We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG. Book NOW,before someone else does!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Launceston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Lower Goodmansleigh Farm, Launceston PL15 9QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Launceston B&B and Inns
Somerset, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OMG. Book NOW,before someone else does!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is an amazing B&B - everything so thoughtfully planned and executed, with such a great welcome - cheerful, helpful, delightful, without being intrusive. We stayed in the loft suite, which is spacious and restful, with HUGE Velux windows - you can lie on the floor (or if you have rickety joints on the sofa), and watch the stars. It's gloriously peaceful, but really not far from so many attractions. If it REALLY rains, you have a lovely nest to be in. Breakfast is delicious, and the lovely hosts will really try to give you what you want. Our only regret is that we only had two nights to spare - but there will certainly be a next time. Thank you Lisa, Nick and little Eva for giving us such a memorable short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmansleigh, Owner at Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Goodmansleigh. We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of the country and as there are no street lights we really benefit from beautiful star lite skies.
We look forward to welcoming you back another time and fingers crossed the stars will perform in the same way then!
Thanks
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for one night and cannot fault anything during our stay (and beyond). We were accommodated in the loft suite which had a very attractive lounge area with a great view of the surrounding countryside. The separate bedroom and en suite made for a really comfortable stay.
Enjoying a bit of local fayre, we were not disappointed with breakfast - top bacon and sausages from a local butcher and plenty of extras so no excuse for going hungry... In fact, the produce was so good we bought some more bacon and sausages to take home with us from the nearby farm store.
Add to all that excellent service from Nick and Lisa (including early bag drop off and the offer of a lift to get the car in the morning from the previous day's wedding) and I challenge anyone to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Loft suite, well worth the extra £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmansleigh, Owner at Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you spending the time to write such a lovely review about the B&B.
We are really pleased that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the room.
Thanks also for the feedback about the sausages and bacon, we are really lucky to have a great butchers in Launceston. We use Philip Warrens meat and choose the Old Cornish Sausages and their delicious smoked back bacon. We also use their ham for sandwiches and plough and on our light supper menu.
We look forward to welcoming you back should you be in the area again.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent recently converted barn in a courtyard alongside three others on a working farm. Ideal size for myself, my husband & our two year old, who slept in a travel cot in our bedroom. Beautifully decorated with high standards of cleanliness. Idyllic setting just outside Launceston, which is 40 minutes from Bude, Bodmin & Padstow. Very friendly hosts in Nick & Lisa, who brought down some toys for our little boy to play with. Cows etc also friendly! Laundry facilities on site. BBQ in garden, although we didn't get chance to use it. Plenty of pubs/restaurants nearby. Nearest beach about 30 minutes away. Plenty of tourist attractions within a 45 minute drive. Would recommend to friends & family. Thank you, Nick & Lisa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmansleigh, Owner at Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Longhorn Barn.
The barn is spacious and although plenty to see and do in the area it is also really lovely to relax in the barn or its garden and enjoy the views.
As you mentioned the are plenty of restaurants and pubs within a short drive so although this is a self catering barn there are various options should guests wish to eat out and avoid washing up!
Thanks again Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our third visits to nick and Lisa 's B&B and it is still the best. The level of comfort,service and quality of breakfast is still superb. This time we stayed for a week in the loft room which has a bedroom,bathroom and its own sitting room. I cannot say enough about the quality and superb service Lisa and Nick afford their guests, you cannot fault them or the accommodation in any way. And if your are a family the converted barns are just as good superior fixtures and fittings and the location is great for many local attractions and things to do. The prices are very reasonable and there is no doubt we will visit Lisa and Nick's B&B again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The best tip we can give anyone is, stay here forget the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmansleigh, Owner at Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback and kind review. We were very pleased to welcome you back to Goodmansleigh B&B. Its always very exciting to receive such lovely feedback but more exciting to welcome guests back again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed her for 1 night in July and couldn't ask for a better experience! We received a warm welcome and were given the nicest room as we were the only visitors that night. The room was very spacious, light and had great views out over the country. The room, as well as the rest of the house felt very homely and was beautifully furnished to a high standard. There were homemade biscuits in the room as well as fresh milk, good tea and coffee and chilled water. The breakfast included a large selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurts as well as toast and a cooked to order breakfast. This was all served by the very friendly owner who made it feel like you were a visiting friend. She also showed a keen interest in our ongoing wedding plans and even got some of her recipe books out for some ideas! If we were ever back in the area, we wouldn't hesitate to come back to goodmansleigh and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmansleigh, Owner at Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the home made biscuits at Goodmansleigh B&B,
Good luck for the wedding, if you need a mini break before or after please just give us a ring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our second stay at the B&B and we enjoyed it just as much as the last time! Beds are just as comfy and the breakfast still delicious. Lisa kindly showed us round the 1 and 4 bedroom barn conversions which were absolutely gorgeous. We may sadly have to give breakfast a miss next time and stay in one of the barns!

Room Tip: Wouldn't hesitate to stay in any of the rooms. They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmansleigh, Owner at Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We were so pleased to welcome you back to Goodmansleigh B&B and we were really happy to show you around our newly appointed self catering barns.
Please don't worry about missing breakfast if you stay in the barns as you will arrive to find some freshly baked scones with Cornish clotted cream and jam! We can offer non residence breakfast too so you can enjoy self catering and the B&B experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We only stayed for one night at Goodmansleigh but I would go back again. We stayed in the B&B and it was lovely. Lisa is a wonderful host and made us feel totally at ease. The loft room was very comfortable and had a sitting room and ensuite and had the right amount of luxury.
My breakfast was just what I wanted and so was Ammar's. I would recommend Goodmansleigh B&B to anyone who wants to tour round Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodmansleigh, Owner at Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Goodmansleigh B&B. The loft suite is a particularly lovely room with its separate lounge area and fantastic views.
Next time you will have to stay in one of our double rooms as the super king beds there are equally as comfortable and the views just as lovely over Launceston.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and time in Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lower Goodmansleigh Farm, Launceston PL15 9QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodmansleigh, a farmhouse bed and breakfast located approximately 1 mile outside historic Launceston in North Cornwall. We are located within 140 acres of a working farm, running alongside the River Tamar with views of Dartmoor and Launceston Castle. The farmhouse has been recently refurbished to a high standard retaining many original features. We are able to offer quality accommodation in an idyllic Cornish setting. Goodmansleigh is the perfect base for touring Devon and Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast Launceston, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodmansleigh Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.