We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sanatori, 1, 43880 El Vendrell, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Vendrell
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The building, the shell of an old sanatorium, is strange. It was never meant to be a hotel and the immense reception / lounge area was once a church.

The location is on a long (very long) clean beach. The nearby resort is a bit basic but there are a number of good typical tapas bars and small restaurants near. It is not the Marbella strip nor Puerto Banus - it is more Spanish 'popular'. There is an endless promenade.

The hotel is well managed (Starwood) and spotless. Piano bar with piano music at night and Breakfast! Staff are professional / informal . I like it that way.

The best is the restaurant. Great food with fun and inventive sweets. Small wine list.

The building does remind me of a Hitman game. Great Spa.

Prices are as one would expect. 140 rooms (?). The sea views are nice.

I will probably be back. It is a great place for a celebration if you live in Barcelona. Could be a really great honeymoon hotel. Great place for a conference too!

The worst thing? The building reminds me of a computer game. It is a quirky building with a creepy history but that's part of its charm.

I am not into spas but they say it is the best by far in the area. Partner said she felt " at ease". Sounds good.

Room Tip: Ask. A sea view is always nice. The nearer the main elevator, the better. The building is a bit spre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMRA, General Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your most recent stay at Le Meridien RA.
Your description of our installations quite describes the truly unique character of
the hotel, the 4-story Explore Spa and our Convention facilities.
Yes, our hotel is often selected to host unique and personalized weddings, whether
held on the beach, on our rooftop terraces or in our beautiful gardens.
We appreciate reading your expectations as to service and comfort were met.
Should your travels away from Barcelona ever bring you back to the Costa Daurada, it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you again at Le Meridien Ra

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    155
    46
    21
    10
See reviews for
78
272
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hello there,

For my fellow americans ad world travelers, this is NOT a 5* hotel like they say...for american standards it may be a 3*. I was traveling through Europe last year and was there to soend a weekend. Horrible experience. Its like going back to the 80´s. First rooms are totally outdated with marks on the walls and mold in the showers. Customers service? No. Nobody smiles or help you and I am not exaggerating. Most of the seasonal employees are students - blessed their heart (all the restaurants and outlets, including the beach) all students and few trained people who can actually serve people. Most of them are overworked and tired looking. I felt bad. The spa is old. They said it was renovated, I can only imagined before renovation!! To go to the pool my husband (which is almost completely bold) HAD to wear a cap ?¿?¿ They said to me that all hotel employees are seasonal because they are closed half of the yer (which I dont doubt) The 5* standard must stand for the area where the hotel is at (maybe). Its not a pleasurable city :-( The beach was the only nice site to look at but one of the employees (arabian older guy) screamed so much at us sometimes that made us scared. I have traveled and stayed with Le Meridien hotels before but this one was not up to the standards (in any aspect). If you are going there, g luck but dont expect what they offer in their website. Its nothing like that when you see the real thing.

K Teixeira

Room Tip: Pray and Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMRA, General Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We are truly sorry to read we did not live up to your expectations of our hotel during your most
recent visit.
From reviewing all of our guest´ comments reaching us via various media, we are able to
single your comments out as an unfortunate and individual experience.
We are very fortunate to have been able to maintain Starwood and Le Meridien standards
for a number of years, with strict and regular inspections on their behalf.
At Le Meridien RA, we furthermore foster an environment in which guest observations are in general attended to as soon as they reach our team of professional staff, most often during their stays.

Our sincere apologies for not having been able to meet your expextations as to the signature Starwood Hotel & Resort experience.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three days and the room's floor was whole time dirty and dust was all over the place. Once we called services twice but no one picked up.
The food was in good quality and the staff was kind and helpfull.
The location is isolated so be aware if you expect smtg else.. It is a place to rest and catch calm..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMRA, Director General at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent comments on your stay at Le Meridien RA.
We are glad you appreciated our unique and tranquil location and most of our services
We pride ourselves on a professional and attentive staff.
Your observations have our attention and form part of our continuous efforts towards improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ra on a future occasion.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Le Meridien Ra back in September and it was a great place to stay. On arrival our bags were taken in hand, we were given a glass of Cava, and were booked into a sea view room - spacious, with a good bathroom, with a sizeable balcony. This is a hotel that is really all about relaxing next to the sea.

It's an attractive hotel that blends an old building with modern extensions that have been done tastefully. It's not the easiest place to get to, but you can get a train from Barcelona directly to the station and it's a short cab from there (not always cabs waiting).

The spa facilities are excellent - there are a choice of two pools, one is a sea water thalassotherapy pool and it really is a great experience. The beach is semi private, with chairs and parasols and there is a member of staff to make sure that there is always somewhere for you on the beach at any time. He is on the beach all day and looks after the guests very well and is a credit to the hotel. Also on the beach is a small hut where you can get drinks/snacks.

The main restaurant is of a good standard, and there is a buffet offering as well where the breakfast (very extensive) is served.

The nearby town is a fairly average, you can walk along the sea front (or borrow a bike from the hotel) and there are a couple of nice places to eat or drink or buy small souveniers. The coast in general along here has been mostly spoiled by excessive developments of boring looking holiday flats, but it isn't as spoiled as many other parts of Spain. The guests were mostly French or German couples, with a range of ages.

Standards of service and politeness were positive across the board. A conference happened while we stayed but it was delivered without impacting on our stay.

There are no organised activities such as jet skis motorboats etc etc. I'd recommend this hotel if you want to relax for a few days on the beach, and don't want to have to worry about anything. You're never more than a few steps away from the sea, the pool or a nice drink. It's not full of noisy people or activities, the whole place is geared-up for relaxation, and we were able to enjoy a nice break stress-free.

Room Tip: Sea view is best but pretty much all rooms have a sea view at least in part
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMRA, General Manager at Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It has been a pleasure welcoming you at Le Meridien Ra for your restful and relaxing vacation.
Thank you for your positive comments on our staff, services and unique beachfront location.

Should you travels ever bring you back to Spain, we´d hope to welcome you again here at Le Meridien Ra.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days and it was a great vacation for me and my family.
We had a little problem at check-in. I booked the deluxe room with sea view but the girl from reception gave us a room with back side sea view. Her explanation was to try to solve my problem with booking.com...but came a manager Maria and gave us an amazing room.
If you want to travel it will be better to come with the car.
In the hotel you can get all information from cultural concierge. Excellent girl. She helped us s lot. Thanked to her we saw all Catalonia.
For sure we"ll come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is in a typical Spanish seaside resort and I can recommend visiting slightly out of season, say early September when it is still warm, the sea is good for swimming and there aren't so many tourists. Having said that, there is a Rock-a-billy music festival which is on in Calafell in September (4-8th) which looks like good fun. That is away from the tranquility of this hotel though. There are private loungers on the beach front which are run by the most tanned man in the world. You can rent kayaks and surf boards further along the beach.There aren't many Brits abroad in the resort that the hotel is based beside, only local Spaniards holidaying and a few toffs in this hotel! We got a last minute deal which had the spa access which was lovely. The massage was good but pricey. The water in the main pool was quite salty, apparently rich in minerals which promote healing. It was, however, a bit cooler than I would like so I didn't do the massage jet bit as much as I would have liked. This hotel is full of little pockets where you could relax and lounge, like the sofas on the terrace overlooking the beach. The decor inside the atrium of the old TB sanatrium is a cross beteen Conran and Habitat. There was a piano player there one evening. There was a nice outdoor pool and bar area and there was a wedding party while we were there which looked very nice. There are sun pods and rattan outdoor swinging chairs that you can chill out on the terrace on and watch the sunset. Our room was a good size and we were brought a bottle of Cava on the first night which we saved as we were broken from out night in Barcelona the day before. The food and drinks there are expensive but the breakfast that was included was top notch. There was champagne on ice if you so wished for a liquid breakkie. The transfer to Reus airport we were quoted via the hotel was extortionate so we walked to the local taxi rank, next to the train station and booked one for half the price. The taxi can't come into the hotel itself but can wait outside. If you are coming to and from Barcelona airport you could get the train and get off at Calfell, then walk along the seafront until you get to the hotel (maybe 15 minutes) or get a cab in 5 minutes. We got a train to St Vincinte De Calders then a cab as there are only a few trains per day to Calafell. Here is the metro / train map from Barcelona:

http://www.gencat.cat/rodalies/doc/planol.pdf

There is private parking so you could definately hire a car. The lady in the tourist office in Calafell has all the bus and train timetables and was really helpful. I can recommend hiring bikes (either from the hotel or from the place across from the tourist office in Calafell) to explore the sea front. At night the Spanish families come out for a little promenade and it has a nice vibe.There are several fair to middling restaraunts on the front which aren't too far from the hotel. It is worth getting a 3 for 2 entry to the castle in the Medieval part of Calafell, Iberian ruins and the fishermans cottage. I think it would be worth staying longer as there are some good wineries and lots of other things to do in Tarragona. If you are skint there is a campsite down the road on the beach and I'm guessing you could pay for a day spa as a treat or come for one nights luxury!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My company held our annual European Sales Meeting in November. This resort is usually closed during this time of the year so that might have been related to some of the issues we had. First, the appearance of the resort is fabulous. This resort was once a tuberculosis sanitarium and now is a nice blend of modern and old styles. Rooms are spacious for European standards and bedding and amenities are very good. Bathrooms are huge! My room had both a standing shower and separate bath tube. My biggest complaint was rooms heating and cooling was awful. Being it was November and mildly cool, the rooms were still very WARM! I would hate to see what these would feel like in 80-90 degree weather in the summer. Many complained they could not get their rooms cool and would have to sleep with their balcony doors open - this led to a mosquito problem where many had severe bites on them. Another problem was the showers are all equipped with a waterfall like shower head. This was not at all pleasant!! It was likened to being beaten! The other issue we had was with irons and ironing boards - there are not in the rooms and for a large group there were in big demand.

As for the quality of the food service, we had pretty good experience. All meals were very fresh, flavorful and had a good variety. We only had one night where the food was average to poor and it was a tapas night. We were served a shrimp tapas that was horrible! The shrimp were overcooked and soaked in oil and had the consistency of mush. We also had a piaya that was very bad!

Overall this resort is a good place to stay and has a great location - beautiful surroundings. If the hotel would make some minor changes it would have been a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida del Sanatori, 1, 43880 El Vendrell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > El Vendrell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Vendrell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, inspiration is found in the hotel's open spaces. As guests arrive, senses are awakened by the vaulted ceilings of the original buildings "Capilla" juxtaposed with the light filled contemporary lobby. Outside, guests can discover beachside terraces, teak decks and peaceful gardens and orchards. The Beach Club, featuring a french inspired design, offers light Mediterranean cuisine and is a place for relaxation during the day and is ideal for enjoying sea side cocktails and local cava in the evening. Design touches throughout these spaces are reminiscent of modern classics: in the Hub, a modern interpretation of a Gaudi-esque chair is revealed and cartography is a feature of our meeting rooms. Our guest rooms feature high ceilings, terraces, patios or sea views, inviting guests to enjoy the ambience of their surroundings by the sea. The upcoming renovation on rooms by renowned designer Isabel Lopez, aims to reinforce the timeless awakening of senses and inspiration characteristic of Le Meridien Ra. Explore Spa by Le Meridien, the first in Europe, encourages rejuvenation by a variety of culturally inspired therapies from around the world to balance both the body and mind. Space to expand ideas is provided by our meeting facilities where successful events are hosted inside in our Discovery Meeting Rooms, or outside in our bamboo gardens, terraces or by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel And Spa
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel El Vendrell
Meridien El Vendrell
Le Meridien El Vendrell
El Vendrell Le Meridien
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa Spain/El Vendrell, Costa Dorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.