until we wanted them.

Nothing is too much trouble in this place, and they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you could possibly want.

We did wander down to the beach, but found the food there wasn't a patch on the café at the hotel, so went back to Amarya Shamiyana for lunch.

There is a ceiling fan to keep you cool, and although there was an A/C unit, it didn't seem to work. It wasn't really necessary though, and we are no great fans of A/C, so much prefer the fan.

The tent was spotlessly clean, and we were impressed that when the waiter delivered our meal, he took his shoes off just to take one step up on the balcony to place our food on the table. The table-ware is of course colour co-ordinated to your tent.

The staff kindly booked a table for us at the almost-adjacent French restaurant La Plage, where the food was superb. As I said before, nothing was too much trouble, and they can arrange anything and everything you want. The service is not stuffy though, as you might expect, it is very friendly and personable.

I would love to return some day!

Room Tip: I accidentally ticked the five star above for swimming pool, but can't seem to remove it now. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We escaped to Amarya from a hotel down the beach which had hugely disappointed us and at last found the oasis we were looking for. Everything about this place is beautifully thought out. Some of those we spoke to said, 'but it's just a tent, right?' and yes, it is a tent, but 'just' a tent? Far from it... It is the most beautiful canvas structure, set out on a concrete base, big enough to swing several tigers in. The tent is the most luxurious, comfortable space I have ever stayed in and despite having A/C we never needed to use it.

Each tent (there are only 4) is set out so that they back onto the walkway. No-one walks past the entrance to your tent unless they are bringing you something. Each tent has a private garden, with tables and chairs for breakfast and sun loungers for private sunbathing. On arrival, you are given a mobile phone which you can use to call reception, or if you wish add some credit to and use to text or call anyone you like. What a wonderful idea! The bed itself is big and has the most comfortable imported mattresses we found in India. The staff are a delight, all well trained, always smiling and utterly wonderful. The owner, Mathieu is a dream. He's not there all the time, but made frequent appearances and was always kean to give us ideas, make calls for us, arrange moped hire etc... Nothing was too big or small for him or his staff. I could go on & on about Amarya, but after a bit of a rough ride in Kerala and Goa, despite paying good money, we finally found the haven we were hoping for. Highly recommended.

Also...on a side note - Amarya is a 2 minute walk from what is possible the best restaurant in the area and maybe Goa! La Plage, also French owned, is a dream...well worth several visits.

Room Tip: All of them are lovely, we stayed in Gold & Silver, all are identical apart from colour scheme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I'm not a regular guest of TA but this time I just felt obliged to leave few lines about this experience. I spent few days at Amarya Shamiyana in December 2011 with my gf and we just loved it. Everything was great and our expectations were not only met but honestly saying they surpassed it totally. Fantastic atmosphere, superb service, delicious food (breakfasts) and these awesome tents. As for the cherry on the top of the cake they have the best yoga we have ever experienced! STRONGLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Go for the golden tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

We arrived here from Patnem beach , spend 3 nights at this very friendly place by the attentive and extremely service minded Matthew and his staff ! Tents were in a quiet spot ( we never heard any noice from the carpark )
Restaurant down the road serves top food 5* and the beach in front is beautiful !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarya Shamiyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarya Shamiyana

Address: Asvem Beach | Next to La Plage Restaurant, Mandrem 403527, India
Location: India > Goa > Mandrem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarya Group is proud to announce that Amarya Graden has moved to Goa! Amarya has never been so indulgent... Amarya Shamiyana, a beachside hideaway on Asvem Beach, offers four lavish Moghul inspired tents with all the comforts of a modern luxury hotel while indulging our guests with a sleep closer to the shores...and to the stars. Each of our tented suites covers an area of 64 square meters and is replete with its own verandah, two intimate salons, complimentary wifi, en-suite bathroom (with a sumptuous rain shower) and of a spacious air-conditioned bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Amarya Shamiyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarya Shamiyana Mandrem, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarya Shamiyana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.