We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre

Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre
3 Main Street, Belleek BT93 3FY, Northern Ireland
+44 28 6865 9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Belleek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2014 Northern Ireland Tourist Board "Best Visitor Experience 2014" Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre is home to one of the oldest working Potteries in the world beginning it's existence in 1857. Guided tours of the complete production facility are offered giving guests a real opportunity to see how the product has been made throughout the ages, from start to finish. Many of the unique tools and techniques are still used today being handed down from generation to generation. Guests are afforded the opportunity to also meet with the craftspeople along the way and even get the chance to try casting a new piece, dipping in transparent glaze, painting some of the beautiful hues of pastel colours or even breaking products in our QA rejects department! After the Pottery tour our guests are invited to relax in our Belleek tearoom and have a cup of coffee or lunch whilst looking out on the River Erne.
Boston, Ma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

So happy to see how the pieces were made. I had no idea how it was done. Shocked and impressed at the fine details of the entire process. I will certainly treasure the pieces I have and all the new ones I purchased. lovely!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear KRLBoston,
Thank you for joining us and writing this review about our Pottery Tour. It is indeed the case that our guests become very much more appreciative of the creative aspect of our hand made manufacturing processes when it is seen at first hand on the factory floor. It is even more so when the craftspeople describe to the tour group what they are doing at that exact moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    46
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Porcelain made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A leisurely tour of this pottery factory......This place has been around for over a century.... a guide takes small groups through, explaining each step of the process of making very fine, delicate items. We were able to watch the artists work on individual pieces and converse with them. Nice sales shop with prices reasonable. Great selection of gift items at a reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AP_Goan, Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Owlie Ontario,
Thank you for visiting Belleek Pottery on your recent holidays; it is always encouraging for us to receive positive comments after a visit . Indeed, we continuously review our content and quality standards and seek out ways to improve further what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and mother-in-law have many pieces of Belleek pottery that I'm pretty sure they love more than they love me and to be honest, I couldn't see what all the fuss was about. That is, until I went to the Belleek Pottery "factory / museum". Calling it a factory doesn't even seem right because the tour was amazing and the craftsmen/women are absolutely outstanding. The showroom is well laid out and the museum portion is very interesting. I'm sorry I didn't "get it" before....I'm a believer now!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Eric A,
Thank you for your inspiring review yesterday; it is always encouraging see that we have satisfied vsiitors; we do work hard at giving everyone a very worthwhile and memorable experience when visiting our Centre. We do appreciate that there are a lot of choices out in the market place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Belleck Pottery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A very interesting place which we visited as part of an organised tour of Co. Fermanagh. We were accompied by a very knowledgable Tour Guide. We saw the local craftsmen at their work producing lovely pieces of fine Parian china which is mainly exported to the USA and Canada. We finished with a very nice lunch in their restuarant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Raymond37,
Thank you for the recent visit with the tour group. It is nice to see the very many tour groups that visit us from GB and we look forward to many more in the future!

We are always happy to see that our visitors have had a pleasant visit and whatt better way to finish the visit than a nice meal in our award winning restaurant overlooking the River Erne!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a working factory which is still producing the world famous Belleek pottery. The tour is both interesting and informative. You get to see the actual workers making the various items. It is a real working area, not performers. The guides are great. Small kids need to be held by the hand. I recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear JCE99,
Thank you for your kind review on your recent visit to Belleek Pottery Visitor Centre. The new production facility that we have now was designed a number of years ago with vsiitors in mind. When we designed it we knew that we wanted the world to see what we were doing and how we did it. We feel that, for a factory tour, it is vitally important that the visitor can get as close to the action as possible and we do that in spades!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre also viewed

Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.