We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masons Arms

Masons Arms
41 Lower, Odcombe, England
01935 862591
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Odcombe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Masons Arms is a picture postcard thatched pub in a pretty hamstone village. We offer luxury en suite rooms, fabulous meals, microbrewery on site and a warm welcome! You can benefit from a quiet rural location surrounded by picturesque countryside whilst only 10 minutes from the A303 and minutes from the amenities available in Yeovil town centre.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely pub, lovely staff and the food was OK. One dish was returned because it was under cooked and my meal (deep fried brie) was a starter with a main course price, needless to say I was disappointed and meant that I needed to order a dessert, which was good value and totally yummy! Whilst the other two had good old pub food, it was simple but good value. Sorry but I will try other pubs before going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Petherton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

recommended to us only visited twice good food little of our beaton track but remember it for very good food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food is LUSH! I have been here a couple of times and have never been disappointed. You don't have to wait long for the food. The service is excellent, all the staff were friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
“disappointed rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I , my son and his partner were very disappointed with a roast lunch which they treated me to for my birthday. The plates were cold, making the food the same, the portions were small, the vegetables only consisted of cabbage with a small amount of carrots came in a small dish which was only enough for one, for the price of 12 pounds per head. I could not recommend this as good value at all, and certainly wouldnt recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masonsarms, Owner at Masons Arms, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Following a record breaking weekend unfortunately we were unable to provide the normal choice of 3 or 4 vegetables to accompany your roast right at the end of service. We did however supply plenty of the vegetables we did have and also the rest of the meal was its usual high standard with locally sourced and high welfare standards meat. This means we are not able to 'pile it high' as establishments that use poorer quality meat suppliers (often not British) do. I am sorry you were disappointed but thankfully as we are fully booked every Sunday your opinion would appear to be the exception!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A cut above pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

You get decent food at this village pub. Not just traditional dishes such as an excellent beer battered fish with perfect chips and peas, but dishes with a little more imagination too such as scallops with fried black pudding on a bed of mushy peas – a novel and rather good combination. It’s not fine dining – you eat at varnished tables in the comfortable saloon bar, and order at the counter - but the quality is excellent, the service efficient and friendly and the value (£13 for fish and chips) good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masons Arms also viewed

 

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masons Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.