We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burdett's Country Retreats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Basket Range
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burdett's Country Retreats
Save
You added Burdett's Country Retreats to your Saves list
Burdetts Road, Basket Range, South Australia 5138, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Basket Range B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“This place is magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hillgrove House for our 4 year anniversary on the 6th, 7th and 8th of January after my sister and I sent our parents there as a surprise gift earlier in the year. They couldn't praise it enough and so I wanted to see for myself. Despite my high expectations I was not disappointed! Meg and Andrew gifted us both with countless little personal touches that went above and beyond any service I have ever experienced at a B&B before.

Upon arrival, we were treated to flowers of my partner and my favourite colours (upon request), a bottle of bubbly, chocolates, nougat, sweets, complimentary drinks and a personalised welcome note.

In terms of food, we were provided a huge dessert platter (ordered the luxury package), countless assortments of drinks, and enough fresh eggs, bacon, tomatoes,hash browns, mushrooms, fresh crusty bread, jams, spreads, fresh fruit etc that we did not need to leave the property to eat the entire time! I just can't express how much food there was. I mean there was icecream and soup and crackers and Pâté and cheese and more!

In the bathroom, there was a lovely big spa bath and every toiletry ever needed to have a relaxing bubbly bath, or a shower.

The views were breathtaking, and being surrounded by the fresh country air and stunning nature really made for a relaxing break from reality. They even provided bird seed, a bird watching book and binoculars for those wishing to connect with the wildlife.

The place was immaculate, and it became very obvious to us that Meg and Andrew put a huge amount of effort into making it so. There were multiple fire places (which were definitely used!), CD's, board games, books, DVD's, a TV and even a game of quoits out in the garden. There were many comfortable places to sit including two leather reclining lounge chairs and a reclining leather couch too. The bed was beautiful and comfortable and was equipped with an electric blanket for when it gets cold.

Overall, this stay was something to never forget. Meg and Andrew should be congratulated for their outstanding dedication to customer service all throughout the process - from prompt and friendly email responses to the beautiful personal touches that pamper their guests.

I highly recommend anyone who is looking for a relaxing trip away to come here. There really are no negatives I could think of - they think of everything and more. Thank you for your generosity Meg and Andrew. It means a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Casey - Many thanks for your review. Andrew and I are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay at Hillgrove House. We really do try to "go that extra mile" for our guests and it is great to know that our efforts are appreciated. We do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hillgrove house i and we couldn't fault it. Well stocked with local produce, comfortable king bed, lovely big spa bath, cosy fire, lovely gardens and a view to melt away all cares - perfect for recharging those batteries! We stayed in Warratah Cottage a couple of years ago with our dog and this set the benchmark for all of our BnB stays - well Hillgrove house just upt it a little! Well done Meg and Andrew!

Room Tip: Take your slippers - the tiled floor is a little chilly in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Robyn - Andrew are I are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay at Hillgrove House, and thank you for your review. The weather was certainly fine for you and, you are quite right - those views definitely make life worth living. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldinga Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My Wife and I found this wonderful B&B via a search for Pet Friendly acommodation, and what a delight it turned out to be! We stayed in Waratah Cottage and it was just perfect for the two of us and our little English Staffy "Harper".
The location is secluded and tranquil, the views are spectacular, the cottage is wonderfully cosy, and the local provisions are sensational, a real credit to Meg and Andrew. The fully equipped kitchen felt like a home away from home, the cupboards were stocked like it was your home pantry!
Big breakfasts (Hash Browns in the freezer!!) and lazy afternoons in the fenced back yard sipping bubbles (we ordered the indulgence package, French Champagne and a massive plate of gourmet treats!) was the perfect weekend getaway recipe for our 15th Wedding Anniversary.
The fully stoked open fireplace was ready to roar, and there was plenty of extra fuel for the fire on the front porch for the next night.
We did pack some of our own provisions, but we didn't need any of it! We had grabbed some take away curry from Leabrook on the way there so we didn't need to dine out (also because we didn't want to leave the dog unattended as recommended).
The Adelaide Hills and towns within are a great place to visit, we took the dog to the Mount Barker Markets, and Ashton Hills Cellar door even allowed us to bring Harper inside while we did a tasting!
So a big thank you to Meg and Andrew for providing such a beautiful place to stay, we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review, and thank you also for being such considerate guests. The Adelaide Hills are certainly beautiful, especially at this time of year, and the yummy local produce really can't be beaten.. (I'm sure our guests leave a kilo or two heavier!) Andrew and I are delighted that you (and Harper) enjoyed your visit to Waratah Cottage and we would love to welcome you back at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our teenage daughters gave us a weekend holiday at Hillgrove House as a gift - what a treat! We went right at the end of winter, so everything was lush and green, and cool enough for log fires at night, but were blessed with warm days and sunshine, perfect for lounging in the comfortable adirondack chairs on the front lawn overlooking a valley of warratah flowers. From the king size bed, to the fancy double-recliner leather couch and the spa bath - everything was immaculate, comfortable and in excellent taste. The food provisions were extraordinary - all the best & freshest local produce in extravagent quantities - and not just basic, but smoked salmon, yoghurts, ice-cream, gourmet pizza, 3 types of home-made cookies etc, etc, etc. Sticking to a diet is going to be harder than normal here :) Thoughtful personal touches everwhere reveal that the owners (whom we never saw) have invested a lot of time & effort to create something special and memorable here. We will certainly want to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to Hillgrove House - you certainly picked a lovely weekend too. We do go to a lot of trouble to source the best of local produce for our guests, and are very pleased that you enjoyed it all. Of course we would have been delighted to meet up with you, but we never ever disturb our guests unless invited as we believe you deserve complete privacy during your stay. We do hope you will both return in the future, and perhaps we can then say a personal "welcome".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We never met the owners of this self-contained establishment, but from the moment we arrived we felt welcome and as if we had stepped into a loved home. The personal touches including the birthday cake and candles made us feel so special. We could not fault the quality of the appliances and the quantity and quality of the food provisions were amazing. Appreciated the fact that as responsible dog owners we could take our fur-baby with us. We will be back.....soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Andrew and I were very glad to welcome you both to South Australia and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hillgrove and all the delights that the Adelaide Hills has to offer. We are firm believers that this part of South Australia is extraordinary in its natural beauty. Do come back and see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Hillgrove House for 3 nights in July and we deemed it to be the best accommodation we had in our 2 weeks in South Australia. Meg and Andrew have thought of everything with provisions to last a lifetime as well as a stunning place to enjoy them. Sitting out side watching the various birds come and eat from the bird feeder whilst listening to the waterfall below and overlooking the beautiful valley. We spent our days visiting the towns of the adelaide hills which we absolutely loved but wish to return one day and agin stay in Hillgrove house to sit by the fire and try and eat all the beautiful food that was supplied whilst sitting by the toasty warm fire. A surprise birthday cake was most unexpected but enjoyed and we particularly loved reading about the history of the house. Thank you for a brief stay and we look forward to returning for longer in the not to distant future.
Don't change a thing meg - you have it perfect! We will be recommending it to all our friends here in brisbane!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at Hillgrove House. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to take a winter mini break up in the Hills, hoping to find a quaint, picuresque location where we could retreat inside and cosy up with an open fireplace. Even better that we could take our family (2 dogs) with us! We sure got a great weekend... freezing temperatures, hail, heavy rain and even snow at one point! We were wonderfully comfortable, well looked after and had so many little treats and goodies to keep us going. Everything was taken care of.
Loved the personalised touches, welcome note, bed set up for the pooches, fireplaces ready to go with lots of firewood, food galore! and a VERY comfy bed.
We honestly did not want to leave, the best recharge weekend we've had.
Cannot wait to do it again next winter :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments. Andrew and I are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Hillgrove and we thank you also for being such considerate guests. It will be great to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burdett's Country Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burdett's Country Retreats

Address: Burdetts Road, Basket Range, South Australia 5138, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Basket Range
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Basket Range
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising Hillgrove House and Waratah Cottage, these two beautifully appointed, AAAT 4.5 star, self-contained bed & breakfast retreats offer complete privacy, tranquility and breathtaking views in the heart of the Adelaide Hills wine region. Just 30 minutes from Adelaide, 60 minutes from the Barossa Valley, 90 minutes from the ferry to Kangaroo Island and adjacent to all premier tourism attractions, they are renowned for their style, first class amenities, generous hospitality and outstanding attention to detail. These getaways definitely do make life worth living! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burdett's Country Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.