We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Tropicana Alibaug

Save Saved
You added U Tropicana Alibaug to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
U Tropicana Alibaug
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   at Mushet | Post Mapgaon, Near Chondi Naka, Alibaug Mandwa Road, Alibaug 402201, India (Formerly Tropicana Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Alibaug
Pune, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked this hotel for 25th & 26th Dec 2013 from travelguru after checking out reviews at Tripadvisor site. Called up and confirmed my stay. Started early morning by car from Pune and reached Alibag at 11:00 AM. Spent the next 1 hr searching for this resort. This is around 9 KMs from Alibagh bus stand (opposite direction to the beach). The resort is on a road less travelled and you realize why people buy 4x4 drive.

Once you enter the resort, it’s a totally different place with plush green lawns and trees. The check-in time mentioned was 12 noon, but we were made to wait for 45 min's at reception, the reason given - the rooms weren't prepared for folks to check-in. Once we made past the reception, rest of the trip was fabulous. All rooms are pool facing. We were given a ground floor room, just far enough to do a triple jump into the pool. The staff were very courteous with prompt & friendly response.

Pros:
Rooms are clean, spacious and aesthetic.
Neat & luxurious bathroom.
Breakfast (complimentary) & Buffets (INR. 500/-) were awesome.

Cons:
Far away from beach. Tucked into interior with few sign boards.
Those travelling without vehicle or solely for beach trip can skip this out.
No Bar. You can get your drinks from outside.
Few options for restaurants close by.


Personally, my stay at resort was fun filled. Love to be back & will recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muneesh B, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay during your recent visit. All at the resort were unhappy that you were not able to get your room on arrival as it was in the midst of very busy schedule.
At the moment we do not have the bar facilities but probably on your next visit we would have started our new bar "Captain Cook" by the swimming pool to cater to your requirements as you would have seen the work is on going.
We all look forward to your next visit to Alibaug.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    62
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
63
40
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at U-Tropicana the last weekend. The resort is good and we were pleasantly surprised to be given a villa with two rooms for a group of 6 adults and a kid. The service which has been continuously talked about in previous reviews to our surprise were negated by the staff. We were served food at out villa. One exception when the taste was not correct, the food was immediately replaced without extra cost.

The only downside were that you have to be on time for the breakfast as at peak time a large group might not get a table together. The spa needs to use aroma and music for a better experience for the value that they charge. Overall its worth to spend a relaxing weekend here.

Room Tip: If in a group, request for a villa as its secluded and gives you a big living room which is adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muneesh B, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the feedback given on TA. we always strive to provide for excellent service to our guests and see no reason not to service our guests in the villa.
Our chef was very happy to be of assistance to you and to see that his food was appreciated.
To appraise you we will be having a full fledged SPA very shortly coming up just opposite the present lobby - nevertheless the SPA Director has taken heed of your suggestions for music & aroma is working on the same.
We all at the property look forward to your next visit to the property.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on our anniversary for 1 night.we had booked the hotel through Booking.com and had a wonderful experience. There was some issue abt out conformation of booking but wen I contacted the hotel they helped me and I got conformation.. they provied a gud breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner buffets are also reasonable with very deliciously prepared food.. we loved the dinner buffet. Buffet does not have a wide spread variety but it has a very good taste. It takes 20mins drive to reach alibaug beach. Hotel staff was very good and helped us out in all things.. overall the hotel is worth staying.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muneesh B, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on TA. The staff is glad & happy that they were able to sort out issues with regards to your booking.
The chef was happy to know that you liked the food on the buffet - and he has assured that on your next visit you will see an enhancement in the spread.
We all look forward to you visiting us again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had booked a room with U Tropicana Alibaug to celebrate my first wedding anniversary with my wife and boy do I regret my decision.
The problems started since day one of booking in the resort and lasted post check-out.

Day One:
On arriving in the room and seeing how beautifully kept it was, we felt that it would be a great weekend and we would enjoy our special day. But the happiness did not last for long. As soon as we entered the bathroom there was a horrible stinking smell which would make anyone puke instantaneously. After informing the House Keeping (after several attempts the call was answered) they sent a person with a room freshener. The lady sprayed the room freshener in the bathroom which made it bearable for some 10 mins and then back to square one. After a long follow-up, finally a maintenance guy was sent to fix the problem and issue was resolved.
Planning to spend the evening in our room and having some quite time we decided to have our dinner in our room. We called up the In Room Dining number multiple times but no one answered. Then we tried the house keeping multiple times, same result. Finally we called up the reception and requested them to send the in room dining menu to our room. Even after being assured that the message would be passed on the concerned department did not get the menu till the day we checked out.
Day Two:
In the morning we called up housekeeping to clean the room while we were away for breakfast but the request went unanswered. Later when we went out and returned back in the evening the room was finally cleaned up but the toiletries were not replaced. The biggest problem for taking a bath is that you have to wait for at least 45 mins after turning on the shower as this is how long it takes for hot water to come out.
We wanted to have some green tea and asked the house keeping to send some packets of the same. We did not receive them till the time we had checked out.
Basic things like glasses, coffee stirrer were missing from the room and were not provided even after requesting them.
The service is too slow if you are lucky enough to get any.
Our whole weekend and our special day was spoilt because of this. To inform the same to the manager we called up the front desk. We were assured that the GM or front desk manager would meet us at the restaurant during dinner time (reminds me that for ala carte you have to wait for 45 mins to get your order). After waiting in the restaurant and since no one showed up we went to the reception where we were told the all the management staff had left for the day. Great service backed by great management. The front desk person told us that the manager comes to the resort at 9AM and he will schedule the meeting at the same time. Next day we waited till 10AM and finally went to the reception again to our disappointment we were informed that the management is in some meeting.
Day Three:
Finally while checking out we waited at the reception till someone came. The Frontdesk manager met with us and listened to our issue. Apologizing for the inconvenience and informed us that many customers are facing some issues but I guess we were the lucky ones to get the whole package :).
After asking us to send an email with all the issues and assuring that we would get a complimentary one night stay (WOW!!!! after ruining two nights of our special weekend) no reply has been received from them after sending the email.
I would never recommend this to anyone who wants to have a good service expectation from a resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muneesh B, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to thank you for writing on TA and secondly for meeting up with me on my trip to Pune.
Your points are well taken and as discussed your issues have been shared & discussed with the team.
We would love to have you back again on your next visit to alibaug.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It starts from a breezy ferry ride into the mandwa port. another 20 mins on the road to discover a goa like setting , malvani feel of the staff and food ..the U TROPICANA at Alibaug. warmth galore and 5 star rooms in a resort setting with large pools & a SPA to indulge.

a revival kit for the dead mumbaikar

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muneesh B, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We are glad that we lived up to your expectations during your recent visit to the property. We would like to thank you for taking time to write on TA.
The team is really glad that you enjoyed the cuisine on offer , the pool and above all the SPA facilities.
To appraise you we are coming up with our full fledged SPA area very shortly along with a Gym.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit Alibaug.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We visited this place in Nov 2013. It's a great place, amazing pool view for all the rooms, a very green estate and a serene place. We had a good time playing carrom, pool, relaxing on the hammock. Food: The food is good however more delicacies could be added. More breakfast items are surely needed in the buffet breakfast (would be great if dosa/uttapam are made available daily in addition to poha, poori bhaji and omellettes that are served). House keeping and upkeep is good and they provide a prompt service. There is still some ongoing construction on the property, but I am sure it will be an even better place once the work is over. Location: Kihim beach is about 3-4 kms from the hotel. The 1km patch from Chondi bazaar to the hotel is a very bad road. More sign boards from Pen to Chondi would be appreciated. To sum it up all, we have a great time and really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Personally prefer the first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muneesh B, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write on TA and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the property. We all look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Its a great property with fantastic views all around the property. Great for a weekend with family and friends. A lot of the property is still under construction so there are a few problems with the service. Also the food sitting area is not comfortable since there is no air-conditioning and there is no changing area and toilets for the pool either. The staff was helpful but very slow. But the pool is great and the surroundings so beautiful that it makes u forget about all these things. Also the rooms are well furnished and very well kept. A lot of greenery around you with a library, cycling track and good food. I hope on my next visit all work will be completed and few of the minus points just vanish. A great potential in the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muneesh B, General Manager at U Tropicana Alibaug, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to write on TA and we look forward to your next visit to the property.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to U Tropicana Alibaug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Tropicana Alibaug

Address: at Mushet | Post Mapgaon, Near Chondi Naka, Alibaug Mandwa Road, Alibaug 402201, India (Formerly Tropicana Resort)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Alibaug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Alibaug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U Tropicana Alibaug 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your U Tropicana Alibaug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Alibaug

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Tropicana Alibaug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.