We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Normande

Auberge Normande
11, Boulevard de Verdun, 50500 Carentan, France
01 45 84 83 84
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Auberge Normande is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Carentan
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
hailsham,east sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Group dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

18 of us booked into this hotel-a good choice as part of Logis de France.Always a safe bet.
Restaurant were a touch overwhelmed with number but we were not in a rush;lock gate did not open for another 12 hours!!
All happy with choices and many of us had the local cider-same as 2 of us had the night before in L'escapade which opposite side of the road-near to SNCF station.
Not expensive-we could have splashed out more but no need to.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    28
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never again!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Where do start? Appalling staff, manager looked at his watch twice before going to find us a table (it was 9.30pm..), even if the restaurant was mostly empty, leaving us to wait in front of the bar that was covered with dirty glasses. We sat in the courtyard, next to an open kitchen door with radio blaring and hung laundry from the hotel.
The menu is traditional and varied, quite pricey but the translation in English would be hilarious if it wasn't so appalling (laminated sausages anyone?). The cutlery was cheap and bendy, the glasses not matching, and one of our starter was left on the table until dessert arrived.
After waiting for more than 10 minutes for the bill after our desserts plates had been cleared, we went to the bar to pay, passing in front of the reception and manager who did not lift his head from is computer screen. Waiter at the bar was chatting with his mates, told us we had to go to reception to pay, no apologies.
The manager had to redo the bill twice before handing it to us, not sure why, there was only 2 of us with straightforward menus. He then asked us if all was ok to which we replied no and started to explain, but he seemed unbothered and did nothing to apologise, blaming it on waiter!
All in all, huge disappointment for place that looks quite nice and upmarket for the town. Don't go there, they clearly don't need your money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little French gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A group of 7(5 adults and 2 children) went for lunch without a booking. We were seated inside in a well appointed dining room,the staff were friendly and efficient. The food was made of local fresh ingredients.the desserts were outstanding ( in size and taste!)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious French Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a ten year old girl part of a group of seven people we went to lunch on a Thursday without booking.
The minute you walk in the door you feel welcomed. The staff are very nice and well mannered. The table was nicely set out . The meals were delicious especially the steak and chips for main, vanilla and chocolate ice cream for dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not good value for money, the areas approaching our room were unkept and untidy, that said the room was quiet and the bed comfortable, although air conditioning would help as it was stuffy. We said on booking that breakfast was not required and indeed. Not taken, it was however added to our bill and when. Noticed deducted. The minibar prices were ridiculous. My advice is to ditch the hotels and stay at a B and B.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Normande also viewed

 
Carentan, Manche
Carentan, Manche
 

Been to Auberge Normande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Normande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.