We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing place to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine-de-la-Carrere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthez-de-Bearn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine-de-la-Carrere
Save
You added Domaine-de-la-Carrere to your Saves list
54 La Carrere, 64370 Arthez-de-Bearn, France   |  
Hotel amenities
ascot
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful experience. Hosts are loverly. Their home is so intesting in its history. Food wow. And so relaxing. The pool is an added bonus. Beds are comfortable the rooms are huge including a separate dressing room and separate bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was the best Bed and Breakfast my wife and I have ever stayed in. Wonderful Hosts, amazing home, Fantastic food. If you want to know how to enjoy life please visit. We stayed on two separate occasions (in two different rooms) and can't wait to go back to try a third. A real gem

Room Tip: Any room will be a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Fantastic home, hosts and food. Plus it had the best garden and swimming pool we encountered on our tour of south-west France. We were very happy with our room (#4) at the top of the historic house. We stayed 4 nights and having one of their dinners on our first night, persuaded Fritz to cook for two more of them. Each one was a taste sensation and very different.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just about the best guest house we've stayed in in many years of travel (yet with one of the worst websites - but I'm sure our shrewd hosts know what they're doing!). This historic house is immaculately presented, with a beautiful, well-equipped and spacious bedroom (Room IV, the cheapest I think); the pool area is a delight; and the dinners and breakfasts, all on the terrace given the June heat, were excellent. Arthez isn't the most exciting little town, but it's great to have some real Gascon atmosphere on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Well, what can we say about this wonderfully restored Chateau and of course the owners; Mick & Fritz. Firstly, this wonderful Chateau is well worth a visit, a hidden treasure in France.

We stayed one night but wanted to stay 14 (at least) This Chateau is immaculately clean, beautiful rooms, wonderful food, top service, beautiful gardens. We managed to catch stage 13 of the Tour De France at the start of our 10 day cycling holiday.

We stumbled across the Chateau having Googled the area. What an amazing find ... we highly recommend a stay and we shall certainly return with our bikes.

Mike and Fritz were extremely accommodating. They prepared an excellent meal at very short notice. The ambience of the dining room surrounded by period furniture left one imagining that you could be eating in another era.
They helped with our aspirations of seeing the TDF with printed maps, local knowledge and directions. In a word, lust brilliant!
We will be back and cannot recommend this Chateau highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

While the small village of Artez-de-Béarn has little to offer itself, the beautiful Domaine de la Carrere is a real gem and is well-situated for "day-trips" to the Basque Country, the Pyrenees, the lovely city of Pau and Lourdes--all of which we did on our six days here.

The property itself is amazing! It's a 15-16th Century manor house, fully restored and beautifully updated. Each room is charming and comfortable. The common areas are fantastic--opulent, but comfortable. The grounds, garden and pool areas are beautiful and secluded. The guest rooms (at least ours and the ones we looked into) are spacious and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts each morning, while "the usual" (with an occasional boiled egg) were more than substantial, freshly baked and delicious.

They also offer a dinner option, but we only had dinner there one evening. It was a masterpiece, with perfect courses, wine and service. (The most delicious Roquefort in the cheese course I've ever had!)

The pool area, on a lower level from the house is fully secluded and surrounded by beautiful plantings, including a magnificent stand of banana plants. The setting is peaceful and as we were the only guests at that time, swimming au natural was an option. On the afternoon of our arrival, our hosts served us delicious "shandies" poolside, as a welcome drink!

To discuss this accommodation and not emphasize the masterful hosts would be a mistake. Mike and Fritz make Domaine-de-la-Carrere that special place it is. Not just in their lovely furnishings, decor, meals and efficient management, but in their charming, funny and extremely helpful attention to the guests' needs. Each day, they provided us color printouts, well-marked, of our day's suggested itineraries. They were most engaging in their stories of the house and their candid opinions of potential destinations in the area.

Dining, outside the house, especially if you'd like to leave the rental car parked, is dicey at best. Arthez has a small brasserie and an auberge within easy walking distance from the Domaine. The auberge is minimal and the auberge owner/waiter has an attitude. The brasserie, on the other hand, appears to be a local meeting spot, with good food and friendly and accommodating staff. Otherwise, a twenty minute drive over to Orthez, to the west, is called for.

One comment: While there is free WiFi, due to the nature of 12-18 inch thick stone walls of this house, the signal does not always reach guestrooms. We could not use our wireless devices, without leaning out of our windows, to get a line-of-sight position with the windows of the owners apartments! A bit frustrating, but they did offer us access to an unoccupied guestroom right above their quarters to use when we needed the Internet. To be honest, this issue will always be one that faces travelers to older structures. Be prepared to accept this fact and don't pin your hopes of blogging and Skyping 24/7 from the comfort of your guestroom.

This is a beautiful place, with excellent hosts, who speak English and French. They spoke of possibly selling this property and moving back to England, where they both come from, after living here for over eleven years. Who knows when that may come to pass, but in the meantime, we highly recommend Domaine-de-la-Carrere.

Room Tip: Don't worry, Mike and Fritz will take good care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed for one night on a return trip to the UK from a week on the Canal du Midi - yes a long way round via Biarritz!

We arrived about 4.30 and sat by the pool for a couple of hours (I even had a shower by the pool, with lovely products to use). Had a look round the gardens, cared for by Mike, and peeked over the wall at the back to see a deer standing there. We retired to our beautiful and massive room before having an excellent dinner, cooked by Fritz, in the lovely dining room.

Had a wonderful night's sleep and a great breakfast which we could have had out on the terrace if we had preferred.

Overall a great stay and would highly recommend the house and the hosts. Please don't be put off by the website (some of our party thought a bit tacky) which does not give the correct impression of a 5* B & B

Room Tip: Have twin room if tall - no end to beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine-de-la-Carrere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine-de-la-Carrere

Address: 54 La Carrere, 64370 Arthez-de-Bearn, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Arthez-de-Bearn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arthez-de-Bearn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality home stay/guest house in a 17th-century manor with swimming pool situated close to Pau (20 mins), Biarritz (40 mins), Pyrenees & Spain (1 hr). Domaine de la Carrere offers its guests a "table d'hote" dinner service. Guests love its unique ambiance & refined decor with its abundance of antiques and original paintings. The house oozes taste and style. Bedrooms/suites are big. Dinners in the superb original oak-paneled dining room are serenely elegant affairs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine-de-la-Carrere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.